How do I invoke "auto refresh" in a File Mgr Display?

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

How do I invoke "auto refresh" in a File Mgr Display?

Postposted on Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:57 am

Okay, I noticed this behavior back in Windows 7 (maybe it even did it in Vista, I don't remember).

But on occasion, when a backup job is running (I'm testing Macrium Reflect via the trial), I can see the filesize increment, as if somebody or something is hitting F5 in the display of the backups' target folder.

Other times, I have to repeatedly hit the refresh button or I have to press F5 myself, because the refresh doesn't happen on its own.

Question: I like the auto-refresh. Where can I learn more about it and/or how to turn it on/off for all folders?
BIF
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:41 pm

Re: How do I invoke "auto refresh" in a File Mgr Display?

Postposted on Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:17 am

nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: How do I invoke "auto refresh" in a File Mgr Display?

Postposted on Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:38 am

Yeah, that is a 50-mile long thread about moving and copying.

In my case, it's just when I'm watching the right pane in a File Manager display. The backup file being updated will sometimes auto-update its size every second or three, without me pressing F5 or clicking on the refresh button.

Other times, nothing. I must manually press F5 or refresh to see the file size increment.

Obviously, this really only applies to very large files as they're being written, such as backup images from Acronis or Macrium or another backup tool, or maybe as an ISO file is being transferred, copied, or pasted.
BIF
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:41 pm

Re: How do I invoke "auto refresh" in a File Mgr Display?

Postposted on Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:59 am

This disconnect usually occurs due to process separation caused by least privilege.

In other words if you run a program using UAC, then try to watch what that program is doing with a windows/file explorer window, you won't see a real time update due to the two tasks running with different privileges.

Run a program using your standard rights and then view it with standard rights and you see proper updates.

There's no fix for this, it's by design. It's not a bug and that's not a lead in for a feature joke either.

Well, I suppose there is one fix for it, but it's a poison pill and a security weakness.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests