Athlon SMP

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

Postposted on Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:02 pm

Right, here's the thing.

It costs $50 more per processor to run a dual Athlon system with Athlon MP, rather than Athlon XP processors. My question is: is it worth it? As far as I can tell, the difference is that MP processors are guaranteed to work, where as XP processors will probably work just as well. As I'm trying to squeeze as much performance out of my buck as I can right now, should I just go for XP processors and damn the consequences?

Anyone done any testing, or got any "a friend of a friend" horror stories for me?

Ta muchly.
McDuff
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Wed Jan 09, 2002 4:43 pm

Well, from what i hear, the mp's also are multiplier unlocked by default.
Don't know if this still is the case though
K-Wulf
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Postposted on Wed Jan 09, 2002 5:08 pm

It *should* work just as well. No guarantees tho. The nice thing 'bout the MP's, like K-Wulf mentioned is that they are still multiplier unlocked. This can be a huge advantage if you wanna do a faster FSB while still keeping the processor the same clock speed (increase FSB, drop multiplier).
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Greenfiled, WI

Postposted on Wed Jan 09, 2002 7:05 pm

One thing to keep in mind. If you do get an Athlon MP for its unlocked multiplier, make sure your board actually supports mucking with the front side bus. With a lot of the dually boards being workstation/server models, the ability to overclock the front side bus isn't guaranteed.
Dissonance
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ygrek_ and 1 guest