Raid-0 trim support

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:15 pm

Hi. If you are not aware, users on anandtech's storage forums have found a bios modification that enables trim for raid-0 platforms that previously were not supported by intel. Its a fairly interesting thread but trim has been documented to be working on h55, p67, and z68 systems so far by several users. It confirms what was previously surmised by several reviewers that there is no logical reason that these platforms could not support trim in Raid-o outside of intel wanting to make everyone upgrade to new stuff and not wanting to do validation testing.

Cheers.
i7 2600k @4.4 ghz 1.26v - GA-P67X-UD3 - 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz - Evga Geforce GTX 570 - 2x 120gb Vertex 3 Raid-0 - Seagate Barracude 1.5TB - Silverstone FT02- HP 2709M Monitor
Sunburn74
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:20 am

Got a link?
-Playing shooters on a console is like doing brain surgery with an ice-cream scoop-
Jon
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 964
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: -Canada-

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:35 am

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread. ... ?t=2281849

Its a long thread but here are the critical links:

http://www.win-lite.de/wbb/board208-spe ... 697dbc3a77
This link lists the updated roms for the p67 and the z68 boards

This link tells you what to do with the updated rom and how to modify your bios with it
http://www.win-lite.de/wbb/board208-spe ... ward-bios/

You may or may not have to recreate your raid. Most people it seems don't have to recreate the array. Just complete the flash.
i7 2600k @4.4 ghz 1.26v - GA-P67X-UD3 - 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz - Evga Geforce GTX 570 - 2x 120gb Vertex 3 Raid-0 - Seagate Barracude 1.5TB - Silverstone FT02- HP 2709M Monitor
Sunburn74
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:24 am

Thank you for posting this!
I modded my bios for my gigabyte z68 board to include the newest intel IRST orom but now i'm going to go ahead and mod it again so it can get trim for my pair of M4s!
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:01 am

No problem. Yeah it appears quite obvious to the really smart guys who figured out how exactly intel was locking them out thats its a matter of changing a couple of hex codes from 0 to 1 for the p67 and z68 raid controllers, but leaving htem on for the newer chipsets essentially.

For all asus motherboards, modified bioses that unlock trim support are easily downloadable if you sort through the thread. For everyone else, you'll have to modify your own bios (which takes about 5-10 minutes maybe less).


http://www.overclock.net/t/1244232/dl-a ... d-raid-rom
This link had already posted modified bioses for all asus's motherboards to include trim support.
i7 2600k @4.4 ghz 1.26v - GA-P67X-UD3 - 16gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz - Evga Geforce GTX 570 - 2x 120gb Vertex 3 Raid-0 - Seagate Barracude 1.5TB - Silverstone FT02- HP 2709M Monitor
Sunburn74
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:43 am

Heh, that brings back memories. I don't think I've messed around with modded BIOSes since the K6-x days (getting Socket 7 desktop motherboards to recognize the K6-x+ mobile CPUs).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36922
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:27 am

finally got around to try this out. Using winhex, I can confirm that TRIM is indeed working on my SSD raid 0 setup!

Specs:

Gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
crucial m4 256gig x 2 in RAID 0 (512gig totall)
F8 bios with IRST OROM 11.6.0.1702 mod
IRST Driver 11.6.0.1030
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:33 am

RAID 0 = stupidity

RAID 0 and SSDs = epic stupidity

Outside of epenis scores, it does little to improve actual IO performance unless you got an application that demands IO bandwidth above all else (not games or mainstream applications), while you increasing the risk of losing your data.
Ivy Bridge i5-3570K@4.0Ghz, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, 2x4GiB of PC-12800, EVGA 660Ti, Corsair CX-600 and Fractal Refined R4 (W). Kentsfield Q6600@3Ghz, HD 4850 2x2GiB PC2-6400, Gigabyte EP45-DS4P, OCZ Modstream 700W, and PC-7B.
Krogoth
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4381
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 2:20 pm
Location: somewhere on Core Prime

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:17 am

Krogoth wrote:RAID 0 = stupidity

RAID 0 and SSDs = epic stupidity

Outside of epenis scores, it does little to improve actual IO performance unless you got an application that demands IO bandwidth above all else (not games or mainstream applications), while you increasing the risk of losing your data.


Thanks for the intelligent comment. I work with 4k uncompressed frames at about 1200 frames per sequence. Don't get me started on the number of layers. You do the math. ;)

Speaking of penis, I actually run my SSDs in RAID0 so I can watch 27 porn videos on my 30" monitor all at once, not for work.
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:21 am

vandy wrote:
Krogoth wrote:RAID 0 = stupidity

RAID 0 and SSDs = epic stupidity

Outside of epenis scores, it does little to improve actual IO performance unless you got an application that demands IO bandwidth above all else (not games or mainstream applications), while you increasing the risk of losing your data.
Thanks for the intelligent comment. I work with 4k uncompressed frames at about 1200 frames per sequence. Don't get me started on the number of layers. You do the math. ;)

Speaking of penis, I actually run my SSDs in RAID0 so I can watch 27 porn videos on my 30" monitor all at once, not for work.

Ignore Krogoth, he's our resident doom/gloom guy; thinks he knows everything.

If you're just using this array as ultra-fast scratch for DV processing, it's OK. Just don't use it for anything archival.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:37 am

Captain Ned wrote:If you're just using this array as ultra-fast scratch for DV processing, it's OK. Just don't use it for anything archival.


Absolutely. I learned that the hard way 10 years ago. Lost a lot of family photos...

My current setup consists of a SSD as system/program drive, SSD RAID 0 for scratch. The SSD RAID gets mirrored onto another HDD every 6 hours.
Production server has 8x 2TB RAID 6 for live projects.
A few months ago I built a 6x 2TB NAS running NAS4FREE + ZFS RAIDZ1 strictly for archival.
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:53 pm

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:55 am

vandy wrote:Lost a lot of family photos...

BTDT. There's a stack of bare drives in static baggies and a bare drive caddy on a shelf to make sure it doesn't happen again. Don't need spinning backup, so I let the drives sit in their baggies 'til I need them.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19773
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Raid-0 trim support

Postposted on Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:20 pm

I looked into this for my slightly older P5Q Deluxe, based on the P45 chipset - no go for RAID-0 trim support. The intel orom module for 11.X series is 120k in size, while the 10.1 and lower series is 80k. Using mmtool or similiar utilities to try to flash the 120k orom into the bios file does not work, and the bios won't boot the system (I speak from hands-on experience here...)

I've read in some of the forms that some other P45 boards work and even some of the other asus P5Q series boards. Unfortunatley, mine will forever be without trim on my raid-0. The solution (intel loves this) is to get another board - likley a haswell when they come out...?
The finest tools are forged from the hottest fires
ShadowEyez
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:31 am


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests