Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:41 am

Hi,
I have Windows M.E. on my pc and would like to know it it is possible to format only Windows M.E. without deleting any thing else on my HDD.then reinstall Windows M.E. without lossing any thing on the HDD?
If possible, how would it be done?

Thanks in advance,
dede
Dede
Gerbil
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:07 am

Is this spam? No one in the legitimate world of sane people would even consider doing such an asinine task!

Windows ME was a FAILED Microsoft attempt. I would imagine they would even BEG you to move on to XP/Vista/7.
thegleek
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7344
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 10:06 am
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 08, 2012 3:05 pm

thegleek wrote:Is this spam? No one in the legitimate world of sane people would even consider doing such an asinine task!

Windows ME was a FAILED Microsoft attempt. I would imagine they would even BEG you to move on to XP/Vista/7.

Licensing is one thing that may force people to do it. Not everyone can afford new licenses out of the blue. May be you can help a fellow gerbil with a license donation? ;)
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 08, 2012 3:18 pm

It sounds like you're wanting a repair install, and I don't remember if ME supports that kind of reinstallation.

Back up everything on the hard drive first, then boot from your ME install CD and see if you can do a repair install; if not you'll need to install Windows over itself. This should not delete your data, but you may need to reinstall programs once you're done.

If this were my dog, I'd either get a cheap Win98SE license and use that, or a WinXP license, or switch to Linux instead.

edit: which Windows of those two I'd pick would come down to the computer's specs; if it couldn't support at least 512MB (and preferably more) RAM then it'd have to be 98. As to Linux, a common-ish distro that would work on ME-period hardware easily is Puppy Linux.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:25 am

Flying Fox:
Thanks for the helpful information!

Again, thanks for for the witty answer you gave about a donation!

Dede
Dede
Gerbil
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:35 am

bthylafh:

An appreciative thank you for the excellent and constructive help! That is the kind of answer that proves these forums are
providing a very useful service!

Dede
Dede
Gerbil
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:54 am

I found the best solution was to burn an Ubuntu DVD/CD and boot from it, then procced to delete every windows folder and file, as the hidden secure folders that can't be deleted from Windows itself will show up in Linux and can be appropriately dealt with. This way you don't have to worry about overwriting the windows registry or play with folder permissions (Vista + Windows 7 only) in a later install. Essentially, it's the same was strating from scratch but with your files still intact - provided of course they're not in the 'program files' or 'my documents' folders.
TREE
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 3:03 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:10 am

Back in the Win9x days, I would reinstall windows over the top of its self, this more often than not worked fine.
Athlon 64 X2 4200+, UT nF4 Ultra-D, 4GB RAM, 128GB m4 SSD, 500GB HD, 9600GT 512MB, Intel 1000PT, Corsair TX650V2, Customizer 105 USB Blk. kubuntu 11.10 x64.
HP G62t, Pentium Dual-Core P6100, 3GB RAM, 320GB HD1, Intel HD IGP, kubuntu 11.10 x64, Win 7 x64.
srg86
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:28 am

srg86 wrote:Back in the Win9x days, I would reinstall windows over the top of its self, this more often than not worked fine.
If I remember correctly, in the Win 9x days if you did that it would simply place the reinstalled Windows in a folder called WINDOWS.001 if it discovered an existing WINDOWS folder.
boing
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:21 am
Location: Sweden, Europe

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:03 pm

boing wrote:
srg86 wrote:Back in the Win9x days, I would reinstall windows over the top of its self, this more often than not worked fine.
If I remember correctly, in the Win 9x days if you did that it would simply place the reinstalled Windows in a folder called WINDOWS.001 if it discovered an existing WINDOWS folder.


That never happened to me, or at least the installer would still ask me what folder to install in and the default was still always WINDOWS, so it installed into the same folder.
Athlon 64 X2 4200+, UT nF4 Ultra-D, 4GB RAM, 128GB m4 SSD, 500GB HD, 9600GT 512MB, Intel 1000PT, Corsair TX650V2, Customizer 105 USB Blk. kubuntu 11.10 x64.
HP G62t, Pentium Dual-Core P6100, 3GB RAM, 320GB HD1, Intel HD IGP, kubuntu 11.10 x64, Win 7 x64.
srg86
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 6:57 am
Location: Waukesha, WI

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:04 pm

Hi folks,

I am terribly sorry I did not answer before now. I had trouble with my PC and when I got it going again, I had forgotten my questions! I just reviewed my notes and saw I had not answered you all.

Again. I am sorry for my forgetfulness!

I certainly appreciate your help!

I took srg86's advise and reinstalled Windows ME over itself and it is working fine. Thanks for the info !

Sincerely,
Dede
Dede
Gerbil
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:19 pm

srg86 wrote:
boing wrote:
srg86 wrote:Back in the Win9x days, I would reinstall windows over the top of its self, this more often than not worked fine.
If I remember correctly, in the Win 9x days if you did that it would simply place the reinstalled Windows in a folder called WINDOWS.001 if it discovered an existing WINDOWS folder.


That never happened to me, or at least the installer would still ask me what folder to install in and the default was still always WINDOWS, so it installed into the same folder.


Yeah I did that trick too. I actually rescued a Dell system the other day and I thought there was a WinXP license on the side like the other one I picked up at the same time, but... it's WinME. So I'll probably be rockin' that bad boy with a fresh install sometime. Ugh.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: Format only Windows ME and reinstall it.

Postposted on Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:02 pm

Dede wrote:Hi,
I have Windows M.E. on my pc and would like to know it it is possible to format only Windows M.E. without deleting any thing else on my HDD.then reinstall Windows M.E. without lossing any thing on the HDD?
If possible, how would it be done?

Thanks in advance,
dede


Apart from the haters of ME, I use it as a DVR. Works just fine. But for your question, as others here have said, easiest thing to do is reinstall ME over ME. Or if you have the availability, move the programs you want to an external and just reformat completely.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests