how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sat May 05, 2012 4:39 am

Hi ,

I have installed openSSH server on a win 32 bit server machine.

I am starting a firefox process on the server machine remotely from my PC.The firefox has started.

When I login to the server machine remotely ,I see the firefox process running on the task manager.However I donot see the firefox window.

I want the firefox window started using openssh to be visible on windows.

How can I do it? Pls help
jith912
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 4:33 am

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sat May 05, 2012 10:20 am

A bit of Googling indicates that you may be able to launch the remote process in the appropriate desktop session (rather than in its own, non-visible session) by the use of psexec on the remote machine:

https://www.itefix.no/i2/node/10513

The discussion is somewhat out of order, but the suggestion does look viable. I think you may have to do the remote-desktop login before launching the process, though.

This does look to be an unusually difficult thing to do; I'm not sure Windows is really designed to allow it. (It may be designed to specifically make it difficult, to avoid letting one logged-in user interfere with another.)
Core i7 990X 3.47GHz | 24GB RAM | 512GB SSD (256GB RAID-1) + 8TB (6TB RAID-5) | Radeon HD 6870 | Dell 3008WFP | Obsidian 800D
The Wanderer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Southern Maryland

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sat May 05, 2012 5:13 pm

Remote Desktop is the better tool to use in this case.

Why do you want to access the Windows server via ssh anyway?

@The Wanderer
Windows was never designed to allow this. This works in *ix environments because X Windows was designed to be accessed over a network by a terminal. Remote access in Windows is why RDP exists.
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 12:50 am

Yup, doing what you're trying to do has been made difficult on purpose. The currently logged in session effectively "owns" the desktop; allowing background processes from other users to arbitrarily open up new windows would be a rather large security hole!
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37737
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 2:02 pm

I may have totally misread that. I was thinking he was trying to run GUI processes on the remote server and have the GUI displayed on the local machine via X forwarding in OpenSSH.

There is a command built in to Windows that used to be able to launch GUI applications which would show up on the desktop of the currently logged in user in Win2000/XP days. I'm not sure if that still works for current Windows systems.

If the OP returns and posts a better explanation of the problem, I might share.

[Edited for clarity]
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 3:37 pm

Yup, RDP or VNC and you can potentially throw the VNC through an SSH forwarded port to get it through firewalls and add security.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3736
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 10:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 3:50 pm

notfred wrote:Yup, RDP or VNC and you can potentially throw the VNC through an SSH forwarded port to get it through firewalls and add security.

TBH I would not expose *either* protocol directly to the Internet, given MS's security track record and the inherently rather weak security of the base VNC protocol. I prefer to run both of them through an encrypted tunnel (typically a SSH forwarded port, as you suggest).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37737
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 5:13 pm

I put my SSH and RDP daemons on random high TCP ports instead of the default. If nothing else that will stop the bots.

Haven't tried running RDP though an SSH tunnel.
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3171
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 6:15 pm

just brew it! wrote:
notfred wrote:Yup, RDP or VNC and you can potentially throw the VNC through an SSH forwarded port to get it through firewalls and add security.

TBH I would not expose *either* protocol directly to the Internet, given MS's security track record and the inherently rather weak security of the base VNC protocol. I prefer to run both of them through an encrypted tunnel (typically a SSH forwarded port, as you suggest).

RDP is pretty decent (they started out with 40-bit encryption right off the bat and upgraded to 128-bit fairly early, around early 2000s once the export control was relaxed), except for the latest security bulletin that they patched. I also redirect the RDP port externally to a non-default one, since I do get a few port scan attempts at 3389.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24440
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Sun May 06, 2012 8:11 pm

bthylafh wrote:I put my SSH and RDP daemons on random high TCP ports instead of the default. If nothing else that will stop the bots.

Haven't tried running RDP though an SSH tunnel.

I've been doing it that way for years. Just forward any local port xxxxx thru the firewall at the other end to hostname:3389, and point the RDP viewer at localhost:xxxxx.

Flying Fox wrote:RDP is pretty decent (they started out with 40-bit encryption right off the bat and upgraded to 128-bit fairly early, around early 2000s once the export control was relaxed), except for the latest security bulletin that they patched.

That's good to know. I still feel better exposing as few services to the 'net as possible though; port 80 (HTTP), 443 (if you're running HTTPS), and 22 (SSH) should be all most servers ever need on their public-facing IP. In fact, I would argue that your SSH server should be running on a non-standard port as well (as bthylafh suggests).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37737
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: how to make the openssh processes viewable on windows?

Postposted on Mon May 07, 2012 4:22 pm

just brew it! wrote:Yup, doing what you're trying to do has been made difficult on purpose. The currently logged in session effectively "owns" the desktop; allowing background processes from other users to arbitrarily open up new windows would be a rather large security hole!

Not if it was restricted to the administrator, surely? (Assuming proper least-privilege account configuration, which would be a bad assumption on desktop Windows but hopefully not on a Windows server).

For that matter, if the process had to be launched with the credentials of the user whose session was to be used, that seems like it ought be sufficient authentication to make the whole thing reasonably safe.
Core i7 990X 3.47GHz | 24GB RAM | 512GB SSD (256GB RAID-1) + 8TB (6TB RAID-5) | Radeon HD 6870 | Dell 3008WFP | Obsidian 800D
The Wanderer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:20 pm
Location: Southern Maryland


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest