asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Discuss the core components that make up the heart and soul of any good computer.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Thresher

asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:27 pm

Hey guys,
So I own an asrock p67 pro3 mobo, and recently something strange has been happening.

Every time I turn on my computer, the computer flashes the bios screen, then goes into the UEFI bios, like I had pressed the enter bios key on my keyboard. I can go to the exit bios section and click "discard changes and exit", and the computer boots into windows just fine. To my knowledge the keyboard is working fine (no stuck keys), and my date and time seems to be normal, so I don't think it's the CMOS battery. Any advice?

I have bios version 2.0

System specs:
Win 7 x64
intel 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
8 gigs of gskill ddr3 ram
crucial m4 128gb ssd for boot drive
Image

MSI GAMING 4G GTX 970 @ 1440p
Sputnik7
Gerbil First Class
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:01 pm

Unplug the keyboard and turn it on. If it boots correctly, you may have a keyboard (or keyboard port) issue. If not, change the CMOS battery.
HP Pavilion all-in-one: AMD A6-7410, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 23" IPS Touch screen, Windows 10 64-bit
riviera74
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:14 am
Location: FM, FL, USA

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:15 pm

I would reset the bios to factory defaults and see if that makes a difference as well. Yes that means you get to lose your overclock for a short period. :lol:
I7 3820, 16 GB of ram, 240 gig corsiar nuetron, XFX r9-290, asus x79 ws, HP ZR24w, edifier s730
HP Pro x2 612- i5-4302Y, 8 gigs of memory, 256 ssd
thecoldanddarkone
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 4:35 pm

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:54 pm

riviera you were right. I believe I have an issue with the usb port the keyboard was plugged into. I switched usb ports and it appears to be working fine

Thanks! Will let you guys know if any other issues arise
Image

MSI GAMING 4G GTX 970 @ 1440p
Sputnik7
Gerbil First Class
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:19 pm

Sputnik7 wrote:riviera you were right. I believe I have an issue with the usb port the keyboard was plugged into. I switched usb ports and it appears to be working fine

Thanks! Will let you guys know if any other issues arise


I am glad that this issue has been resolved. :D
HP Pavilion all-in-one: AMD A6-7410, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 23" IPS Touch screen, Windows 10 64-bit
riviera74
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:14 am
Location: FM, FL, USA

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:18 pm

actually I do have another question. Since that usb 2.0 port is pretty much unusable, the rest of my usb ports are filled. Therefore, I need some more. What is the best way to go about adding usb ports? Should I get a usb splitter (i.e. a usb attachable device that adds more usb ports), or a pci to usb add-on card?

Any recommendations would be great
Image

MSI GAMING 4G GTX 970 @ 1440p
Sputnik7
Gerbil First Class
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:50 pm

If you have open headers on the motherboard, get one (or more) of these:

http://www.amazon.com/HDE-2-Port-Panel- ... 615&sr=8-3
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 22328
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:58 pm

Specs for that motherboard indicate 6 USB 2.0 ports in the main I/O cluster on the rear panel, and 6 more on internal headers. Unless you've got a crapload of front USB ports hooked up to the motherboard, all you need is a cable and bracket to route one of the internal headers out to an unused slot in the rear of your case -- no need for a hub or add-in card.

Something like this.

Edit: derFunk beat me to it. But mine's cheaper! :wink:
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 42630
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:10 pm

there we go! perfect, thanks guys
Image

MSI GAMING 4G GTX 970 @ 1440p
Sputnik7
Gerbil First Class
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:21 pm

Check the distance to the motherboard headers before you order, I just noticed that one of the reviews of the one I linked indicates that the cables on it are kind of short.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 42630
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: asrock p67 pro3 keeps loading into bios

Postposted on Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:44 pm

I have two of the one I linked and the cables are plenty long as long as you keep it to the bottom 3-4 slots on the case, at least with my motherboard. The headers are all along the bottom and towards the front somewhat, so it's probably OK with yours.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 22328
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?


Return to Motherboards, Chipsets, & RAM

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests