new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:57 pm

Hey Experts.

I have a general question. I'm having issues with my desktop. If I install a new motherboard, will it require a full reinstallation of my windows 7 setup? Or, can I just remove the old one and plug in the new one?

thanks, dave
Disco
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:06 pm

A mobo replacement should only occur with a complete reinstall. That said, Windows has been getting better at this over the years and you may have no issues. If you just swap and let Windows figure things out on its own, be prepared to reinstall at the first signs of flakiness.
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20100
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:11 pm

OK. I'll keep that in mind. The whole point would be to remove the current 'flakiness' of the system. Thanks Cap'n!
Disco
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 3:50 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:44 pm

For Windows 7 it should work fine but I'd do a few steps before transplanting the motherboard.

1. Take a system image. The system image tool built into the "Backup and Restore" utility will work fine for this.

2. Uninstall drivers for any hardware that won't be on the new motherboard. This includes the video driver if you're moving to a motherboard or processor with a different video chip (e.g. from Sandy Bridge to Ivy Bridge)

3. Update the drivers for any hardware that is the same.

After the motherboard transplant you'll probably need to re-activate Windows which may be a bit problematic if you're running an OEM version.

I've done this on my main system to upgrade to Ivy Bridge and haven't run into any issues (yet).
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Re: new motherboard - require windows reinstall?

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:22 pm

All you need to do is run Sysprep.

WIndows 7 is not Windows XP. It can be migrated to other hardware platforms without issue.

sysprep /generalize /oobe
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Flying Fox, Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests