Error message w/new 7850

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:50 pm

So I just installed my new 7850 today, along with the driver and CCC from AMD's website. Every time I boot, I get an error message that reads:

kdbsync.exe - System Error

The program can't start because OpenCL.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.


I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the driver and CCC, and it's still coming up. I noticed that in the series of drop downs to choose my product, there was a separate entry for the 7800 series than for the 7xxx series in general. Also, the driver I downloaded was last updated on 3/19. Should I try a more generic version (last updated 3/7), or does anyone know of a simple fix that I can try first?

ETA my build:
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Patriot Extreme Performance (4 x 1GB) DDR2 800
Intel Xeon E3110
Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD
640GB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA
Antec Nine Hundred case
24" monitor 1920x1200
MidnightFrost1701
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:25 pm

I don't think the official WHQL-certified 12.2 drivers actually support 78xx models... Besides, it looks like these drivers also have the bug that you're experiencing:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1038513426
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1862
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:19 pm

I can't remember the last time I did this, but I think I'm going to try the drivers that are on the disc. In this case, older might actually be better... I'll post again with results of that.
Last edited by MidnightFrost1701 on Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MidnightFrost1701
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:24 pm

Try installing just the driver and not the ccc
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:40 pm

anotherengineer wrote:Try installing just the driver and not the ccc


Just tried that (although I installed a few decoders and such in addition to the driver; I just left off CCC). I'm still getting the message.
MidnightFrost1701
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:17 pm

i get that with my 6950's. but only if i install the encoder/decoders.

i just install the driver with the ccc.
wirerogue
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: i'm a jackass

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Thu Mar 22, 2012 10:43 pm

wirerogue wrote:i get that with my 6950's. but only if i install the encoder/decoders.

The whole decoder thing is just about Ovaltine ads anyway.

[/ducks]
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20114
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:09 am

Captain Ned wrote:
wirerogue wrote:i get that with my 6950's. but only if i install the encoder/decoders.
The whole decoder thing is just about Ovaltine ads anyway.[/ducks]
Did your wife let you keep that lamp?
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9973
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: Error message w/new 7850

Postposted on Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:11 am

wirerogue wrote:i get that with my 6950's. but only if i install the encoder/decoders.

i just install the driver with the ccc.


Wirerogue FTW! That fixed it, thanks!

I played a bit of Star Wars The Old Republic, and even though the game does run much more smoothly, I've noticed a bit of "lag" here and there. The biggest thing, though, is that there was some artifacting on the sections where the portraits of other people in my group appear. I'm gonna see if after this latest driver install that goes away, but since the servers are down for maintenance it'll be a while. Haven't had a chance to try out any other games yet either.
MidnightFrost1701
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Georgia


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests