Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

How we justify all that high-dollar hardware.

Moderator: Hoser

Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Sat Oct 13, 2012 10:21 am

Ok, I've never seen anything like this before, and I'm hoping someone here will be able to lend a hand. I decided to pull the trigger on a pair of 4gb GTX680s to try to get some better framerates on my 3 monitor setup (there may be some good AMD cards showing up in the BB soon). Since installing them, I noticed BL2 was running in a very choppy fashion. I tried a lot of things with drivers, bios settings, etc., and nothing helped.

I then noticed the gamed only stuttered when I moved the mouse. If I didn't move the mouse at all it ran like a champ, now here's where it gets weird. If I hold down the right button on the mouse, the problem goes away. I first noticed this when zooming in with my weapon, but while troubleshooting the problem I found that clicking the right mouse button made the stutter go away on the character selection screen, so it has nothing to do with the zoom.

I spent about 2 hours all over google last night changing polling rates on my mice tweaking game settings, updating my BIOS and updating drivers with no luck. The problem even persisted through 2 motherboards (although it was the same windows install). Other games seem to run just fine, and from what I saw online this is specifically a Borderlands problem, although it doesn't seem like anyone has a clear solution.

Thoughts?
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Sun Oct 14, 2012 12:32 pm

64 views and no replies, is my problem that fringe?
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Sun Oct 14, 2012 4:23 pm

leor wrote:64 views and no replies, is my problem that fringe?


leor wrote:...pair of 4gb GTX680s...


Yes. Yes, it is.
Molon labe.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:29 am

Have you considered removing one of your graphics cards and just flying solo to see if the problem persists?
If there is one thing a remote-controlled, silent and unseeable surveillance/killing machine needs, it’s more whimsy. -- Marcus
Darkmage
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7376
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:44 am
Location: Hell, Virginia

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:28 am

Darkmage wrote:Have you considered removing one of your graphics cards and just flying solo to see if the problem persists?


Which assumes you haven't tried the blindingly obvious already, and tried another mouse.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:32 am

Step one if possible.
Plug in a different mouse and see if moving it causes the problem to persist.
Step 2 move the mouse to a different USB port.
3 maybe update the mouse driver if it is one that requires software.
Reading on another forum said it could be caused by cpu overclocking or bad driver with even the sound card some how.
SpartanCaptain
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:01 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:36 am

my borderlands 2 gets choppy if i have vsync and smooth mouse enabled at the same time. i have to turn one or the other off.
wirerogue
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: i'm a jackass

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:53 am

I've tried it with vsync and smooth mouse off and off, as well as one on and one off. I swapped the graphics cards in position, tried 2 different mice (one from razer, one from madcatz) in different USB ports, reinstalled their drivers, changed the polling rates and sensitivity settings. I changed the mouse sensitivity in game, and a lot of other goofy things that one might try to do when the conventional options are exhausted. I also tried changing the quality of the in game settings all the way down tot he bottom, no change.

I changed every BIOS option I could think of, one at a time to split test. Please keep in mind this problem persisted through 2 motherboards, and the only thing that changed was moving from AMD to nvidia. I'm not as familiar with nvidia drivers, but I made sure SLI was enabled. I also tried it with SLI off and only using one card, there's some odd nvidia dark magic at work here.
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:49 pm

leor wrote:I've tried it with vsync and smooth mouse off and off, as well as one on and one off. I swapped the graphics cards in position, tried 2 different mice (one from razer, one from madcatz) in different USB ports, reinstalled their drivers, changed the polling rates and sensitivity settings. I changed the mouse sensitivity in game, and a lot of other goofy things that one might try to do when the conventional options are exhausted. I also tried changing the quality of the in game settings all the way down tot he bottom, no change.

I changed every BIOS option I could think of, one at a time to split test. Please keep in mind this problem persisted through 2 motherboards, and the only thing that changed was moving from AMD to nvidia. I'm not as familiar with nvidia drivers, but I made sure SLI was enabled. I also tried it with SLI off and only using one card, there's some odd nvidia dark magic at work here.


Silly question because i know you are old timer, but did you wipe the AMD driver before installing the Nvidia one ?
Last edited by Jigar on Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:42 am

I'm pretty sure less than 0,1 percent of people have ever installed 4 cards of that level of power to get something they wanted.
The game-makers themselves probably never ever tested for it.
I mean, seriously? Doing all that because some game won't work properly on a setup that is quite outragous to begin with?
I'd say leave it be, and try to enjoy the game in normal SLI or whatever.
I7-3770@4ghz, Asus P8H77-M, NVIDIA 780 GTX, 16 gig DDR3-800 Kingston, 1x Samsung 840 EVO 512gb SSD, 2x 3000GB 7200rpm SATA WD Black, Lite-on Blu-ray 16x DVD+-RW, X-fi Titanium HD, Corsair 550D Obsidian.
Asus UX31E with i5 and 256gb SSD.
havanu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:45 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:35 am

Obviously it's not SLI that's the issue, because he tried turning off SLI. Did you even read the thread before you commented?
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:28 am

grantmeaname wrote:Obviously it's not SLI that's the issue, because he tried turning off SLI. Did you even read the thread before you commented?


You're quite right, I missed that step. I just read up to the part where he swiched the cards around, thus assumed Borderlands had been working well BEFORE he installed the extra 3 (or 2 cards...).
Good luck with solving the problem!
I7-3770@4ghz, Asus P8H77-M, NVIDIA 780 GTX, 16 gig DDR3-800 Kingston, 1x Samsung 840 EVO 512gb SSD, 2x 3000GB 7200rpm SATA WD Black, Lite-on Blu-ray 16x DVD+-RW, X-fi Titanium HD, Corsair 550D Obsidian.
Asus UX31E with i5 and 256gb SSD.
havanu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 6:45 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:06 am

Maybe I missed it but during your testing did you disable 2 of your 3 monitors and just run BL2 normally?

Also, I saw that you checked the polling rate of the mouse but did you check the refresh rate of your monitors in the nvidia control panel? Maybe nvidia identified one at a higher/lower refresh rate than your AMD cards did. Make sure they're all set to 60Hz first and work your way up (if your panels are faster than that, that is).

Oh, and this problem only happens in borderlands 2? No other game?
Ryhadar
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:08 am

Only 2 cards in SLI, not sure where the 3rd or 4th came from ;-)

It only happens in Borderlands 2, I haven't checked the refresh rates, ill have a look at that tonight. The monitors are connected using 2 display ports and one DVI, I wonder if that makes a difference...
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:14 am

leor wrote:The monitors are connected using 2 display ports and one DVI, I wonder if that makes a difference...


I had forgotten to ask this so I'm glad you brought it up. I imagine that you would see the problem in other games if it were due to your cable setup but you might see choppiness due to cables if your one DVI cable is plugged into a single-link instead of dual-link port. Anyway, yeah try different cables and definitely only try one monitor if you haven't already.

Other thing you might wanna try is to disable adaptive vsync in the nvidia control panel. It's a new feature that comes with 6 series cards that AMD cards lack so that might just be the culprit.
Ryhadar
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:40 am

Hi guys

System:
i5 2500k Stock and OC'ed
16GB Ram
660TI 2GB

I have exactly the same problem as the OP

Every time I play the game in triple monitor mode it has the exact same mouse problem. If I hold mouse 1 or 2 down and move the mouse it runs fine. If I dont hold it down the whole game freezes to 0fps untill I stop moving the mouse.
I have tried 2 generic optical mice and a logitec G9x and they all have the same problem ( no mouse driver other than the win7 HID). I Also changed the polling rate to 125 and the reg edit for 100dpi. New Drivers/Bios etc etc

When I run the game in 1920x1080 while in triple mode even though my other 2 monitors switch off the mouse problem persists. ONLY when I switch to single monitor mode in windows does the error go away.

Now here where it gets ****ed up I ran it on the 15th after messing around stopping processes in the task manager, hey presto it worked for the rest of the night in 3 monitor mode with 0 problems. Rebooted and the problem came back now for the life of me I can not get it to work again even after stopping all the processes I can in the task manager. STRANGE!

To the OP I would like to ask a few questions:
When you changed from your old ATI cards did your driver still leave a task running in task manager? aticelxx or somthing like that?
Do you have a Drawing tablet like a Bamboo?
Do you have any 3rd party software for your controlers? for example Motionjoy?
What Brand mobo>?
What driver does you mouse have in hardware manager?

The only thing I an see we have in common is going from ATI to NVIDIA
SonOfZion
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:22 am

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:11 am

My friend had this issue with borderlands 1.
Do you guys have that on your computer? If so check and see if the issue is there as well.
To fix it we ended up reinstalling windows. It was not fun.
SpartanCaptain
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:01 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:41 am

Thanks for that SpartanCaptain

This is the very last thing I want to do though as it takes me absolutely forever to get set back up again, I have also seen in one or 2 places on the web that this didnt help a few people.
SonOfZion
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:22 am

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:34 am

If it is Windows 7 you could try to Sysprep the machine. See if a reset of the hardware and services might unstick things. It'll leave your programs intact.

As always, please make a complete PC restore with Windows Backup and Restore before you Sysprep the box.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3547
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:47 pm

Ryu Connor wrote:If it is Windows 7 you could try to Sysprep the machine. See if a reset of the hardware and services might unstick things. It'll leave your programs intact.

As always, please make a complete PC restore with Windows Backup and Restore before you Sysprep the box.


I wonder if this wouldn't be harder than a traditional wipe and reload for the uninitiated?
Canon 6D||[24-105/4L IS USM|100/2.8L Macro IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
For sale!|24/2.8 IS USM
|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5028
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:16 pm

Looking at the task manager, I do see a process called atieclxx.exe which calls itself AMD system manager. I'll disable that process and give it another shot.

Thanks for the sysprep advice Ryu, but I'm thinking of just migrating the whole shebang to Windows 8 on a different drive and doing a gradual transfer. I already have access through my action pack subscription.
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:42 am

Well the clean install method seemed to do the trick, even if it was Windows 8. A really fun part was while installing some software I got a message on the top right of my right hand monitor asking me to "tap here to decide how you want windows to handle this disk."

I opted to click with the mouse rather than poke my Dell u3011.
leor
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 6:34 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:11 am

leor wrote:Well the clean install method seemed to do the trick, even if it was Windows 8. A really fun part was while installing some software I got a message on the top right of my right hand monitor asking me to "tap here to decide how you want windows to handle this disk."

I opted to click with the mouse rather than poke my Dell u3011.

But... what if it worked?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Very weird Borderlands 2 problem

Postposted on Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:52 am

morphine wrote:
leor wrote:Well the clean install method seemed to do the trick, even if it was Windows 8. A really fun part was while installing some software I got a message on the top right of my right hand monitor asking me to "tap here to decide how you want windows to handle this disk."

I opted to click with the mouse rather than poke my Dell u3011.

But... what if it worked?

^ made me actually laugh
SpartanCaptain
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:01 pm


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests