Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

What you see is what you get, including photography, displays, and video equipment.

Moderators: Dposcorp, SpotTheCat

Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

Postposted on Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:22 am

New to the world of Blu Ray, I finally picked up a Samsung BD-C5500 Blu Ray player. I've noticed that when you pause a disc, the Samsung "logo/screen saver" kicks in after about 5 minutes. Once this happens, I cannot get the disc to resume playing. If you hit Stop or FF, you can "kill" the screen saver and see the still image of the current place in the movie, but nothing short of powering off the unit will let the disc resume. I've tried pushing the actual play button on the unit itself...no results. The resume works when streaming Netflix or when streaming .avi files from the PC Share Manager feature. I'm running the latest firmware, and I tried a factory reset...no joy. Thoughts?
Pagey
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Middle TN

Re: Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

Postposted on Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:06 am

Had the same problem. After a useless online session with samsung support I figured it out myself. When the screen saver comes on you can resume the movie by pressing the enter button on the remote (the one in the middle of the for arrows) Any other time the enter button brings you back to the disc menu. The play button will resume when the screen saver is not on. Give that a try, worked for me.
bluetoy
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:01 am

Re: Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

Postposted on Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:42 am

Holy crap. Never thought of that. I will give that a shot when I get home. Thanks so much!
Pagey
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Middle TN

Re: Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

Postposted on Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:12 pm

Hope it works for you.
bluetoy
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:01 am

Re: Samsung Blu Ray player won't "resume"

Postposted on Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:30 am

Of course now that you've offered this wonderful solution, I am unable to replicate the initial problem! I just tried replicating the problem with my Star Trek Blu Ray, and it resumed from the screen saver by simply using the play button (as it should). So, maybe you scared it back into line for me? In any event, thank you again, and I will continue to test.
Pagey
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1416
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Middle TN


Return to Visual Haven

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 5 guests