Advise please

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Advise please

Postposted on Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:26 am

Ok here is my problem..i have had farcry 3 for a month now and have not played it. So i installed the geforce EXP beta deal and right off the bat it detected the latest driver for my 560ti sli setup, so i let the latest drivers install. well i fired up farcry3 and was playing for about 45 minutes and my screen lost its signal....no picture:(
So i powered down the system and rebooted and the bios splash screen came up along with drive detection etc, then the windows is starting up screen came up and right when it would come to where i would put in my password the screen does a slight flicker and again looses the video signal. :evil:

It will boot into safe mode with networking. So i did that and uninstalled gforce exp beta along with the nvidia drivers, and every nvidia folder i could find on the 4 Hard drives in the rig i deleted..i could have missed a couple. Also uninstalled a older MSI afterburner program also...just in case.
Then i logged in as administrator and ran driver sweeper and cleaned out everything Nvidia.
I rebooted and the system started up fine with no video drivers, but it automatically found and installed the latest drivers and asked for a reboot. I rebooted and once again the bios splash screen came up along with drive detection etc, then the windows is starting up screen came up and right when it would come to where i would put in my password the screen does a slight flicker and again looses the video signal.
Before i start yanking video cards "in case one of them died" i was wondering if anyone has any ideas that might help me get my video signal back.
Many thanks ahead of time.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:19 am

You have to do the same thing in safe mod, but you gotta delete the video drivers installers. They usually unpack in C;/Nvidia/ folder.

Otherwise when you reboot, windows will search for the drivers in your hard drive and it will automatically choose the ones you have.

I think you can also prevent Windows from automatically installing drivers, ah yes, here it is:
1. Click the start button
2. In the search type "change device installation settings"

From there you can manage yourself.

Edit
After the black screen occurs, do you see an error pop-up on the taskbar saying something like "The video driver bla bla bla"?
If so, see item 1 in my signiture.
nVidia video drivers FAIL, click for more info
Disclaimer: All answers and suggestions are provided by an enthusiastic amateur and are therefore without warranty either explicit or implicit. Basically you use my suggestions at your own risk.
Arclight
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:50 am

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:45 am

No task bar message Arc...ill try removing more nvidia stuff in safe mode and disable the installer for now....but its gonna have to wait. Slept for like 2 hrs.....coffee time. Coffee Coffee Coffee :o
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:10 pm

Hi Vargis:

I'm AMD at the moment, so it doesn't matter, but upon reading this, my first question was what version of drivers, and my second question is whether or not there might be a "use beta drivers" option checked.

So I'm posing the questions just in case...
BIF
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 7:41 pm

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:44 am

Well i was using the latest MS certified drivers when the problem happened. so after many safe mode driver uninstallations and many driver sweeper attempts the same thing would occur as in my previous posts.

So i removed both cards and sapped the slave to primary card...but only put a single card in and it fired right up no problem at all. Then I shut down and installed the secondary slave card "formerly primary" for sli and she fired right up.
Then i ran 3dmark 11 in SLI stock clocks and scored 9085 points...so she seems to be working normally. For now...keep fingers crossed :D

As for the Gforce EXP beta I will not be using it.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:49 pm

After many hours of farcry3 with almost every setting at ultra everything is back to normal, cased closed.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:11 pm

Glad to hear it's sorted.

SLI or Crossfire are junk. I'm glad to be back on single GPUs and will never double up on them until they can prove they're as reliable, hassle-free and as fast as a single GPU.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1787
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: Advise please

Postposted on Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:58 am

I have had very good luck with SLI/Crossfire even back to my voodoo 2 8mb SLI setup with my p2 300mhz. Even my x1800xt crossfire setup with the dedicated master card and regular card along with the weird output mounted dongle that connected them together worked great.

As for my 560ti Sli setup I have had this one hiccup in almost 2 years.....comparing one 560 card to SLI 560s I will take SLI. But i do not play every game under the sun so perhaps that is why i do not have complaints. As for scaling 560s scale quite good. When i built this rig 2 560TI's ate up a 580 that i could not afford. Plus i was planning on doing 3D vision so i needed the extra HP. Still want that new 27" asus lightboost monitor I just cannot afford it. I had to replace my 2 old dell HD zino HTPC's not that long ago with 2 sandy based i3 2120 systems and i wanted them way more then the 3d monitor.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests