SSD help

All things storage here: hard drives, DVD RW drives, little wicker baskets.

Moderators: morphine, Steel

SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:31 pm

I'm trying to clone from my HDD to my SSD using acronis true image. When it goes to restart it says secure boot violation. What does that mean and how can I get past it?

I'm running Windows 8 64-bit, pre-installed from Dell.
Dell Inspirion 530 Q6600 /4GB ram / 500GBHDD / Radeon HD7570 / Vista64 / 350W PSU
Dell XPS 8500 i7 3770 / 8GB ram /Corsair Force GT 120/ 2TB /Gigabyte GTX660 2GB Windforce/ 460W PSU / Win8
greenmystik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:36 pm

Use your Windows DVD to repair the boot sector or alternatively disable secure boot.

This is a pitfall of sector based imaging with boot protections.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:49 pm

The OS is pre-installed from Dell. I wonder if the OP has the Windows DVD?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24357
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:54 pm

It did not come with a Recovery CD. I have to purchase that for a fee, which kinda pissed me off. So I'm trying to clone it instead.
Dell Inspirion 530 Q6600 /4GB ram / 500GBHDD / Radeon HD7570 / Vista64 / 350W PSU
Dell XPS 8500 i7 3770 / 8GB ram /Corsair Force GT 120/ 2TB /Gigabyte GTX660 2GB Windforce/ 460W PSU / Win8
greenmystik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:10 pm

You need to go into the BIOS and disable Secure Boot then.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37632
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:40 pm

Thanx for the help. I disabled secure boot and it worked fine. Always fun when the simple things frustrate me. :oops:

Another question now. It now lists my SSD a the C: drive and the HDD as D:. Does that mean the SSD is the primary boot now? I know these are probably simple questions, but I'm new this and pretty much learning on the fly. I appreciate the patience.
Last edited by greenmystik on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dell Inspirion 530 Q6600 /4GB ram / 500GBHDD / Radeon HD7570 / Vista64 / 350W PSU
Dell XPS 8500 i7 3770 / 8GB ram /Corsair Force GT 120/ 2TB /Gigabyte GTX660 2GB Windforce/ 460W PSU / Win8
greenmystik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:44 pm

you likely have the ability to create a recovery disk once booted (have not looked at that on Win8 yet). you should burn that ASAP.
Arvald
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:57 pm

If I put my paranoid hat on I will disconnect the HDD and then see if the SSD boots, just a thought.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24357
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:31 pm

Flying Fox wrote:If I put my paranoid hat on I will disconnect the HDD and then see if the SSD boots, just a thought.

Still doesn't tell you whether it is booting from the SSD when the HDD is plugged in (assuming he intends to leave it there and eventually reformat it as a data drive).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37632
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:45 pm

Got it. Acronis automatically made my SSD the primary boot. So now everything is working as it should. Again, thanx for the help
Dell Inspirion 530 Q6600 /4GB ram / 500GBHDD / Radeon HD7570 / Vista64 / 350W PSU
Dell XPS 8500 i7 3770 / 8GB ram /Corsair Force GT 120/ 2TB /Gigabyte GTX660 2GB Windforce/ 460W PSU / Win8
greenmystik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 2:47 pm

Does it boot much quicker? Do programs load much quicker? It's booting from the SSD.

Does it boot at the same speed as before? Do programs load just as slowly? It's booting from the HDD.

:D

[edit: ah, beat me while I was looking at the old computers thread!]
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:29 pm

If you need a Windows disk, Microsoft Technet has a downloads page where you can download whatever build you like for a 90-day trial (Win7, XP, etc.) and then just burn that ISO to a DVD. You can then use this disk for system repairs and such without getting to the license key portion. If you want to do a full load, just enter a valid license key.
Azza Helios||Hyper Type-R 580W||ASUS M4A79XTD||Phenom II X4 955||ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B||4GB G.SKILL DDR3 1600||Corsair Force GT 120GB||2x WD 1TB Caviar Black||HT Omega Striker 7.1||PowerColor HD4870 512MB||Win7 Pro x64

3.48GHz 30/52C||1640MHz 8-8-8-24 2T
paulsz28
Gerbil
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 7:10 pm

Re: SSD help

Postposted on Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:46 pm

Scrotos wrote:Does it boot much quicker? Do programs load much quicker? It's booting from the SSD.

Does it boot at the same speed as before? Do programs load just as slowly? It's booting from the HDD.

:D

[edit: ah, beat me while I was looking at the old computers thread!]


It was a new computer to start so the boot times were already great, but with the programs ive been installing and running its been crazy quick, nothing has taken more than 2 seconds to install and run. It's great.
Dell Inspirion 530 Q6600 /4GB ram / 500GBHDD / Radeon HD7570 / Vista64 / 350W PSU
Dell XPS 8500 i7 3770 / 8GB ram /Corsair Force GT 120/ 2TB /Gigabyte GTX660 2GB Windforce/ 460W PSU / Win8
greenmystik
Gerbil
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:20 pm


Return to Storage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests