NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercomputi

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercomputi

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:12 pm

I wonder how these are going to work out for projects like Folding@home.

http://nvidianews.nvidia.com/Releases/NVIDIA-Launches-World-s-Fastest-Accelerator-for-Supercomputing-and-Big-Data-Analytics-a66.aspx

Ultimate Performance for Science, Big Data
Based on the NVIDIA Kepler™ compute architecture -- the highest performance, most efficient architecture ever built -- the Tesla K40 GPU accelerator surpasses all other accelerators on two common measures of computational performance: 4.29 teraflops single-precision and 1.43 teraflops double-precision peak floating point performance.

Key features of the Tesla K40 GPU accelerator include:

12GB of ultra-fast GDDR5 memory allows users to process 2X larger datasets, enabling them to rapidly analyze massive volumes of data.
2,880 CUDA® parallel processing cores deliver application acceleration by up to 10X compared to using a CPU alone.
Dynamic Parallelism enables GPU threads to dynamically spawn new threads, enabling users to quickly and easily crunch through adaptive and dynamic data structures.
PCIe Gen-3 interconnect support accelerates data movement by 2X compared to PCIe Gen-2 technology.
Khali
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:32 pm

Well it is a higher-end version of the GTX Titan and Tesla K20 that is already out, so you can estimate its performance by looking up those numbers.
codedivine
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 705
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:13 am

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:10 pm

It's a GTX 780Ti with a bunch more memory really. Same number of shaders, probably very similar clockspeeds, and differently tuned drivers.
Duct Tape Dude
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:37 pm

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:27 pm

If that's the case, then Khali, if you buy a couple and run for Frankie next year, we'll nickname you "The Heart of Frankenbot". Or "Frankie's Size 12 Boot". :D
BIF
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1628
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:41 pm

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:50 pm

So the Tesla version of the Quadro K6000.
jihadjoe
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:34 am

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:39 am

BIF wrote:If that's the case, then Khali, if you buy a couple and run for Frankie next year, we'll nickname you "The Heart of Frankenbot". Or "Frankie's Size 12 Boot". :D


Doubt I can fit these into my budget any time soon. I bet the price is going to be high when they get around to announcing it. I am still looking at 780 Ti's for my dream gaming/folding machine. Just need to figure out what kind of CPU I am going to use. Or if I'm going to go more than one CPU.
Khali
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 5:31 pm

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 4:09 am

Duct Tape Dude wrote:It's a GTX 780Ti with a bunch more memory really. Same number of shaders, probably very similar clockspeeds, and differently tuned drivers.


Not exactly, the Teslas used in the supercomputer come with 6GiB of memory and have full DP enabled. Unlike the 780Ti which only has 3GiB of VRAM and has 1/4 DP enabled.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC-12800, EVGA 660Ti, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
Krogoth
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4475
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:06 am

Also they will not be running them at 780ti clockspeeds, Probably closer to to the current Titan clockspeeds. They tend to run professional grade products a bit slower then desktop oriented products. That way they use less power, last longer and have fewer hardware/heat issues since a lot perhaps most of the time they are set up in clusters.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:08 am

Krogoth wrote:
Duct Tape Dude wrote:It's a GTX 780Ti with a bunch more memory really. Same number of shaders, probably very similar clockspeeds, and differently tuned drivers.


Not exactly, the Teslas used in the supercomputer come with 6GiB of memory and have full DP enabled. Unlike the 780Ti which only has 3GiB of VRAM and has 1/4 DP enabled.


Yep pretty much that.
Plus there's probably a lot of binning going on behind the scenes.
The best GK110s go into the K6000s, next best (full SPs, full DP but can't do 900MHz @ 225W) go into these new Tesla K40s.
Those that can't do full DP get turned into 780Tis, the ones that can't use all SPs get turned into Titans, and worst of the lot go into the vanilla 780 bin.
jihadjoe
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:34 am

Re: NVIDIA Launches World's Fastest Accelerator for Supercom

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:46 am

jihadjoe wrote:
Krogoth wrote:
Duct Tape Dude wrote:It's a GTX 780Ti with a bunch more memory really. Same number of shaders, probably very similar clockspeeds, and differently tuned drivers.


Not exactly, the Teslas used in the supercomputer come with 6GiB of memory and have full DP enabled. Unlike the 780Ti which only has 3GiB of VRAM and has 1/4 DP enabled.


Yep pretty much that.
Plus there's probably a lot of binning going on behind the scenes.
The best GK110s go into the K6000s, next best (full SPs, full DP but can't do 900MHz @ 225W) go into these new Tesla K40s.
Those that can't do full DP get turned into 780Tis, the ones that can't use all SPs get turned into Titans, and worst of the lot go into the vanilla 780 bin.

The More You Know...

I didn't realize that, it makes perfect sense though. Thanks Krogoth and jihadjoe for the corrections.
Duct Tape Dude
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 12:37 pm


Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BIF and 1 guest