Acer 4830t-6642 troubles.

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

Acer 4830t-6642 troubles.

Postposted on Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:31 am

Hey guys, I am wondering if someone knows what my issue is with my laptop. Two days ago I tried to turn it on and it blue screens after a few seconds of the win7 splash screen. Thinking it was the Crucial m4 5000h bug I updated the bios but to no avail. Other than reformatting the drive does anyone have a suggestion to what I can do to? Also I didn't backup so that isn't an option. Deep down, I understand what is inevitable but maybe I am missing something. Thanks guys.
Ancient 1366 chipset and 6GB of RAM oh and 6950
adam1378
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: College Cultural District, Flint

Re: Acer 4830t-6642 troubles.

Postposted on Sat Apr 28, 2012 12:09 pm

You didn't provide any more info other than the model number on your laptop, and that usually isn't enough info for armchair diagnosis.
But assuming a few things - that this is a software problem and not indeed a problem with the m4 etc -

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/34 ... stall.html <- do a barrel roll/in place repair install.
Mazinger -QX9650@400x9.5/3800mhz -Gig EP45-UD3R -4GB Corsair XMS2 CL5-5-5-15 1100mhz -Sapphire HD6850 900/1100 -OCZ Vertex 3 120GB -WD Black 750GB -Corsair TX650
BSOD -Q6700 -Intel DP43SG -8GB PNY DDR3 -HPT 2640x1 -4x2TB WD Green RAID5 -Seasonic S12-500
thegst
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:13 am
Location: The Safest Big City in America!

Re: Acer 4830t-6642 troubles.

Postposted on Sun Apr 29, 2012 4:20 pm

The one time I saw this same problem it was caused by Windows being installed with the hard drive in IDE/SATA mode and then the BIOS being switched to AHCI after the install. Changing the hard drive mode in the BIOS or a registry fix in safe mode fixed the issue without needing to reinstall. I doubt this is the issue with an OEM laptop, but something to check anyway.
JJCDAD
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:11 pm
Location: Is this heaven? No, it's Iowa.

Re: Acer 4830t-6642 troubles.

Postposted on Sun May 20, 2012 8:36 am

I am sorry for not entering more information about my problem. I just had some register errors with windows and fixed it quite easily. (Hard part was finding my win7 disk)
A little paranoid with the M4 but it has been fine since. Thank you guys for the response. Case Closed!!!
Ancient 1366 chipset and 6GB of RAM oh and 6950
adam1378
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: College Cultural District, Flint


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests