Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 7:09 pm

I just rebuilt my Windows 7 system and installed all my apps and saved data. Then, when I initiated a Microsoft Security Essentials virus scan, my machine suddenly rebooted for no apparent reason in the middle of the scan.

I have no clue what went wrong.

Here are the hardware specs of my system:
3.0 GHz Core 2 Quad Q9650
8 GB of RAM
2X 500 GB Western Digital HDDs (WDC WD5000AAKS-65A) running in a Raid 0 configuration
Nvidia 9500 GS graphics card
Atheros wireless a/b/g/n module

I suspect that the WD HDDs are the culprit, but how can I know that for sure?
Mr. Camel
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 7:14 pm

Try running the scan again. Sometimes the system can just restart if something caused the system to hang.
And as always, please take a look at your system temperatures. Overheated CPUs will cause the system to restart/lock up.

EDIT: If the system keeps restarting after you try scanning again, check your system event log for any information on a blue screen or hardware fault. While your at it, check the S.M.A.R.T. status on the hard drives.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 7:37 pm

Turn off auto-restart (System Properties, Advanced System Settings, Startup and Recovery Settings). The next time it happens, you should see an actual Blue Screen that gives you more information. In the meantime, as ClickClick suggests, check the system logs -- and follow all those other good suggestions too.

When you say you "rebuilt" your system, do you mean purely a software re-install or did you make any hardware changes? Are all your drivers up to date? Whenever I install Windows I'm always amazed at how many times I have to run Windows Update -- the updates have updates, and anything you install has updates, and that triggers more updates.
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9961
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:01 pm

It was a pure software rebuild.

The crash happened again this evening but this time I was not running a virus scan.

I looked at the Windows crash dump file but couldn't find anything conclusive. It said that it was a fatal hardware error caused by some Vista driver. One thing is that after the crash, my Atheros a/b/g/n wireless card stopped working. I updated the driver for this device from Windows update (over the default driver that shipped with Windows 7). Could it be this driver that is causing this?

Unfortunately, the crash dump doesn't say more than this. I dont know if the driver is at fault or if there is a genuine hardware problem.
Mr. Camel
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm

Any useful information in Event Viewer?
EsotericLord
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:23 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:15 pm

Yes. The following error message was present about 6 times:


A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor ID: 0

But the processor IDs were different (0 through 3). A few of the messages were repeated for some of the processor IDs.
Mr. Camel
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:21 pm

Mr. Camel wrote:Yes. The following error message was present about 6 times:


A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Bus/Interconnect Error
Processor ID: 0

But the processor IDs were different (0 through 3). A few of the messages were repeated for some of the processor IDs.


Seems like a hardware thing by that message. Did you physically move your machine around during your rebuild, and maybe jar something lose? Are you overclocking at all?
EsotericLord
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:23 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:26 pm

Nope. Didn't move it around at all. Also, I'm not overclocking.

Here is the output of the crash dump that got generated:


WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR (124)
A fatal hardware error has occurred. Parameter 1 identifies the type of error
source that reported the error. Parameter 2 holds the address of the
WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure that describes the error conditon.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000000, Machine Check Exception
Arg2: fffffa80090f2038, Address of the WHEA_ERROR_RECORD structure.
Arg3: 0000000000000000, High order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.
Arg4: 0000000000000000, Low order 32-bits of the MCi_STATUS value.

Debugging Details:
------------------


BUGCHECK_STR: 0x124_GenuineIntel

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

PROCESS_NAME: System

CURRENT_IRQL: 0

STACK_TEXT:
fffff880`033c46b0 fffff800`02ec2cb9 : fffffa80`090f2010 fffffa80`06a2fb60 00000000`0000000a 00000000`00000000 : nt!WheapCreateLiveTriageDump+0x6c
fffff880`033c4bd0 fffff800`02da3687 : fffffa80`090f2010 fffff800`02e1d2b8 fffffa80`06a2fb60 00000000`00000000 : nt!WheapCreateTriageDumpFromPreviousSession+0x49
fffff880`033c4c00 fffff800`02d0aa35 : fffff800`02e7eac0 00000000`00000001 fffffa80`08ebf880 fffffa80`06a2fb60 : nt!WheapProcessWorkQueueItem+0x57
fffff880`033c4c40 fffff800`02c87471 : fffff880`01030e00 fffff800`02d0aa10 fffffa80`06a2fb00 fffffa80`06a2fb60 : nt!WheapWorkQueueWorkerRoutine+0x25
fffff880`033c4c70 fffff800`02f17f7a : 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`06a2fb60 00000000`00000080 fffffa80`06a1e040 : nt!ExpWorkerThread+0x111
fffff880`033c4d00 fffff800`02c6e9c6 : fffff880`03164180 fffffa80`06a2fb60 fffff880`0316efc0 00000000`00000000 : nt!PspSystemThreadStartup+0x5a
fffff880`033c4d40 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`033c5000 fffff880`033bf000 fffff880`03feb500 00000000`00000000 : nt!KxStartSystemThread+0x16


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: hardware

IMAGE_NAME: hardware

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 0

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS_PRV

BUCKET_ID: X64_0x124_GenuineIntel_PROCESSOR_BUS_PRV

Followup: MachineOwner
Mr. Camel
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:35 pm

I'm pretty sure at this point the problem is either hardware or drivers. (oh wow, that super narrows it down ~_~ /s)

http://www.sevenforums.com/crash-lockup ... t-try.html

Seems to have a list of things to try to address this problem with.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 21(v=vs.85).aspx

A bit more info.

A chkdsk run might not be a bad idea.
EsotericLord
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:23 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:52 pm

EsotericLord wrote:I'm pretty sure at this point the problem is either hardware or drivers. (oh wow, that super narrows it down ~_~ /s)
And one can look like the other. Given that this followed a reformat/reinstall, and we have no reason to suspect hardware failure (though of course it can spontaneously happen), I'd suspect you have a driver that was updated in your old installation but not updated in the new one, leading to the crashes you're now seeing. You can go into device manager and force it to look for updated drivers for each device, but I prefer to actually visit the websites of the maker of each component to find and download the drivers. This is tedious, but it gives you an opportunity to read release notes to see if there are any gotchas or other things you want to look out for. You can also bookmark each site so you'll be able to get back there quicker in the future. In fact, I suggest doing this before a reinstall, so that you already have all the updated drivers (on a flash drive or another networked computer) ready to go before you start installing anything else or even go out onto the internet for the first time.
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9961
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Sun Mar 18, 2012 5:06 pm

It's a RAM problem - get a testing tool like Mem86 and test the RAM out. It'll take about 10 minutes. After that run a HDD test using Seatools or something similar. You can get these tools on a boot disc like Hirens Boot Disc. Eliminate these problems first and it will save you so much time!!

Thanks,

Aled.
Last edited by JackGibson on Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
“Don't find fault, find a remedy; anybody can complain”
Henry Ford
JackGibson
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:59 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Windows 7 SP1 Crash

Postposted on Sun Mar 18, 2012 6:35 pm

JackGibson wrote:It's a RAM problem - get a testing tool like Mem86 and test the RAM out. It'll take about 10 minutes. After that run a HDD test using Seatools or something similar. You can get these tools on a boot disc like Hirens Boot Disc. Eliminate these problems first and it will save you so much time!

Thanks,

Aled.


Except that to properly test RAM it takes a good 3 day run of memtest86. If you're having this many problems so early on in a fresh install, hopefully you'd get a faster failure, but it can take many many hours for the arrays in the RAM to destabilize.

I'd run sfc, a couple loops of drive fitness test (it's a Hitachi tool, but it will work with your drive), and memtest86 when you get a chance. Both those and more are on UBCD, while sfc is a Windows tool. I tend to have a feeling it was the Atheros drivers, and that hopefully you'll be ok now that they're updated. If you have more problems, I'd look for more updated drivers straight from Qualcomm/Atheros. I haven't been all that thrilled with their drivers lately, but not as bad as Broadcom's.
Ethyriel
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests