Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:17 pm

I want to remove old HD and replace with a new SSD on a ACER Aspire 5552-5898 Laptop. Acer never gave me a Windows 7 Disc. How do I (Clean) reinstall Windows 7 on this laptop after I swap the HD's? Thank you in advance for any advise!!! : 8)
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:32 pm

You really don't have to reinstall especially the hardware is exactly the same (except the drive). There are cloning tools or migration steps (imagex) that you can use to migrate from HDD to SSD.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:43 pm

If you have a product key you can download an official Win7 ISO direct from MS, burn it to a DVD and install/activate.
I don't watch commercials.
drfish
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: Zeeland, MI

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:53 pm

If I Have a OEM Windows 7 Disc can I use it with the activation Key from the Acer Laptop to install windows 7???
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:21 pm

If your Acer is set up similar to my 1810TZ, then the system disk has a couple hidden partitions for recovery files. Doing a clean install on a new disk will lose these. Unless your current OS install is completely hosed, you will be back up and running much faster if you run a disk clone using imaging software.
He who laughs last, laughs first next time.
ludi
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5320
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 9:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:34 pm

I know this sounds stupid so here goes. Can I clone my old HD onto the new SSD ( I have a docking station that fits 2.5) Than just take the old hard Drive out and replace with the SSD that has been cloned?? Boot it up and everything should work?? :oops:
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:48 pm

This is one of many threads that talk about migration. I have meant to write one up using imagex, but I have been procrastinating... :oops:
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:16 pm

djf711 wrote:I know this sounds stupid so here goes. Can I clone my old HD onto the new SSD ( I have a docking station that fits 2.5) Than just take the old hard Drive out and replace with the SSD that has been cloned?? Boot it up and everything should work?? :oops:

Pretty much. Just pay careful attention to which drive is designated "source" (the HDD) and which one is designated "destination" (the SSD) before actually going through with the image transfer.
He who laughs last, laughs first next time.
ludi
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5320
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 9:47 pm
Location: Sunny Colorado front range

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:49 am

Thank You for all your help!!! Cloned the SSD and installed today!! Works like a charm!!!! :D David (You all make my life SOOOO much simpler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)) LOVE the TECH REPORT!!!!
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:18 am

djf711 wrote:Thank You for all your help!!! Cloned the SSD and installed today!! Works like a charm!!!! :D David (You all make my life SOOOO much simpler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)) LOVE the TECH REPORT!!!!

Which tool did you end up using?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24141
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:37 am

Newegg had a sale this week on 120GB Kingston Hyper X Bundle Kit for $99. In the package came SSD, External Enclosure, Sata Cable, Mounting Bracket, Nice Little Pen Screwdriver and Disc with cloning software. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820239049) The Cloning software is Acronis® True Image HD. Was a very simple process!!! :P David

NOW FOR A ANOTHER ???? I have taken out the old 500gb HD and want to use as an extra external HD. When I plug it into the computer it shows 2 Drives from this HD in MY Computer ex. Drive I: ACER 456GB Free of 456GB, Drive L: System Reserved 86.2MB Free of 99.9MB . I formatted Acer 456GB Now how do I get rid of the System Reserved attached to this drive???? Thank You in advance!!! David
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:06 pm

In computer management (Right click My Computer> Manage), go to Disk Management. You'll see the drive layout and that drive with the extra partition. Just right click and remove the partition, you should then be able to extend the bigger one to fill the space.
mac_h8r1.postCount++;
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return.
Slivovitz owns you.
mac_h8r1
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2960
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Alpha Epsilon Pi for life

Re: Swapping SSD for HD in Acer Aspire Laptop

Postposted on Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:10 pm

mac_h8r1 wrote:In computer management (Right click My Computer> Manage), go to Disk Management. You'll see the drive layout and that drive with the extra partition. Just right click and remove the partition, you should then be able to extend the bigger one to fill the space.




Thank You!!!! WORKED!!!
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], genericbrand and 5 guests