Router Replacement

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Router Replacement

Postposted on Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:18 pm

My D-Link router is on its last leg and I am looking for a recommendation of a powerful router that will reach all the way from the basement to our 2nd floor since we have a lot of wifi devices. Our house is about 3800 sq ft and we are a family of gamers: 2 xbox 360's, ps3, PC games (GW2), 2 desk tops a lap top...you name it we have it!

Does anyone have a recommendation?
SassySusan
Gerbil
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Router Replacement

Postposted on Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:52 pm

3800 square feet might be too much for any single router. Multi-story house with basement? Eeeek. Might be tough, if not impossible.

If you're willing to tweak, I would look at the Routerboard stuff, but otherwise I would be looking at the Netgear WNDR4500 or Asus RT-N66U. Not sure on the Linksys E4200 V2 (especially if you want aftermarket firmware, at least not yet at this point in time) yet, although it looks solid otherwise.

Smallnetbuilder.com also has excellent reviews, including range.

If budget is a concern-- or you find that there's no way you can cover 3800 square feet of interior walls and whatnot with a single AP, two cheaper ones might work. The older Netgear WNDR3700 v1 or v2, WNDR3800, WNDR4000, Asus RT-N16U or RT-N56U, or the Linksys E4200 original (aka v1) would all work, and I believe you can grab some of these for as low as $80 refurb'ed...

FWIW, I am find that about 2000 square feet on the same floor with interior walls is doable with any of the routers listed, but as you've got double that... I dunno...
continuum
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 1:42 am
Location: California

Re: Router Replacement

Postposted on Wed Jun 27, 2012 8:18 pm

3800 square feet is a lot. MAYBE with a newer router, 802.11n (or 802.11ac...), high dB external antennas, in the geographic middle of your house, with aftermarket firmware providing a powerboost to the wifi, the wind blowing downhill on a sunny day... you can do this, but you may just want to have two midcost routers and find good places in your house to do it.
With something like WDS (wireless distribution system) you don't even have to have the AP/routers hooked up to ethernet, just plugged into a power source, and the routers link up to each other and the internet gateway/rest of the network.
Good luck.
The finest tools are forged from the hottest fires
ShadowEyez
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 12:31 pm

Re: Router Replacement

Postposted on Sat Jun 30, 2012 7:43 pm

Thanks for the responses! Believe it or not I had coverage on the top floor with about 2 to 3 bars of signal strength with the D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit Router that we were using.

When we built the house I should have had it networked but didn't think about it. I think the best place for the router is the main floor in the center of the house, but now I'll have the problem of having cables pulled. Why don't builders think of these things in this day & age?
SassySusan
Gerbil
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:00 pm


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests