HP Proliant ML115 G5

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:30 pm

I've recently picked one of these up, it has Windows Server 2003 for SBS on it.
I don't know the Admin logon password so atm cant get any access to it in Windows.
I dont have the original install or restore disks so that rules them out.
I do have a Windows 2003 RC2 disk though, and I do have the product key
for the current OS on it. So my question is, do I use the RC2 disk I have and reinstall .
If so will it update to 2003 for SBS after I install RC2?
I've never used any server software so I'm not sure how to proceed.
I'd like to see what's currently on the machine if possible, but dont
have the logon password.Or would my easiest bet just to put Win 7 on it?
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:44 pm

Just use CHNTPW to reset the local admin password to "blank" and then log in.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Sat Apr 14, 2012 11:14 am

If you bought it from a proper dealer can't you just ask nicely?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24286
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:20 pm

Flying Fox wrote:If you bought it from a proper dealer can't you just ask nicely?


Its from an auction , no passwords or docs provided, sold as is.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:19 pm

Product key for RC should not be the same as the release one. In this case whether you have the licence that "comes with" the original computer is suspect. Not too sure about this situation of yours.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24286
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:33 pm

So the link Captain Ned sent me to didnt work, something about Active Domain I suspect. Anyhow ,downloaded Unbuntu 11.10 and ran it off a cd.
So now the question is , do I just buy a new Win 7 copy and install or take the Linux plunge with this?
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:39 pm

Well if you can get logged into the machine, maybe in safe mode off of the domain (after cracking the password using a linux tool when you boot from a live CD or something), you can probably use something like Magic Jelly Bean keyfinder (http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/) to find the Win2K3 SBS key used. I've used that and similar tools to figure out wtf serials were used for some of our servers here at work. I kinda got our licenses sorted out, before then things weren't tracked as well.

From what I understand, the encryption on passwords for XP/2K3 is pretty weak and can be "easily" cracked via tools. Vista/Win7/Win2k8/Win2k8r2 changed that up so it's harder/more time consuming. You'll have to look that up because I've never had a reason to and don't know specifics off the top of my head.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:44 pm

Also, don't forget to update the BIOS and firmware and stuff! That always fixes everything!

...I like updating firmware.

I picked up some free HP xw4600 workstations myself and while they are neat, the ECC memory requirement is KILLER. I haven't upgraded them past the 4 GB preinstalled.

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... G5&Cat=RAM

Should be a fun little machine. Personal use? Business? Were you going to make a home server?
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:12 pm

Last bit of spam from me on this.

If you just want to poke around, use the linux live CD and see if it's worth trying to rescue. If you want to play with the server OS, you can try to find the serial. I guess the next step is to find a pal with access to microsoft's volume licensing site who has access to Win2K3 SBS. We never used that here at work so we only have access to Win2K3, Win2K3 x64, Win2K3 R2, and Win2K3 R2 x64. And Win2K8 and later stuff, but that's nowhere near Win2K3 SBS. Since you don't have any experience with a server OS, it might be fun to play around with it if you can get the serial and find a source for the ISO from MS.

Now, something else to consider is you still won't be licensed for Win2K3 SBS. It's possible that license was repurposed by the people who auctioned off the system and legally you're not entitled to it. The HP workstations I got had a Vista Business tag on the outside so I had the serials there and they were OEM licensed for the box. You're probably not so lucky. However, that OS is oh so old so I doubt anyone cares one way or the other, if it's even still being used by the auctioning company. Hell, for all you know, they went bankrupt and these assets got liquidated.

Crap, I only just now read "and I do have the product key for the current OS on it" and had it register in my brain-meats. Hell yeah, find yourself an ISO, then! And/or check that that product key matches what is actually being used for the installed OS.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:25 pm

Scrotos wrote:Crap, I only just now read "and I do have the product key for the current OS on it" and had it register in my brain-meats. Hell yeah, find yourself an ISO, then! And/or check that that product key matches what is actually being used for the installed OS.

Not quite, the OP said he has the product key for the RC version (which is most likely for a time limited eval and not a real "permanent" one). So unless the machine he bought is with the OS that was installed, he needs a license.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24286
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:14 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
Scrotos wrote:Crap, I only just now read "and I do have the product key for the current OS on it" and had it register in my brain-meats. Hell yeah, find yourself an ISO, then! And/or check that that product key matches what is actually being used for the installed OS.

Not quite, the OP said he has the product key for the RC version (which is most likely for a time limited eval and not a real "permanent" one). So unless the machine he bought is with the OS that was installed, he needs a license.


Actually, the product key for the installed OS is right on the case on the Microsoft sticker.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:27 am

rogue426 wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:
Scrotos wrote:Crap, I only just now read "and I do have the product key for the current OS on it" and had it register in my brain-meats. Hell yeah, find yourself an ISO, then! And/or check that that product key matches what is actually being used for the installed OS.

Not quite, the OP said he has the product key for the RC version (which is most likely for a time limited eval and not a real "permanent" one). So unless the machine he bought is with the OS that was installed, he needs a license.


Actually, the product key for the installed OS is right on the case on the Microsoft sticker.

AFAIK Win2K3 SBS is not designed to upgrade an existing Win2K3 install, you can most certainly try. You definitely should try to recover/reset the admin password since right now you can't do anything. Or just screw it and install an OS that you have a real license for.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24286
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:36 am

Flying Fox wrote:You definitely should try to recover/reset the admin password since right now you can't do anything.

And that's where from whence I was coming with CHNTPW. The install may very well be "irregular" but the only way to suss that out (and to extract potentially valid keys) is to reset the admin PW and forge on ahead.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20107
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:36 am

Captain Ned wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:You definitely should try to recover/reset the admin password since right now you can't do anything.

And that's where from whence I was coming with CHNTPW. The install may very well be "irregular" but the only way to suss that out (and to extract potentially valid keys) is to reset the admin PW and forge on ahead.

And the OP said it did not work for him. May be make sure you are logging on as the local Administrator not the one for the domain.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24286
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HP Proliant ML115 G5

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:38 am

I figure if he can determine the installed OS uses the same key as on the side of the case, he should be golden. Or, hell, call MS and see if it's genuine.

Getting an ISO will be an issue unless you got someone who can hook you up. Looking at this: http://www.sbs-rocks.com/sbs2k3/sbs2003-2.htm It does look like the install image is different than 2003 or 2003 R2. Not like Vista or Win7 or W2k8 or W2K8R2 where you get different versions depending on what serial you enter.

SBS is neat if you want to get yer feet wet since it comes with Exchange and, I guess in your version, maybe SQL Server 2000 as well.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests