Connect two ethernet cables together

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:22 pm

I tried looking online, but can't seem to find anything. Is there a connector out there that will allow me to connect to Ethernet cables together? Basically, I have two cables that are too short to reach somewhere, but if I could connect them together I would have enough. Thank you for any suggestions.
apkellogg
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:15 am

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:29 pm

You're looking for an inline coupler like this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

Depending on your application you might want to get one that's actually designed for cat5e or cat6 operation.
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:43 pm

That is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!
apkellogg
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:15 am

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:58 pm

If you're buying online then I'd recommend saving a little and buying from Monoprice: http://www.monoprice.com/products/searc ... er&x=0&y=0
Skrying
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:37 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:04 pm

Or just cut the connectors off and splice them together. ;)
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9993
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:39 pm

UberGerbil wrote:Or just cut the connectors off and splice them together. ;)


Sounds like a recipe for making a 10 Mbs cable out of two GigE cables. :wink:

It's like the joke: "how do you end up a millionaire investing in the airline industry? Start as a billionaire!"
mentaldrano
Gerbil
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:17 pm

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:23 pm

UberGerbil wrote:Or just cut the connectors off and splice them together. ;)

Hell, find some old 10Base5 and whip out the vampire taps.
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20445
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:52 pm

Thicknet FTW?
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:07 pm

Scrotos wrote:Thicknet FTW?

Frozen orange garden hose. Wrangled some back in the mid-80s. Thoroughly evil and contentious stuff, though Teflon-coated open-plenum-rated Cat 5 isn't far behind.
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20445
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:06 am

Skrying wrote:If you're buying online then I'd recommend saving a little and buying from Monoprice: http://www.monoprice.com/products/searc ... er&x=0&y=0


Actually, on Monoprice you could probably find a longer cable for about the same price as the coupler.
cphite
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:28 am

Re: Connect two ethernet cables together

Postposted on Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:13 am

Captain Ned wrote:
Scrotos wrote:Thicknet FTW?

Frozen orange garden hose. Wrangled some back in the mid-80s. Thoroughly evil and contentious stuff, though Teflon-coated open-plenum-rated Cat 5 isn't far behind.


Ya, it was called Thicknet. :D

http://www.learn.geekinterview.com/it/n ... cknet.html

My dad regaled me of such stories involving Thicknet and punch cards and vacuum tubes and large computers (not sure if I'd call it a mainframe?) hooked up to diesel-powered generators so that the power supplied would always be perfect and isolated from the rest of the power grid. He's actually got a byte of storage from the military computer center he used to run back in the day. It's a neat bunch of vacuum tubes in some funky array.

I think he's far happier with the way computers are now, though, and networking as well. Nostalgia only gets ya so far before you begin to remember the horrors of technology...
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests