Help! VS2003 starts my browser instead of my program

From Visual Basic to GNU C, this is the place to talk programming.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, just brew it!

Help! VS2003 starts my browser instead of my program

Postposted on Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:33 pm

So one day I just came in, wanted to run the Visual Studio 2003 project. It compiled, a window came up with something, I clicked ok, and now whenever I want to compile and run the project, it compiles my program... complains about Firefox not having debugging symbols, and then starts Firefox.

Obviously the debugger was asking me which program I wanted it to start and debug, but I have no idea how to get that window back. Any help?
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Help! VS2003 starts my browser instead of my program

Postposted on Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:42 pm

Look at the property pages, it will have a debugging or run, or build tab where you can select action on launch. Launching the firefox is probably set as default.

If not, telling us what kind of project you have (.NET/dll/exe/smthnelse) would help getting better answers. So far we can only guess.
Core 2 Duo E6300, MSI P45 NEO-F, Club 3D GTX 260, 4Gb DDR2-800Mhz, Audigy X-Fi Fatal1ty Champ1on ed., 0.5Tb+1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200.12, 630W AXP, Samsung SyncMaster BX2450, ViewSonic VP171b
Madman
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:55 am
Location: Latvia

Re: Help! VS2003 starts my browser instead of my program

Postposted on Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:40 am

EDIT: Found the problem, fixed it! The Firefox command was in the addiControl properties dialog not the TactorProject dialog. Thanks!

The result is an exe file, so I think it's an exe project. Definitely not .NET, haven't seen any dlls, everything's rolled up into 1 9MB exe.

Property page for the entire project right? The only place where code is written is TactorProject - the rest are libraries that aren't modified. I've attached a screenshot - it still runs Firefox btw.

Image
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Help! VS2003 starts my browser instead of my program

Postposted on Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:13 am

Based on the screenshot you posted, addiControl project is set as default (notice how its name is in bold), try right-click on TactorProject and click "Set as startup project" (at least that's how it's done in VS 2010).
i5 2500K@4.5GHz | Asus P8P67 PRO | 4x4GB DDR3 1600 | Radeon HD 7950 | Samsung 830 Pro 256GB| Antec Solo Black | CORSAIR 550VX | Dell 2407WFP-HC + Auria EQ276W
yuriylsh
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:52 pm
Location: KS, USA


Return to Developer's Den

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests