.net 3.5 on Windows 7

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

.net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:04 pm

I've been hunting all over and I'm trying to figure out. Does Windows 7 have .net 3.5 bundled with it? Thanks.
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:13 pm

Omniman wrote:I've been hunting all over and I'm trying to figure out. Does Windows 7 have .net 3.5 bundled with it? Thanks.


I don't believe it comes with, but it's downloadable from Microsoft. Most consumer version of windows don't have IIS installed either.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11915
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:44 pm

Yes.

"For Windows 7, .NET Framework 3.5 with SP1 is shipped with it as one of OS component.
For .NET Framework 3.5 with SP1, it includes .NET 2.0 with SP2 and .NET 3.0 with SP2 as prerequisite.
This means, you have the .NET Framework 2.0 SP2, 3.0 SP2 and 3.5 SP1 plus a few post 3.5 SP1 bug fixes on Windows 7. They are OS components. .NET 3.0 SP2 and 3.5 SP1 can be added or removed via the Programs and Features control panel.
Thus, we don't need to manually install them."

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums ... ee3e7d4c7c
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:45 pm

According to this post:
Windows 7 includes the .NET Framework 3.5.1 as an OS component. This means you will get the .NET Framework 2.0 SP2, 3.0 SP2 and 3.5 SP1 plus a few post 3.5 SP1 bug fixes.
nerdrage
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1281
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 2:49 pm
Location: Raleigh/Durham, NC

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:24 pm

Good to know thank you!
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:26 pm

Handy utility: http://www.asoft.be/prod_netver.html

And the screenshot there also shows what version of Windows has what .NET installed by default.
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: .net 3.5 on Windows 7

Postposted on Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:25 pm

Easiest way is to look:

Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off

You'll find it in the list there.
absurdity
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: VT


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests