If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:03 pm

Would you do me a favour and see if you can play any of the videos on

http://preview.tinyurl.com/5wqxotk

please? For obvious reasons, the URL is censored by phpBB even though it is valid Japanese.
For reference, these are encoded with a quantizer of 23, for Japanese Drama the resolution is 640x352 and for anime I resized the videos to 848x480.

My friend's Nokia N900 (ARM Cortex A8, 600MHz) was unable to play any of those smoothly. Then again, I don't know if he had Flash 10.1 or not, which supposedly adds hardware acceleration even for smartphones. Since I don't even have the moolah for a proper Snapdragon/Tegra 2 handset, I settled for a ARMv6 phone instead (LG Optimus One), which can't handle Flash but your data would be useful if I wanted to upgrade in the future.

Thanks in advance.
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:44 pm

I just got white squares where the video was supposed to be. I have Android 2.1 (going to update soon), and I think Flash 10.1.
GO CARDINALS!
Rakhmaninov3
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1268
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2002 2:10 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:36 pm

You will need Android 2.2, yes. Meanwhile, if you have Firefox for Android, you can also check out Legend of the Galactic Heroes, which should play given that it's just HTML5 embedded Theora.
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:52 pm

The videos load on my EVO, but when played the say "This video is not optimized for mobile".

=Edit=
FYI, I tested it using the stock Android browser, on my un-rooted EVO running Froyo.
Heavy is good, heavy is reliable. If it doesn't work, you can always hit them with it.
Dizik
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3024
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:57 pm

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Dizik wrote:The videos load on my EVO, but when played the say "This video is not optimized for mobile".

=Edit=
FYI, I tested it using the stock Android browser, on my un-rooted EVO running Froyo.


Same here also on my Evo.
Your bargaining posture is highly dubious.
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:28 pm

If I'm reading this correctly, the EVO 4G is the be all end all of Android phones, right? Maybe it's because you have hardware acceleration that it's more strict about the encoding settings. Oh well, thanks guys!
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:56 pm

Crayon Shin Chan wrote:If I'm reading this correctly, the EVO 4G is the be all end all of Android phones, right? Maybe it's because you have hardware acceleration that it's more strict about the encoding settings. Oh well, thanks guys!
Nope. The Nexus S is top of the heap right now. It's the only phone currently available running Android 2.3.
If there is one thing a remote-controlled, silent and unseeable surveillance/killing machine needs, it’s more whimsy. -- Marcus
Darkmage
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:44 am
Location: Hell, Virginia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:36 am

The videos also refuse to play on my Nokia N8 with flash 10.1. Afte clicking the play button, a 'loading' animation plays for a while, but then I end up with a dead whitesquare with a flash logo in the corner.
Wind, Sand and Stars.
Voldenuit
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2454
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:10 pm

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:34 am

Droid X android 2.2 with flash on stock browser

Says not optimized for mobile and plays kinda jittery.
astraelraen
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:28 am
Location: Idaho

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:47 pm

This plays on my G2 but the video is definitely jittery. I tested overclocking to 1.6GHz which smooth it out a little but even then, some of the high action parts are jittery.

If you're encoding specifically for mobile purposes, consider using Baseline Profile and either ABR or CBR instead of the usual 2-pass VBR. You might be able to get away with Main Profile as well but High Profile is definitely out if you're running it through flash.
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:18 pm

Rooted stock 2.2 Droid 1 works OK. Would not call it smooth, however.
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 1:38 pm
Location: Here!

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:35 pm

Let me revise my comment. The part that I thought wasn't smooth was actually not that smooth in reality (when I viewed it on my PC). So it looks like my overclocked G2 can indeed play it smoothly.
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:51 pm

Wow, I never expected this much feedback, thanks guys! Would an app be appreciated? I don't know how a video site app works, though - is the Youtube app just an interface on top of the phone's integrated video player? If so it might be straightforward to code up one for my site.

I will not be reencoding for mobile, because I don't want to pay for a reencoding service, plus every encode you see there is done with MeGUI and x264 with custom settings (I'm actually using crf=23) and thus involves a degree of manual labour. The aim is to get maximum quality while staying under 100MB per 20 minutes, and turning off CABAC will definitely not help with that. Plus there's Tegra 2 anyway, which supports High Profile decoding. I see no reason to further degrade the quality of my encodes just to make it playable on mobile phones today, especially with all those data caps on 3G/4G. And Kal-El seems pretty incredible.

ChronoReverse: which episode was jittery?
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:54 pm

Plays smooth on my iPhone 3gs.
no not jailbroke.
Skyfire browser.
GokuSS2
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1852
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 8:29 pm
Location: San Diego, Ca

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:21 am

Skyfire plays my JDrama encodes well but it chokes on my anime encodes with Media Error 1 : -18. This seems to be a promising service.
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2246
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: If you have a Flash capable smartphone

Postposted on Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:08 am

Episode 6 of Level E I believe (as a sidenote, Skyfire on my G2 plays that episode fine too).

Keep in mind that the issue is the horrible efficiency Adobe's flash player has. Rockplayer would have no problems with the video (that is, high profile at that resolution) and it decodes entirely using the CPU. I'm not sure if it supports streaming though.
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests