Q6600 Mod... for real?

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:09 pm

http://alumar.hubpages.com/hub/Get-more ... Core-Q6600

Is this "mod" for real... They tape off 2 contacts on the Q6600 raising the FSB from 1066 to 1333 which brings the original 2.4ghz CPU to 3.0 :|? I've got an Optiplex 755 sitting here and I'm seriously considering trying this. Obviously there is a chance that might particular processor has a core or two that wont like those speeds and may be unstable... But worst case scenario I un-tape the sucker and no real harm done.

I never really messed with the Q6600 CPUs and found this to be a very unconventional way to "OC" a machine. None the less if it can be done and stable without overheating and raise the FSB to 1333 for ram, I'm down. Any comments?
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:31 pm

3.0 ??? Pshhhh, thats nothing for a Q6600 !! Mine's been humming along at 3.5 for 3+ years now. It's being retired very soon for a i5-2500@4.1, but they are such great quad core chips that they still hold their own against the AMD Phenom II X4 965 CPUs.
You are referring to the standard workaround for any OEM board that does not allow FSB changes in the BIOS. I've used it for a few Biostar or ECS boards and it is entirely reversible. I bought a conductive pen from Radio Shack for $10 to do this as well.

Edit: Added a link to the BSEL mod that shows more FSB settings -> http://www.overclock.net/t/341123/intel-bsel-vid-mod-guide
Intel i5 2500K@4.3, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD, Powercolor 7970 3GB, 2GB Hitachi HDD, Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Ed, Corsair H80, Win 7 Pro
Walkintarget
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:15 am

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:33 pm

Yep, I realize it would be reversible since all your doing is breaking contact on two of those... well, contacts :).

Yep, if I were to have this chip on a real board I'd just OC the right way, but its in an OEM board, hence my workaround. So you've had success with this method! Awesome, say no more, I know what I'm going to be doing tonight!
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Let us know how it works. I've got an old Core 2 sitting around that I might want to try that with.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3233
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:17 pm

Sounds like it could be my first video tutorial via youtube :)
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:56 pm

IIRC this does work since all you're doing is making the CPU tell your motherboard it has a different base FSB.

However, unless you have a really cheap motherboard that doesn't support manually specifying the FSB, why would you bother?
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:00 pm

ChronoReverse wrote:IIRC this does work since all you're doing is making the CPU tell your motherboard it has a different base FSB.

However, unless you have a really cheap motherboard that doesn't support manually specifying the FSB, why would you bother?

That's what I'm thinking. Just set the FSB at 1333 and see if it boots.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21547
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:03 pm

ChronoReverse wrote:IIRC this does work since all you're doing is making the CPU tell your motherboard it has a different base FSB.

However, unless you have a really cheap motherboard that doesn't support manually specifying the FSB, why would you bother?


Because... I have a cheap motherboard that doesn't support manually specifying the FSB :).

Its a Dell Optiplex 755, no FSB options.
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:34 pm

Sounds like fun, and quite do-able ! http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/p/19184504/19307490.aspx

Looking forward to your successful followup posts. :wink:
Intel i5 2500K@4.3, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD, Powercolor 7970 3GB, 2GB Hitachi HDD, Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Ed, Corsair H80, Win 7 Pro
Walkintarget
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:15 am

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:16 am

wonder if it would work on a pentium e2140? got it in a g41 board but i cant push it past 1066 no matter what the voltage :/
i7@4.0|24gb ddr1333|gtx 460|xonar dx|lian-li pcv1200
Mr. Bamboo Head
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:59 pm
Location: british columbia

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:31 am

Well if your chip is just not capable of those speeds, its an issue with the actual chip and your likely just going to receive a post beep and black screen from this mod. This mod is more targeted towards chips/motherboards that are locked down from OEMs. Somehow I don't think that will work for you. However If this attempt goes good I do want to try something similar on an Intel E2220 that I've got sitting in an HP proprietary motherboard. If I could push that little thing from its modest 2.4 up to something like 2.8 or 3.0, then I'm down!
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:40 am

Looking forward to looking at results.Before and after benches please.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:07 am

I will be going out and getting that conductive pen today. Anyone have requests as far as benchies goes?
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2675
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:15 am

Welch wrote:I will be going out and getting that conductive pen today.


Dunno how good your eyes are, but at my age I highly value a magnifying glass for checking my pen work as well. Nice thing about the pen is you can scrape it off with a fingernail if it goes wrong.

I've modded an e2140, 2180 and a 5200. The best OC's came from the 2140 and 2180, as they easily ran the 1066fsb at stock voltages on stock cooling. I'd always recommend a Cooler Master 212+ for additional cooling (assuming you have the room for this big HSF). They are super cheap at under $20, and they wick off any extra heat that the overclock may produce (not much on any of the chips that I modded).
Intel i5 2500K@4.3, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD, Powercolor 7970 3GB, 2GB Hitachi HDD, Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Ed, Corsair H80, Win 7 Pro
Walkintarget
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:15 am

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:57 am

Already done that and i had even posted it on TR.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=74850
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:59 am

Welch wrote:I will be going out and getting that conductive pen today. Anyone have requests as far as benchies goes?


Try the pen mod only if the tap mod is unsuccessful.
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:20 am

Jigar wrote:Already done that and i had even posted it on TR.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=74850

lol jigar ftw with the 2 year old thread that's the exact same thing discussed in this one!
thegleek
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7367
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:12 am

On my previous system, my Q6600 ran @3.6 GHz@1.5V. The system wasn't stable under full load @3.6 GHz due it needed a VCore about 1.525V and I wasn't willing to above 1.5V. So, I used it with 400 MHz FSB and 8x multiplier for most of the time, resulting 3.2 GHz@1.31V Vcore.

I had;
- Q6600 G0 with TT Big Typhoon cooler
- Gigabyte P35C-DS3R V2.0
- 4x 2 GB G-SKILL CL5 DDR2-800 RAM

I doubt tape work is neccessary, nor worthy to overclock that CPU.
i5-2500k@4.5 GHz, Noctua C14 to keep it cool, ASUS Z68-V PRO/GEN3, 2x4 GB DDR3-1600 G-SKILL RipjawsX, ASUS GTX560 DCII TOP@925/1850/2000(RIP MSI GTX460), OCZ 600W, 1x256GB Samsung 830 SSD, 2xSamsung 1 TB RAID 0, 1x2 TB WD Green, NEC 7173-S, Enermax Chakra
allreadydead
Gerbil
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:25 am

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:20 am

Mr. Bamboo Head wrote:wonder if it would work on a pentium e2140? got it in a g41 board but i cant push it past 1066 no matter what the voltage :/

Well you're talking about a stripped down Conroe that was probably binned in some way. Going from 1.6GHz to 2.13GHz is a pretty big jump, percentage-wise. 33% is a really excellent overclock. I had an E2160 that would do 333 for a 3GHz clock speed with a slight voltage bump, but it was a very rare find.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21547
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:31 am

derFunkenstein wrote:
Mr. Bamboo Head wrote:wonder if it would work on a pentium e2140? got it in a g41 board but i cant push it past 1066 no matter what the voltage :/

Well you're talking about a stripped down Conroe that was probably binned in some way. Going from 1.6GHz to 2.13GHz is a pretty big jump, percentage-wise. 33% is a really excellent overclock. I had an E2160 that would do 333 for a 3GHz clock speed with a slight voltage bump, but it was a very rare find.

ya i suppose. thing is, it seems to be fsb limited; even with multi at 6 i can't get it any higher :S it's a shuttle xpc board with fairly limited overclocking options. that and my expectations for a c2d may be a bit high; my c2q xeon went from 2.13 to 3.6 with ease (could get stable at 3.75 with large voltage jump)
i7@4.0|24gb ddr1333|gtx 460|xonar dx|lian-li pcv1200
Mr. Bamboo Head
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:59 pm
Location: british columbia

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:25 pm

Mr. Bamboo Head wrote:ya i suppose. thing is, it seems to be fsb limited; even with multi at 6 i can't get it any higher :S it's a shuttle xpc board with fairly limited overclocking options. that and my expectations for a c2d may be a bit high; my c2q xeon went from 2.13 to 3.6 with ease (could get stable at 3.75 with large voltage jump)

I guess that's possible, too. Double-checking the supported FSBs on the chipset, 1333 is supported, but ya it's always possible the chip can't handle that bus.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21547
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Q6600 Mod... for real?

Postposted on Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:34 am

thegleek wrote:
Jigar wrote:Already done that and i had even posted it on TR.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=74850

lol jigar ftw with the 2 year old thread that's the exact same thing discussed in this one!


BSEL mod is boon to the people who have mobo's without overclocking features example intel mobo. In past, lot of my friends who had Dell systems with Q6600 did BSEL mod, which in the end helped them prolong their upgrade cycle.
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm


Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests