SLI info.....

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

SLI info.....

Postposted on Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:56 am

I was thinking of looking into trying SLI with 560ti's and wanted to get some info on the process first, like is this psu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817139020 enough to run two gpus? As well as how do I go about setting up other then plugging in the two cards and do the cards have to be the same model / maker?
Taski
Gerbil
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:37 am

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:58 pm

No reply still eh, im mostly tryn to figure out if the 650 psu is enough to safely power everything at this point.
Taski
Gerbil
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:37 am

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:06 pm

Should be just fine. But unless you are resolutions above 1900x1200, its going to be negligible.

Also, I'd make sure you aren't running a really power hungry cpu (that'd be either an AMD or SB-E).
Sony a7
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8 SSM, 24-70/4 SSM
Minolta 17-35/2.8-4 D, 100-300 APO
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 8:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:27 pm

Im running a k10 amd, and im 1920 x 1080 reso, so no go is final verdict?
Taski
Gerbil
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:37 am

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:19 pm

Yea, It wouldn't be worth it for that one monitor. On the other hand, if you plan to go triple monitor, yea... Also, you need to check your motherboard to see if you have two PCI-E X16 slots. 8x lanes each is good enough.

Food for thought.
A fact is a simple statement that everyone believes. It is innocent, unless found guilty. A hypothesis is a novel suggestion that no one wants to believe. It is guilty, until found effective.
Edward Teller
SomeOtherGeek
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Outside somewhere

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:16 pm

SomeOtherGeek wrote:Yea, It wouldn't be worth it for that one monitor. On the other hand, if you plan to go triple monitor, yea... Also, you need to check your motherboard to see if you have two PCI-E X16 slots. 8x lanes each is good enough.

Food for thought.


Kinda lost on your reply, but my mb is x2 16 pci-e slots, and regardless if I use 2 monitors or 1, the main concern was would my psu 650 corsair be enough to handle it. (although 2 monitors is also an interesting factor concern)
Taski
Gerbil
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:37 am

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:09 pm

Taski wrote:Kinda lost on your reply, but my mb is x2 16 pci-e slots, and regardless if I use 2 monitors or 1, the main concern was would my psu 650 corsair be enough to handle it. (although 2 monitors is also an interesting factor concern)


2 or 3 monitors will increase the number of pixels you are pushing. If you are gaming with multiple monitors, THEN it would be worthwhile to go SLI. A 650w PSU would be enough to drive it. The K10... don't see many people refer to it. Which processor is it? If its an 8xxx series, I'd say no. If its the 6xxx series, it would be do-able. There is a 30w difference between them. 125w might be a bit touchy. Typical, unoverclocked and non-448 core 560 Ti's run at 170w each. Figured that'd be 340w for SLI, ad 125w, you are up to 465w without the mobo, storage, or USB drives.

I'd recommend hitting 750w. Should be a nice, safe place to be.
Sony a7
Sony Zeiss 55/1.8 SSM, 24-70/4 SSM
Minolta 17-35/2.8-4 D, 100-300 APO
TheEmrys
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 8:22 pm
Location: Northern Colorado

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:00 pm

TheEmrys wrote:
Taski wrote:Kinda lost on your reply, but my mb is x2 16 pci-e slots, and regardless if I use 2 monitors or 1, the main concern was would my psu 650 corsair be enough to handle it. (although 2 monitors is also an interesting factor concern)


2 or 3 monitors will increase the number of pixels you are pushing. If you are gaming with multiple monitors, THEN it would be worthwhile to go SLI. A 650w PSU would be enough to drive it. The K10... don't see many people refer to it. Which processor is it? If its an 8xxx series, I'd say no. If its the 6xxx series, it would be do-able. There is a 30w difference between them. 125w might be a bit touchy. Typical, unoverclocked and non-448 core 560 Ti's run at 170w each. Figured that'd be 340w for SLI, ad 125w, you are up to 465w without the mobo, storage, or USB drives.

I'd recommend hitting 750w. Should be a nice, safe place to be.


Going with 750w is the easy answer these days, but after CPU and GPU(s), there just isn't much that draws more than small single-digit loads. Assuming he hits 465w with those three components, which itself is a stretch in real use, his total usage is very unlikely to top 500w. At that point 650w is still enough overkill to maintain efficiency and stand the test of slightly reduced efficiency over time.

My recommendation for dual-GPU is 650w in a quiet, efficient package, particularly something that's tested as silent at idle. After that, if you have a windowed or cramped case, consider something modular, but that's far from necessary.
Canon 6D||[24-105/4L IS USM|100/2.8L Macro IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
For sale!|24/2.8 IS USM
|
Airmantharp
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4967
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: SLI info.....

Postposted on Tue Sep 04, 2012 6:07 am

I know a few people who run Crossfire or SLI and they're happy enough with it, but make sure you read this article and watch this video.

Given that the 560Ti is still a popular card, you might consider getting a more powerful card like a GTX670 or an HD7950, and selling the 560Ti to subsidise the purchase. It will be more beneficial to you in the future to have twice the video RAM and more modern hardware.

In addition, you don't have to use another slot, beef up your power supply, account for extra noise and cooling, wait for SLI profiles to become available for new games etc.

I would always choose to sell off older hardware and use that as a budget booster for newer better things, but that's just me. As I said - I know people who are happy with their dual-GPU setups.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1764
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests