Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:19 pm

Hey guys. I'm looking to password protect SYSTEM CHANGES ONLY in Vista. Basically anything that would be done through the Control Panel I want passworded, but nothing else. It's a work computer that occasionally has others accessing it, so I can't password the account completely. Any thoughts.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:22 pm

You're doing it wrong. Give the people who shouldn't be playing with settings their own user accounts, and don't give them administrative privileges.

If that won't work, create a new account with admin privs and revoke the privs from the existing account.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:23 pm

Standard User Account with UAC enabled.

Apply some Group Policies to further lock it down from there. If it's a domain machine enabling Loopback Processing to really apply the iron fist.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:38 pm

I'm afraid it isn't quite that easy. I work in an office with mostly older employees who have zero computer skills. If there's any sort of password prompt when they need to access something on my machine (usually only about once per month), they're going to throw their arms up in the air and have a panic attack.

So ideally I'd like to somehow password protect any changes made from the control panel whilst maintaining an Admin account with no login password. Assuming that's possible.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:00 pm

"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:12 pm

Ryu, that program looks spectacular for universities, libraries, or anywhere there's a public computer. Unfortunately I'm not looking to spend money out of pocket for this.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 3:46 pm

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:20 pm

Don't let them on your computer, then. Put whatever data's needed onto a fileshare and connect people who need it.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:34 pm

Egglick wrote:Ryu, that program looks spectacular for universities, libraries, or anywhere there's a public computer. Unfortunately I'm not looking to spend money out of pocket for this.

Gotta pay to play, if you want it done right...
It's hilarious that the same people who laud the "benefits" of 16x9 aspect ratios also praise Chrome for "freeing up screen space."
Image
Windows XP will never die!
kvndoom
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: Communistwealth of Virginia

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:49 pm

You still always have the option of enabling various GPOs, but there are some odd 1500 of the things. It'll involve a bit of research to make sure you've found every possible option to disable.

Don't forget that as Admin your GPO changes could always be undone as well.

It is possible to have a Standard User run with UAC without being prompted for elevation (it's a GPO). Any such situation would result in an automatic failure to elevate. This too would prevent system level changes and the failure would be silent. That means things would work different than expected for your users though and you've already made them out to be somewhat frail.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Need To Password Protect All System Changes - Vista

Postposted on Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:53 pm

Egglick wrote:I'm afraid it isn't quite that easy. I work in an office with mostly older employees who have zero computer skills. If there's any sort of password prompt when they need to access something on my machine (usually only about once per month), they're going to throw their arms up in the air and have a panic attack.

So ideally I'd like to somehow password protect any changes made from the control panel whilst maintaining an Admin account with no login password. Assuming that's possible.


If you have Vista Business or above, you can enable the Guest account:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... -on-or-off

Basically, it's a standard user account without access to do anything to the system. IIRC it doesn't allow you to create a password.
cphite
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:28 am


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest