Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:17 pm

I just hosed my motherboard during a BIOS update. It was an ASUS M4A78T-E. I will be ordering a new motherboard tonight, and just wondering if Gigabyte is a good brand? I love ASUS, but sometimes I need a little variety. I also will be ordering the AMD Phenom 2 X4 965 Black Edition processor. I already have everything else, and everything else works just fine. I have 4 gigs of OCZ Platinum DDR3 memory, an OCZ 700W power supply, a Radeon HD 4770 vga card, and an ASUS Xonar Essence ST sound card, along with 2 sata hard drives, and a case to put everything in. Anyway, just need to know if Gigabyte is good, or should I stick to ASUS? And if anyone recommends a good MOBO. I would like to stick around 250 to 300 bucks on the mobo and cpu.
Tomorrow will take us away, far from home, no one will ever know our names, but the bard's song will remain....
dustyjamessutton
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: Midvale, Idaho

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:52 pm

Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:36 pm

$100+7½ GA-880GMA-UD2H
$105+8 GA-870A-UD3
$110+8 GA-880GA-UD3H
$135+0 GA-890GPA-UD3H
All of those have the SB850 southbridge, 6 GB/s SATA and USB3.

Have you considered the Phenom II X6 1055T? You can get it with a couple of similar motherboards tonight. MSI 870A-G54 or MSI 890GXM-G65
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15151
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:47 pm

Awesome. I ordered the Gigabtye 880GA-UD3H mobo as well as an AMD Phenom 2 X4 965 Black Edition processor. The mobo advertises compatibility with 125W CPU's, and the processor I ordered is a 140W CPU. However, after reviewing the list of compatible processors on Gigabyte's website, this mobo will support my 140W cpu just fine. Looking forward to a faster processor, as my old cpu was only an 810 processor, and this one is the 965. Now I just need to save up for some SATA3 hard drives to take advantage of 6Gbps transfer rates.
Tomorrow will take us away, far from home, no one will ever know our names, but the bard's song will remain....
dustyjamessutton
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: Midvale, Idaho

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Mon Jun 07, 2010 11:40 pm

Are you absolutely certain the mobo is truly dead? Have you tried resetting the CMOS? Have you tried any recovery procedures described in the manual and/or on Asus' web site?
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36917
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:45 am

During normal BIOS update recovery bootblock part of it is not flashed, even if you can't see anything or the mobo does not beep you propably can still reflash it properly. Worser if you used BIOS from other model.
Raskaran
Gerbil
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:14 pm

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:51 am

if you just messed up the bios u can probably fix that with a thumb drive

but if you mean hosed as in it caught fire and melted, maybe not.

gigabyte is great. asus is generally good too.
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:56 pm

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:12 am

I tried removing the battery and clearing the cmos and that didn't work. It won't even post, and it just keeps rebooting itself before anything ever appears on the screen. I may have downloaded the wrong BIOS image. That is about the only explanation I can think of. But it was time for a new mobo anyway, as SATA2 is now obsolete, and it encouraged me to upgrade my processor as well. Well, they call it ASUS EZ Flash, and it was easy, but the end results weren't what I expected. I won't be flashing the BIOS on my new motherboard unless I have a good reason, i.e. processor upgrade, but the Phenom 2 X4 BE 965 will work with the stock bios image on my new mobo.
Tomorrow will take us away, far from home, no one will ever know our names, but the bard's song will remain....
dustyjamessutton
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: Midvale, Idaho

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:45 am

I had a bad BIOS flash with one of my ASUS motherboards (M3A78-EM), and I was able to re-flash back to the old version to fix it.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15151
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:16 am

My buddy also had a bad flash on an AM2+ asus mobo. I have had good luck with gigabyte mobo's, although I do find they seem to overvolt everything slightly.

You can undervolt your 965 quite a bit to save power and reduce heat, my 955 runs stable at stock speeds with 1.200V no problem.

Good Luck
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:25 am

That really seems like it would be possible to repair. Moreover, SATA2 is nowhere near obsolete. The fastest SSDs in the world hit about 340Mbps, just a tiny bit over the limit of SATA2. Hard drives may never saturate it.
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:15 am

Are you getting a message about a bad BIOS checksum?

That motherboard supposedly has a BIOS recovery utility built-in. See page 3-6 of the manual (section on ASUS CrashFree BIOS 2).

SATA2 is nowhere near being obsolete. Unless you're using high-end SSDs, SATA2 isn't a bottleneck.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36917
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:57 pm

Well, I got my new mobo and processor and installed them. I'm a little confused about the RAID on this motherboard though. The mobo is a Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H Rev 2.0 and I didn't need to load any drivers for the RAID when installing Windows 7. Somewhere in the BIOS it mentioned something about OnBoard SATA3 Raid controller, which I enabled. Wondering if this mobo has true hardware raid, and not FakeRaid. Also, the Phenom 2 X4 965 BE is amazing, but dang it keeps the CPU fan howling loudly whenever I play a game. I guess with a 140W Thermal Envelope, I should expect quite a bit of heat.
Tomorrow will take us away, far from home, no one will ever know our names, but the bard's song will remain....
dustyjamessutton
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:05 pm
Location: Midvale, Idaho

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:34 am

dustyjamessutton wrote:Somewhere in the BIOS it mentioned something about OnBoard SATA3 Raid controller, which I enabled. Wondering if this mobo has true hardware raid, and not FakeRaid.
Vendors would call it "hardware assisted RAID", which is essentially FakeRaid. You get what you pay for. If you want true hardware RAID, pay for a discrete controller (not the cheap ones either).
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:52 am

Flying Fox wrote:If you want true hardware RAID, pay for a discrete controller (not the cheap ones either).
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6816103098
http://www.adaptec.com/en-US/products/C ... /SAS-5805/
This doesn't even support 6 GB/s SATA3 yet.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15151
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Sat Jun 12, 2010 9:08 am

dustyjamessutton wrote:Wondering if this mobo has true hardware raid, and not FakeRaid.

Not a chance. A decent RAID card costs more than most desktop motherboards!
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36917
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Hosed my mobo during BIOS update

Postposted on Sun Jun 13, 2010 8:38 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:If you want true hardware RAID, pay for a discrete controller (not the cheap ones either).
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6816103098
http://www.adaptec.com/en-US/products/C ... /SAS-5805/
This doesn't even support 6 GB/s SATA3 yet.

Won't be a problem until >300MB/s SSDs are more common?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest