Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development work?

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development work?

Postposted on Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:18 pm

Hi Folks,

I have recently acquired 2x24 inch 1920x1200 monitors. I want to add them my machine that already has 2x22 inch 1680x1050 monitors. What combination of graphics cards do I need to make this work? This is a purely work computer that I use for development and I will not be doing any gaming on it. However, I do need some hardware acceleration for desktop composition.

My current setup
HP Z400 Workstation (motherboard has two PCI-E 16x and two PCI-e 8x Connectors)
1x Quadro NVS295 -> Two Display Ports -> 2x22 inch 1670x1050 monitors.

What I think I need
Get 2x GeForce 210 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 @ $24.99 and put one on each of the two X16 PCIE slots.

This should give 4 DVI ports across the two cards.

Now for the questions:
-Will this work under Windows 8?
-Do I need to do anything special with the drivers to get this to work?
-Can I even mix and match ATI and NVIDIA cards on the same system?
-if I want to "future-proof" it even further, can I stick in 4 of the above cards (2 in the x16 slots and 2 in the x8 slots) and have access to 8 monitors?

Thanks,

Sid
Last edited by sid1089 on Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero
sid1089
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:56 am

Re: Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development wo

Postposted on Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:30 pm

sid1089 wrote:
  1. Will this work under Windows 8?
  2. Do I need to do anything special with the drivers to get this to work?
  3. Can I even mix and match ATI and NVIDIA cards on the same system?
  4. if I want to "future-proof" it even further, can I stick in 4 of the above cards (2 in the x16 slots and 2 in the x8 slots) and have access to 8 monitors?


  1. Yes.
  2. No.
  3. Yes.
  4. You could.

They are cards that can do up to six outputs on their own, but the price point you've listed put them out of reach best I can tell. They'd also require DisplayPort, which would appear to be a second issue.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3558
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development wo

Postposted on Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:32 pm

You can drive more than just two monitors per card. Under Windows 7 or 8 you can mix and match graphics cards and monitors. Some of the information in this other thread may be helpful.


$130 -10MIR Radeon HD7770 1GB (HIS model iCooler H777F1G2M) o $123 Radeon HD7750 1GB (HIS model H775QNT1G2M) include 1 dual-link DVI, 1 HDMI and two mini-DisplayPort outputs on a relatively inexpensive graphics card.

Monitor 1 uses a DVI cable.
Monitor 2 uses an HDMI to DVI cable for $5 or $10.

Monitors 3 & 4 will require mini-DisplayPort to DVI active adapters for $25 or $30.
In another thread, I wrote:If your monitors have only DVI and no DisplayPort input, you will definitely want some Active mini-DisplayPort to DVI adapters. This one is single-link DVI, so it's only good up to 1920x1200 @60Hz.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812200944
http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-MDP2 ... 527&sr=8-1

If your monitors are higher resolution than 1920x1200 each, you'll need a dual-link DVI adapter, which is more expensive.
http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B087B-003J ... 795&sr=8-1
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development wo

Postposted on Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:48 am

Thanks for the replies, folks. I greatly appreciate it.

I did look at the 7770. It is good card, no doubt. However, it is a tad over my budget. Additionally, my PSU doesn't have a 6 pin power connector. So I would also have to purchase a PSU if I went for the 7770.

Thanks again!
sid1089
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:56 am

Re: Graphics cards for quad monitor setup for development wo

Postposted on Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:49 am

sid1089 wrote:I did look at the 7770. It is good card, no doubt. However, it is a tad over my budget. Additionally, my PSU doesn't have a 6 pin power connector. So I would also have to purchase a PSU if I went for the 7770.
If your PSU can supply enough amps over the 12V rails, you can just use an adapter that combines 2 4-pin molex connectors to that 6-pin thing.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24486
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests