IE10 for Windows 7 released

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:22 am

Link

Hit Windows Update/Microsoft Update for the new browser.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:36 am

Nice!

I got tired of waiting for the final release so I downloaded the beta months ago. Been super stable and never had any issues with it at all. Off to download now. Thanks!
Venii, vidii, vicii
Wii came, Wii saw , Wii conquered
Sargent Duck
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:05 pm
Location: In my secret cave that has bats

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:53 am

It's about time!Although, I will only use it sporadically but I'm curious to see it on Windows 7 compared to 8.
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:00 am

I'm almost ready to give IE 10 a try given how much faster it is than Chrome on my Win8 (Atom) tablet. :o
TR BBQ ~XI~ has come and gone but you can relive it by checking out this gallery!
drfish
Maximum Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4514
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: Zeeland, MI

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:12 pm

The only optional update available for me (Win 7 HP 64-bit w/ SP1) is the Bing Desktop, and I don't believe that I want that. Google did find this page, though:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/inte ... -languages
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15412
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 7:26 pm

Danbooru is broken in IE10, so it's a no-go for me.

Maxthon supports rendering with Webkit or Trident, so the slow speed of older Trident engine isn't really a problem for me anyway.
i5-3570K @ 4.4 (NH-C14), 4x8GB DDR3-1866, GA-Z68MA-D3H-B2, ASUS GTXTITAN-6GD5, 128GB Vertex 4 / 2x60GB Vertex Plus R2 / 2x2TB Barracuda 7200.14 RAID0 / ANS-9010 (4x4GB), SST-DA1000 (PSU), 2x VS229H-P, 1x VG248QE, 1x MIMO 720F, Corsair Vengeance K90+M95
auxy
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: the armpit of Texas

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:10 pm

auxy wrote:Danbooru is broken in IE10, so it's a no-go for me.

If that's what I found when I Googled it... *ahem*. :wink: Well, it seems to work OK in Chrome unless I'm missing something.

If there are other features of IE10 you find useful, it might be worthwhile to install it anyway, and have another browser for sites that don't "play nice" with it?
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37676
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:19 pm

just brew it! wrote:If that's what I found when I Googled it... *ahem*. :wink: Well, it seems to work OK in Chrome unless I'm missing something.
I-it's not what you think! (。 >艸<) It's just a site that catalogues anime/manga fanart. It happens to include a bunch of adult art, but that's just a coincidence; you can filter it all out by searching rating:safe or using safebooru. It works fine in Webkit and it mostly works in IE10, but certain parts of it (picture notes) don't.
just brew it! wrote:If there are other features of IE10 you find useful, it might be worthwhile to install it anyway, and have another browser for sites that don't "play nice" with it?
Um, well, I mean, I don't really have any feature of it I found useful. I actually removed it -- as much as one can do without hacking Windows apart, which is uninstalling it from the add/remove Windows components dialog -- from my install.
i5-3570K @ 4.4 (NH-C14), 4x8GB DDR3-1866, GA-Z68MA-D3H-B2, ASUS GTXTITAN-6GD5, 128GB Vertex 4 / 2x60GB Vertex Plus R2 / 2x2TB Barracuda 7200.14 RAID0 / ANS-9010 (4x4GB), SST-DA1000 (PSU), 2x VS229H-P, 1x VG248QE, 1x MIMO 720F, Corsair Vengeance K90+M95
auxy
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: the armpit of Texas

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:22 pm

Since upgrading my system to IE10, occasionally the fonts are messed up in Firefox. It seems that the ClearType is randomly corrupted on some text (not disabled, but wrong). If you highlight the text or if it changes due to JavaScript or something similar it instantly fixes itself. Scrolling the page does not fix it.

I'm running Firefox 19, and it was fine until I installed IE10, so I think they messed around with the subpixel rendering algorithms. I don't remember if Firefox uses their own or if they use MS's, but Firefox seems to be the only program affected so far. Crazy annoying, though.

Anybody else had similar issues? I have two other Win7 x64 systems I'd like to upgrade to IE10 (it fixes some MS enterprise software), but I'm going to hold off until the rendering issue is resolved.
Dieter
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:51 am

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:26 pm

Dieter wrote:Anybody else had similar issues? I have two other Win7 x64 systems I'd like to upgrade to IE10 (it fixes some MS enterprise software), but I'm going to hold off until the rendering issue is resolved.
Maybe you should give a new browser a try? Maxthon Cloud Browser is a great lesser-known browser that supports both Webkit and Trident (IE) rendering engines. It's free (gratis, not libre), lightning-fast and supports all the latest web technology doohickeys. (・∀・)
i5-3570K @ 4.4 (NH-C14), 4x8GB DDR3-1866, GA-Z68MA-D3H-B2, ASUS GTXTITAN-6GD5, 128GB Vertex 4 / 2x60GB Vertex Plus R2 / 2x2TB Barracuda 7200.14 RAID0 / ANS-9010 (4x4GB), SST-DA1000 (PSU), 2x VS229H-P, 1x VG248QE, 1x MIMO 720F, Corsair Vengeance K90+M95
auxy
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: the armpit of Texas

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:41 pm

Dieter wrote:Since upgrading my system to IE10, occasionally the fonts are messed up in Firefox. It seems that the ClearType is randomly corrupted on some text (not disabled, but wrong). If you highlight the text or if it changes due to JavaScript or something similar it instantly fixes itself. Scrolling the page does not fix it.

I'm running Firefox 19, and it was fine until I installed IE10, so I think they messed around with the subpixel rendering algorithms. I don't remember if Firefox uses their own or if they use MS's, but Firefox seems to be the only program affected so far. Crazy annoying, though.

Anybody else had similar issues? I have two other Win7 x64 systems I'd like to upgrade to IE10 (it fixes some MS enterprise software), but I'm going to hold off until the rendering issue is resolved.


https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=812695 ? Known issue, no proper fix yet...
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1881
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:45 pm

JohnC wrote:https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=812695 ? Known issue, no proper fix yet...
So helpful! (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

I wish you could +1 people on the forums.
i5-3570K @ 4.4 (NH-C14), 4x8GB DDR3-1866, GA-Z68MA-D3H-B2, ASUS GTXTITAN-6GD5, 128GB Vertex 4 / 2x60GB Vertex Plus R2 / 2x2TB Barracuda 7200.14 RAID0 / ANS-9010 (4x4GB), SST-DA1000 (PSU), 2x VS229H-P, 1x VG248QE, 1x MIMO 720F, Corsair Vengeance K90+M95
auxy
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: the armpit of Texas

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:07 pm

IE10 for Windows 7 required a Platform Update to work.

When you installed IE10 you got the platform update and the following items were updated:

  • Direct2D
  • DirectWrite
  • Direct3D
  • Windows Imaging Component (WIC)
  • Windows Advanced Rasterization Platform (WARP)
  • Windows Animation Manager (WAM)
  • XPS Document API
  • H.264 Video Decoder
  • JPEG XR codec
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:08 pm

JohnC wrote:https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=812695 ? Known issue, no proper fix yet...


Yes, thank you!! Nice to know that I haven't gone (too) crazy!

Really hope they get this resolved soon, though. Major annoyance, and some text is unreadable.
Dieter
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:51 am

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:18 pm

auxy wrote:
just brew it! wrote:If there are other features of IE10 you find useful, it might be worthwhile to install it anyway, and have another browser for sites that don't "play nice" with it?

Um, well, I mean, I don't really have any feature of it I found useful. I actually removed it -- as much as one can do without hacking Windows apart, which is uninstalling it from the add/remove Windows components dialog -- from my install.

No problem, I haven't even tried IE10 yet myself (being primarily a Linux user). :lol:

Will probably load it on my Win7 VM at some point, just to see what's up. :wink:
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37676
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:22 pm

auxy wrote:Maybe you should give a new browser a try? Maxthon Cloud Browser is a great lesser-known browser that supports both Webkit and Trident (IE) rendering engines. It's free (gratis, not libre), lightning-fast and supports all the latest web technology doohickeys. (・∀・)


It sounds familiar, and I want to say I tried it a long time ago (if I'm thinking of the same thing. The name certainly is unique). I only use IE as a necessary evil for corporate apps or some corporate banks. Otherwise, I'm quite content with FF + noscript, adblock, flashblock, etc. The awesome bar suits me well, and I like that I can customize the interface. I also run Chrome, but mostly for our internal ticketing system, and I don't find that its plugins work as effectively as FF and I don't like the interface. I also used to try Opera at almost every major release, but the interface drove me nuts and slowed me way down. Safari is just blah for me and I see no reason to use it.

I'm certainly willing to try new things, but I feel they have to provide more benefit than loss, and so far -- for me, at least -- nothing comes close to Firefox.

Thanks for the suggestion!
Dieter
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:51 am

Re: IE10 for Windows 7 released

Postposted on Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 pm

Dieter wrote:It sounds familiar, and I want to say I tried it a long time ago (if I'm thinking of the same thing. The name certainly is unique).
Hehe, you probably did. Maxthon before version 3 was simply another front-end for Internet Explorer, as it was strictly Trident-engine. It was basically a Firefox clone with the IE renderer. Maxthon 3 brought WebKit, and a whole host of other enhancements, and the newest version, now called "cloud browser", brings even more, such as the ability to link your Maxthon account to their cloud to backup your bookmarks and stuff (ala Chrome Sync.)
Dieter wrote:I only use IE as a necessary evil for corporate apps or some corporate banks.
Yap. That's why I like how I can swap to Trident for troublesome sites with Maxthon. The history mentioned above is the reason it has that capability. °˖✧◝(⁰▿⁰)◜✧˖°
i5-3570K @ 4.4 (NH-C14), 4x8GB DDR3-1866, GA-Z68MA-D3H-B2, ASUS GTXTITAN-6GD5, 128GB Vertex 4 / 2x60GB Vertex Plus R2 / 2x2TB Barracuda 7200.14 RAID0 / ANS-9010 (4x4GB), SST-DA1000 (PSU), 2x VS229H-P, 1x VG248QE, 1x MIMO 720F, Corsair Vengeance K90+M95
auxy
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: the armpit of Texas


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests