A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Discussion of all forms of processors, from AMD to Intel to VIA.

Moderators: Flying Fox, morphine

A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Postposted on Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:58 am

I'm in the process of building a system for a customer and I noticed that the 3870 can be had for $10 more, and I figure "What the hell, why not". Unlocked and a slight speed increase, lets give it a go.

However I've received a few of these Asus F1A75-M boards lately and they have been coming with a BIOS version of 0406 (First Release), the CPU support list has the 3870 listed as being supported (officially) as of the BIOS update 1102. Anyone been in this same circumstance? I figure these two APUs are so similar that i'd bet it would work even if its 0406 it just might not fully recognize the 3870 until I flash it over. Man I wish these boards had their own little chip that didn't require a CPU in to flash the BIOS, would take away so much of the guesswork.

If anyone has for sure info about this, let me know. I think either way I'm going to try out the 3870k in this board, maybe i'll get lucky the BIOS will have been updated to 1102 or higher :P.
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Postposted on Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:25 am

I don't get it - is it not firing up? Or are you asking if it will? It'll most likely fire up and run just fine, though it may not allow adjusting the multiplier upwards until you get a BIOS update. I'm dying to know, in a weird sort of way, how those things OC.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21337
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Postposted on Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:35 pm

Ahaha, I was asking if anyone knew if it would post (or rather if it wouldn't). For the most part in my experience if its just a revised CPU (Increased clock and new name) is will post fine because its the same core, but as you said usually missing some functionality and it wont report the proper CPU name. If its a drastically re-designed core the BIOS bit is 100% necessary to even get it to boot.

Unfortunately this is for a client so I wont be doing any overclocking. They are an older couple, they don't game or anything so overclocking it would be a waste :P. I'm not sure I'll ever get a chance to try out the overclock-ability of it since I wouldn't ever personally want an APU, just not enough performance for my needs.

I'm actually considering purchasing one of the lower end one since I'm coming close to budget on this build. I hate to say it but these APUs need a serious drop in price... like $20 off each series, with the exception of the 3870K due to its being unlocked.
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Postposted on Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:45 pm

Well the A8-3870K is the same LN-B0 stepping as all other llano cpus, so its about as minor a revision as you get. Obviously there's a chance it won't post, but that seems pretty unlikely to me.

There's actually a review of it up finally here.
gplnpsb
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:17 pm

Re: A8-3870K + Asus F1A75-M (BIOS Update???)

Postposted on Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:21 pm

Hi! Im experiencing the same problem. I turn on the PC and nothing happens. Ive been searching for the problem and this could be the processor support by the motherboard. Ive took off the CPU from the motherboard and stills the same thing. Maybe the motherboard isnt recognizing the CPU. From the asus support I got:

http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/list ... Ps63GGQECE

My Processor model is: AD3870WNGXBOX
My Motherboard Model: F1A75-V EVO

If u see the support page above Ill see it doesnt support this processor. Do u think we have to update BIOS version? How could we do this if it doenst turn on?

Thank you very much! Im still searching for this problem.

Renato Isidio - BRAZIL
renatosis
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:13 pm


Return to Processors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests