Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Laptops, PDAs, Cell Phones, and all other tech that you carry with you.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo, David

Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Postposted on Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:23 am

I have a HTC One S running Trickdroid 8.1 that always randomly reboots after some time while connected to the internet. When it's not connected to th internet, it behaves perfectly. How do I go about finding more information, other than blindly asking around on xda-developers?
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Postposted on Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:53 am

Crayon Shin Chan wrote:I have a HTC One S running Trickdroid 8.1 that always randomly reboots after some time while connected to the internet. When it's not connected to th internet, it behaves perfectly. How do I go about finding more information, other than blindly asking around on xda-developers?


A logcat is the first step. You have to know what you're looking for though.

I don't know how stable that rom is though. Have you considered one of the more "namebrand" ones like CM10 or AOKP?

e: A fresh wipe and install is always a good idea too.
i7 860 - GA-P55-USB3 - 8GiB - HD7850 - SSD - 3.64TB HDD - Xonar D1 - U2410 - Win7 Pro x64.
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Postposted on Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:18 am

I have this program that prints out the logcat, but it seems every little event gets into the logcat, and I don't know how to look at the "last" logcat. I must use adb instead, right? Is this logcat located somewhere in /var/log?

I guess I can survive another /data wipe...

I'm on Trickdroid because CM10 has issues with the radio, 3G not coming up intermittently, and WiFI not reconnecting (I must disable and enable it again for it to connect). Plus the stock CM10 camera plain sucks, and in order to go back to the stock ROM, I have to relock the bootloader or something, which I'm not about to do.
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Postposted on Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:15 am

Crayon Shin Chan wrote:I guess I can survive another /data wipe...

I'm on Trickdroid because CM10 has issues with the radio, 3G not coming up intermittently, and WiFI not reconnecting (I must disable and enable it again for it to connect). Plus the stock CM10 camera plain sucks, and in order to go back to the stock ROM, I have to relock the bootloader or something, which I'm not about to do.


When you wipe before installing a ROM, I wipe everything. That way I make sure problems aren't caused by old stuff.

I wipe:

/factory reset - which includes
-/data
-/cache
-/android.secure

/system - located in mounts and storage on CWM

/dalvik - located in advanced on CWM
i7 860 - GA-P55-USB3 - 8GiB - HD7850 - SSD - 3.64TB HDD - Xonar D1 - U2410 - Win7 Pro x64.
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Troubleshooting random Android reboots

Postposted on Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:21 am

Are you using the ROM for the "correct" version of the One S? Some regions (like North America) got the Snapdragon S4 version, and others got basically a dressed-up Sensation or Amaze 4G (particularly in Asia), with a Snapdragon S3. The difference is denoted by being either an HTC Ville (which is the S4) or HTC Ville-C (which is the S3 version).

http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/16/htc- ... per-one-s/

All the HTC Sensation Sense 4 custom ROMs are based on the Ville C's 4.0.4, so I know it's out there somewhere.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21255
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?


Return to Mobile Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests