Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:35 am

Hey guys,

So i just got a little bit of cash like $70-80 to spend on a long over due RAM upgrade, been sitting on 2 Gbs for 1 year which in this times is criminal, and i wanna buy a 8 Gb kit. Problem is idk exactly what model to choose and what specs.

I have a Asus M4A88TD-V EVO-USB3 motherboard, Phenom II 955 BE, GTX 560 Ti, Seasonic S12 something 520 W. Taking into consideration the fact that i wanna keep this rig for atleast another 3-4 years i need to make sure i don't overload the PSU too much. So was thinking of buying a low voltage kit (1,35 V) like Corsair Vengeance White LP Rev. A 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 Dual Channel Kit but i can't find it in the QVL list.

So i was wondering, do low voltage kits require support from the mobo or they work on most of them since they actually need less voltage? Or because it needs less the mobo must have built-in support to supply "only" 1,35 V to the RAM?

Another option would be to buy a high frequency or low latency 4 Gb kit, but i figure it won't help me at all since if i overclock i just do it from the multiplier. So maybe a low latency "might help" but idk.

Thoughts?
Last edited by Arclight on Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:56 am

OK,

1. Your PSU is fine, I have this CPU and VID card and see around 350 watts gaming and 400 watts max. benchmarking OC ect. (at the wall AC on kill-o-watt meter)
2. The amount of wattage required for memory is incidental on your rig. With servers having 8, 16, 32. 64 sticks...these concerns become apparent.
You two sticks, whatever OC or voltage setting you use will not be of any significance to your wattage consumption.


Consequently don't worry about low voltage. Your motherboard will most likely not allow you to set bellow 1.5v in the BIOS anyway.
(low voltage memory will run at 1.5V, but it just defeats the goal)

AMD likes low CL

Look for 8 or 7 CAS if you can find it.

This is the best I could find for you.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820233254

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2X1600C7R

Forget QLV....very limited and not updated.
Any good supplier Corsair, g-skill, crucial , mushkin, will work fine, esp. with only two sticks. :wink:
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:06 pm

I have 2 of this kit for a total of 16GB:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231314

It can run DDR3-1333 CL8 or DDR3-1600 CL9 (as well as slower speeds, but who wants that?) according to the SPD check in CPU-Z.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21259
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:38 pm

@CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2X1600C7R
Kinda on the expensive side, in my country atleast it's $100. I could stretch the budget but considering the price for delivery and whatnot it's just a bit more than i want to spend.

@G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL
Hard to find, G-Skill is not very popular here but i'll try to find it.

What do you guys know about KingMax 2GB DDR3 1600MHz CL7 FLGE8, 1,5V,1600Mhz? Is it for real or are the spex wrong? Found it at my fav. e-tailer but seems kinda strange, the spex and the price. Does it really run SPD CL7 1600Mhz at 1,5V?!!!111eleven
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:36 pm

OK,

again to be clear, any 1600 cas 9 will work fine.
The difference between the worst and the best is really only a few percent in overall system performance.

Upgrades like a SSD boot drive will result in much greater system response improvement.(as opposed to memory timing improvements of any kind.)

That said 8 Gb will help greatly with game loading, and memory page-file handling in WIN 7.

AMD = dual channel memory controller. = using two sticks in the correct order will yield faster than using 4 faster sticks.
Memory controller latency trumps CAS settings.


I said CAS 7 is best.
The difference between it and CAS 8, or even 9 is not really that great. Just letting you know the BEST.

Other great options:
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-8GBRM
AMD Performance Edition 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model AP38G1608U2K

Of course for the same price you can get 16 GB CAS 9 here in the states that works great too.

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CML16GX3M4A1600C9B

I have 16 Gb in all my AMD rigs just because it was so dang cheap....no problems with conflicts. :wink:
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:04 pm

You can get a 1600MHz CL9 1.5v 8GB kit on newegg for $40 or less. Its likely that you wouldn't notice much/any real world difference between that and a lower latency or higher frequency kit.

Just an FYI. I lent my brother (who has the exact same motherboard as you) this low voltage kit and althought it wont run the Intel XMP profile 1.25v, the motherboard allowed us to set it to 1.275v (or something like that). The reason I bought that kit was that it was on a pretty good sale and lower voltage = lower heat. No need to worry about the PSU though as mdk mentioned
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:24 pm

PC3-12800:
$42 Patriot PSD38G1600KH (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$48 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBXM (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.25 V)
$50 Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9G (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 Mushkin 996988 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR1 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$58 Mushkin 997043 (DDR3-1600, CAS 8, 1.5 V)

PC3-15000:
$60 Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9B (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$60 G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$65 Crucial BLT2KIT4G3D1869DT1TX0 (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15341
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:32 am

JustAnEngineer wrote:PC3-12800:
$42 Patriot PSD38G1600KH (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$48 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBXM (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.25 V)
$50 Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9G (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 Mushkin 996988 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$50 G.Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR1 (DDR3-1600, CAS 9, 1.35 V)
$58 Mushkin 997043 (DDR3-1600, CAS 8, 1.5 V)

PC3-15000:
$60 Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9B (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$60 G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)
$65 Crucial BLT2KIT4G3D1869DT1TX0 (DDR3-1866, CAS 9, 1.5 V)


Imma pull the trigger today, i looked at the kits you suggest BUT Gskill kits aren't common in my country, i didn't find many of them listed anywhere in my country. As for Corsair i heard plenty of people complaining about their kits being defective. Maybe it's also due to the fact that they sell a lot of kits so there are bound to be some defective but i just don't trust them.

I think i'm gonna buy Kingston, thinking of a simple 8 GB (2 x 4GB)1333 Mhz 1,5V dual channel kit. I saw many nice GSkill kits on newegg, unfortunately they can't be found in my country. I don't want to buy a kit with 1600Mhz or higher since i won't run the RAM at those speeds since when i OC i do so through the multiplier.....so i don't see the point....
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:34 am

You've posted twice about not being able to get certain products in your country or that things are too expensive there, but you fail to supply us with the information we need. Which country are you in? I'm fairly positive you're not the only gerbil in your country. The only thing I can gather is that you used a $ sign rather then a Euro/Yen/Pound sign, but don't keep us guessing so we can actually point you in the right direction.
Hallucin8
Gerbil
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:12 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:54 am

Hallucin8 wrote:You've posted twice about not being able to get certain products in your country or that things are too expensive there, but you fail to supply us with the information we need. Which country are you in? I'm fairly positive you're not the only gerbil in your country. The only thing I can gather is that you used a $ sign rather then a Euro/Yen/Pound sign, but don't keep us guessing so we can actually point you in the right direction.


Ok,

I live in Romania. My budget was ~65 Euros, but i decided to reduce it to ~51 Euros (shippment included) since from the replies from this thread i understood a few more things about RAM. For example even if i buy a 2133Mhz kit it will still run at 1333 if i don't overclock the CPU through the bus.

I also learned that the 1,35V kits will still run at 1,5V if the voltage if they voltage is not tweaked manually (this would be a big drag for me plus there is the possibility that the mobo won't support it 1,35 V setting). So my best choice would be to buy 1333Mhz RAM, at 1,5V with normal latency (9-9-9 etc) to avoid incompatibility. Plus the overhead would be uneeded (i explained above why).
Last edited by Arclight on Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:22 am

Arclight wrote:I also learned that the 1.35V kits will still run at 1.5V if the voltage if they voltage is not tweaked manually (this would be a big drag for me plus there is the possibility that the mobo won't support it 1,35 V setting).


Yes, the 1.25V ram I installed initially booted at 1.5V and I manually brought it down. I checked the voltage on the first boot/post to make sure it was set correctly and had to make my adjustment then. Like I said before, I got your exact board down to 1.275V. (I believe that was the lowest option) If it can't hit 1.35V on the nose, it should be able to come close enough. Again, I'm sorry I can't tell you for sure, but the mobo is in my brothers computer 6 hours away. Just go into your BIOS and find the RAM voltage adjustment and look at what options it gives you. All options will be available regardless of what RAM you have currently installed. If you are unsure as to how to do this or don't know where to look:
1) hit delete during post (just start tapping the delete key immediately after you power on and dont stop until you see the blue BIOS screen pop up)
2) consult your motherboard's manual for where to locate RAM voltage adjustment
Furthermore, what's the big deal if you have to manually adjust the RAM voltage in the BIOS one time? (when you first install it) Ultimately, 1.5V is standard, so if you are really that scared and dont want to check on your own board, then I would say just go with 1.5V RAM and be done with it. Low voltage kits typically incur a bit of a price premium anyway.
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:32 am

DPete27 wrote:
Arclight wrote:I also learned that the 1.35V kits will still run at 1.5V if the voltage if they voltage is not tweaked manually (this would be a big drag for me plus there is the possibility that the mobo won't support it 1,35 V setting).


Yes, the 1.25V ram I installed initially booted at 1.5V and I manually brought it down. I checked the voltage on the first boot/post to make sure it was set correctly and had to make my adjustment then. Like I said before, I got your exact board down to 1.275V. (I believe that was the lowest option) If it can't hit 1.35V on the nose, it should be able to come close enough. Again, I'm sorry I can't tell you for sure, but the mobo is in my brothers computer 6 hours away. Just go into your BIOS and find the RAM voltage adjustment and look at what options it gives you. All options will be available regardless of what RAM you have currently installed. If you are unsure as to how to do this or don't know where to look:
1) hit delete during post (just start tapping the delete key immediately after you power on and dont stop until you see the blue BIOS screen pop up)
2) consult your motherboard's manual for where to locate RAM voltage adjustment
Furthermore, what's the big deal if you have to manually adjust the RAM voltage in the BIOS one time? (when you first install it) Ultimately, 1.5V is standard, so if you are really that scared and dont want to check on your own board, then I would say just go with 1.5V RAM and be done with it. Low voltage kits typically incur a bit of a price premium anyway.


I wanted 1,35V modules at the beginning thinking RAM consumes lots of power but someone posted above saying that it won't. Even today i was looking at RAM spec sheets (i think it was on kingston website) and the rated power consumption of 1 x 4 Gb DDR3 module (1,5V 1333Mhz) was ~1,44W......so my PSU should be more than OK with 1,5V modules, no need for ultra low voltage. As for higher frequency again i learned i have to OC through the BUS to increase the RAM frequency....
http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KVR1 ... HK2_8G.pdf
KVR1333D3N9HK2/8G
8G (4GB 2Rx8 512M x 64-Bit x 2 pcs.)
PC3-10600 CL9 240-Pin DIMM Kit
[...]
Power (Operating) 1.410 W* (per module)


So to recap Gskill and Corsair are out of my the potential vendors. 1,35V and uber 1337 frequency are not desired by me anymore. Low latency modules that i've seen are too expensive....not worth it.

Thank you all for explaining some of the stuff i didn't know. If you still like to make suggestion considering my thoughts expressed in this post, please do. I'm gonna order the modules in 5-6 hours. I'd expect to receive them the soonest on Tuesday next week. Can't wait :)
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:15 am

You should be able to get a 4GB DDR3 1600mhz 9-9-9 1.5V stick for about €20. IIRC 1333mhz DDR3 is not any cheaper. Faster modules care a bit of a premium and/or require 1.65V which is out of spec for Sandy Bridge CPUs.
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:42 am

go with the 1600 ddr3 gskill. its all i use, every single AMD build. low voltage ram is 'ok' for htpc, but either anand or tom showed that the actual power savings was bunk. low voltage ram will not have any better overclocking so no real befit there either. stick to ram in the 1.5 to 1.6 range and your good.

all just my 2 cents.
Cybert said: Capitlization and periods are hard for you, aren't they? I've given over $100 to techforums. I should have you banned for my money.
maxxcool
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 8:40 am
Location: %^&*%$$

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:37 am

Firestarter wrote:You should be able to get a 4GB DDR3 1600mhz 9-9-9 1.5V stick for about €20. IIRC 1333mhz DDR3 is not any cheaper. Faster modules care a bit of a premium and/or require 1.65V which is out of spec for Sandy Bridge CPUs.


Why?

Why 1600Mhz if it will run at 1333Mhz due to AMD's memory controller? As i said i won't OC though the buss since my CPU is unlocked, i'll just increase the multiplier. So why faster 1600Mhz RAM? I really want to know....
Last edited by Arclight on Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:07 pm

Yeah,

Anything other than stock will require you to make adjustments in the BIOS.

That said, the HT multiplier setting will determine your memory speed even when you only use BE multiplier.

It is easy to set at 1:3, or 1:4 etc. etc to yield 1333 or 1600.

There are many good comparisons on the web for the same system running at stock and OC (memory only) setting.

The difference is always in the low single percent difference .

However, 1600 is often priced the same or lower than 1333 now, so it doesn't hurt anything.

But if you are not going to change BIOS settings, this thread is rather pointless.... anything will work :oops:


If you run at 1333 ...definitely go CAS 7.

Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model KHX1333C7AD3K2/8G

But again, AMD does not have an auto set for memory like INTEL XMS...so to get the benefit you would have to make an adjustment in the BIOS...it will default to 9.

But if this is too expensive, then don't worry and be happy....The difference between the best and the "value" memory is really quite small. :wink:
mdk77777
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 346
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:42 pm

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:48 am

Quick update, i just received the RAM. It's a Kingston 8 GB dual channel kit model KVR1333D3N9K2/8G. I didn't got to test it yet because i think i have a problem. The PCB of the modules is different, by that i mean it's physically smaller than what it should be (judging from the dimensions stated in the spec sheet on Kingston's website):
http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KVR1333D3N9K2_8G.pdf

By smaller i mean the height is smaller. From the spec sheet the height should be 30 mm but i measured it a ruller and my modules have a height of ~18mm each. The length is the same as in the spec sheet and it should fit in the RAM slot but it kinda bothers me since it's not quite up to spec. I will test it when i get home and i will run memtest, but...wth is going on? Aren't DDR3 desktop PCB DIMMs standard?

I don't have much experience with RAM, i didn't own that many modules, but i never got this form factor before.
Last edited by Arclight on Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:59 am

AFAIK there's no minimum height, other than that the notches in the sides for the retention mechanism to grab onto need to be there.

I've had DIMMs (IIRC Kingston also) which were shorter than "normal". Nothing to worry about.

OTOH modules which are too tall (as with some DIMMs that come with heat spreaders on them) are potentially problematic, since it can restrict airflow and prevent installation of certain CPU HSFs or GPUs.

The spec sheet you linked even says (right at the top):
Kingston spec sheet wrote:Important Information: The module defined in this data sheet is one of several configurations available under this part number. While all configurations are compatible, the DRAM combination and/or the module height may vary from what is described here.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37519
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Need help choosing a 8 Gb DDR3 kit

Postposted on Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:07 am

just brew it! wrote:AFAIK there's no minimum height, other than that the notches in the sides for the retention mechanism to grab onto need to be there.

I've had DIMMs (IIRC Kingston also) which were shorter than "normal". Nothing to worry about.

OTOH modules which are too tall (as with some DIMMs that come with heat spreaders on them) are potentially problematic, since it can restrict airflow and prevent installation of certain CPU HSFs or GPUs.

The spec sheet you linked even says (right at the top):
Kingston spec sheet wrote:Important Information: The module defined in this data sheet is one of several configurations available under this part number. While all configurations are compatible, the DRAM combination and/or the module height may vary from what is described here.



Thanks for clearing that up. I know about heatspreaders but i chose modules that have none just to avoid future problems, but in this case i was reffering just to DIMM PCB height. Regardless, thank you for your reply :wink:

Regarding the notches, both are there, only that the top one looks like an L instead of a U, but no biggy i figure...
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests