playing Rage = pauses

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

playing Rage = pauses

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:14 am

The game will pause all the time - every few seconds or a little longer when driving... Memory problem?? I have 2 gig now... Video card is a GeForce 9500 GT.. Also have the dual core processor.. Any suggestions as to how to get a smoother game here???
zulupits
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:59 am

Re: playing Rage = pauses

Postposted on Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:55 am

zulupits wrote:The game will pause all the time - every few seconds or a little longer when driving... Memory problem?? I have 2 gig now... Video card is a GeForce 9500 GT.. Also have the dual core processor.. Any suggestions as to how to get a smoother game here???


Considering the number of bugs with Rage, I wouldn't be surprised if some of it is the game.

The Geforce 9500GT is a fairly dated card, and not much for gaming either, as it was a mid-level card even back then. Even a used card several generations newer should offer a significant improvement. Id Software seems to have paid more attention to nVidia cards than ATI with Rage's development, so I'd probably look for the following used cards if you're on a budget:

Geforce GTX 260
Geforce GTS 450
Geforce GTX 460

If you have DDR3 RAM, it's cheap, and I'd upgrade now. If you have DDR2 (like I'm guessing), hopefully you have two 1GB modules and two empty sockets; a 2 x 1GB kit would probably help, and isn't to expensive

If you have only two memory sockets, a 4GB memory kit is $45-50 on NewEgg; I'd watch Craigslist to see if you can't score something used for cheaper. Or, I'd look at the cheap DDR3 prices as a reason to save up for a rebuild.
Core i7-4790K, GIGABYTE Z97X-UD5H-BK, 16GB (4x4) G.Skill RipJaws PC1866
Corsair 650D case, Seasonic X750 Gold PSU
WD `Raptor 600GB boot, WD Caviar Black 1TB data, NEC 7200 DVDRW
2x XFX R9 280X Black in Crossfire, X-Fi Titanium, Dell 2408WFP
LoneWolf15
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 8:36 am
Location: SW Meecheegan

Re: playing Rage = pauses

Postposted on Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:57 am

Sounds like you are running out of video card memory. You either have to get a card with video memory or turn down the texture settings.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC-12800, EVGA 660Ti, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
Krogoth
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4439
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 3:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests