Home Network

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

Home Network

Postposted on Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:33 pm

I didn't want to hijack Druidcent's thread from a couple of weeks ago, but I have a similar question.

I just bought a new house too. It's a 2 story, about 2100 square feet.

As much as I would like to wire it up with Ethernet cables, I'm just not sure I want to go through all the trouble.

I currently use an old draft-n router (WRT300n). I'm considering upgrading to maybe something like the Asus RT-N66U, which is currently $163 at Newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833320091

No heavy file tranfers. Mostly just streaming Netflix and such.

Is this Asus router a good option? Any comments or suggestions?

Thanks for any help.
Corsair 650D | Corsair AX750 | MSI XPower Big Bang X58 | Intel i7-950 | Corsair Hydro Series H80i | MSI GTX670 OC PE | 12gb GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | WD Caviar Black 1TB w/ Win 7 64-bit | MS Reclusa Keyboard | Logitech MX518 | Asus VW246H & VW224U
RickyTick
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:31 pm

I have heard mostly positive reviews on ASUS routers... mostly people tend to comment that they are simple to configure (sometimes a little too simple) but that model even states it has DD-WRT support.

I don't see how you can go wrong.

As for wiring up a house I do prefer wire over wireless for my main machines. I went wireless for 3-4 years and when I went back to wired it was night and day (latencies gone, odd slow downs gone, connection flakiness gone). I went through wireless G, G 108, N150 and N300 in those years, nothing compared to my current Gb wired.

Side note I currently have/use a Belkin http://www.belkin.com/us/F9K1113-Belkin/p/P-F9K1113 my only complaint is lack of configuring options.
Arvald
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:55 pm

Feel free to hijack any of my threads :) As long as it's relevant...

I have the Asus RT-N65U which I think is just about the same except no Wireless-ac support.. It's a great router and has enough tweaking options that you wouldn't need DD-WRT or Tomato anyway.. :)
druidcent
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 7:55 pm
Location: Earth, Sol, Milky Way

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:04 pm

RickyTick wrote:I didn't want to hijack Druidcent's thread from a couple of weeks ago, but I have a similar question.

I just bought a new house too. It's a 2 story, about 2100 square feet.

As much as I would like to wire it up with Ethernet cables, I'm just not sure I want to go through all the trouble.

I currently use an old draft-n router (WRT300n). I'm considering upgrading to maybe something like the Asus RT-N66U, which is currently $163 at Newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6833320091

No heavy file tranfers. Mostly just streaming Netflix and such.

Is this Asus router a good option? Any comments or suggestions?

Thanks for any help.


I've owned a lot of routers in my life and I can honestly say that the RT-N66U thumps them all.... drastically. Don't waste your money on anything else and the very first thing you do is grab one of Merlins builds of the firmware for it.

http://www.lostrealm.ca/tower/node/80
Deanjo
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:31 am

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:17 pm

Deanjo wrote:I've owned a lot of routers in my life and I can honestly say that the RT-N66U thumps them all.... drastically. Don't waste your money on anything else and the very first thing you do is grab one of Merlins builds of the firmware for it.
http://www.lostrealm.ca/tower/node/80


I know wireless may not be quite as good as wired, but can this router be close enough to suffice?
Corsair 650D | Corsair AX750 | MSI XPower Big Bang X58 | Intel i7-950 | Corsair Hydro Series H80i | MSI GTX670 OC PE | 12gb GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | WD Caviar Black 1TB w/ Win 7 64-bit | MS Reclusa Keyboard | Logitech MX518 | Asus VW246H & VW224U
RickyTick
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:16 am

Well to answer that is more complex than just a yes/no.

You need to look at your range, what obstacles (walls, floors), interferance (other WiFi networks, microwave ovens), band you will be operating in (2.4GHz vs 5GHz, or both)

for a decent wireless router, it sounds like a great one. the rest is your environmental.
Over all I think you would be very happy with it for what you are planning to do.
Arvald
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:46 am

Oh, and another thing.. if you use an Asus Wireless NIC (either USB or internal), it's got some technology to connect to both the 2.4 and 5G which will jack up your wireless speeds upto 750-900 Mbps... I forget what they call it...
druidcent
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 7:55 pm
Location: Earth, Sol, Milky Way

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Mon Mar 18, 2013 1:46 pm

@Arvald
Just a basic house with the usual obstacles, sheet-rock, wood floors, etc. I don't have any interference like cordless phones or baby monitors, so it's all fairly basic. I was just wanting to avoid wiring the house with ethernet. If I can get away with wireless, that's the route I'm taking. My main pc will be the only thing hard wired.

@druidcent
Thanks for the tip. All the devices in the house already have a wireless card, in fact, I think they are all 802.11n.
Corsair 650D | Corsair AX750 | MSI XPower Big Bang X58 | Intel i7-950 | Corsair Hydro Series H80i | MSI GTX670 OC PE | 12gb GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | WD Caviar Black 1TB w/ Win 7 64-bit | MS Reclusa Keyboard | Logitech MX518 | Asus VW246H & VW224U
RickyTick
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:29 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:10 pm

I own the N66U, it's the best performing consumer-grade WiFi router right now in terms of range and speed over WiFi. Of course, it's not "perfect" - I still have issues with some mobile devices in one of the rooms, But we have a very large 3-story house and my router's location is not optimal. Just make sure to place it properly (preferrably towards the middle area of your house and preferrably mounted on the wall high above the floor) and you should have no issues with its range or signal strength. Also, make sure to get latest firmware for it - the latest "official" one works fine (perfectly stable with all my devices), no need for any custom firmwares (although they do exist).
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 1:41 pm

I have a Dlink DIR-655 h/w ver A4, f/w ver 1.21? It works pretty well, usually goes 6 months or longer before I give it a reboot.

However it is circa 2008 now and I am considering the N66U, basically for the IPv6 future proofing. Just wondering if IPv6 works well on the N66U and if it's worth the money over the DIR-655??
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 2:36 pm

RT-N66U does have a support for IPv6, however I cannot test it because Verizon has abandoned plans for expanding it to other areas...
Just buy it at whatever place that allows easy returns, test it out, see how it works.
My subscription allows you people to exist on this site and makes me a better human being than you'll ever be
JohnC
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1888
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: NY/NJ/FL

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 2:42 pm

When it comes to routers I just gave up on finding a better one for this house. You might consider a wireless range extender instead (I bought the cheapest dual band one and it worked.)

http://www.newegg.com/Wireless-Range-Ex ... ?Tid=17195
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 2:49 pm

anotherengineer wrote: I have a Dlink DIR-655 h/w ver A4, f/w ver 1.21? It works pretty well, usually goes 6 months or longer before I give it a reboot.
However it is circa 2008 now and I am considering the N66U, basically for the IPv6 future proofing. Just wondering if IPv6 works well on the N66U and if it's worth the money over the DIR-655??

I used to use one with h/w version A and switched to B about two years ago. The version B supports IPv6. BTW: Mine, A or B did/does not require such periodical reboot. The problem of your DIR655 may be resolved by updating the F/W.
churin
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Atlanta/U.S.A.

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 3:40 pm

Try Powerline (homeplug) as a way of getting decent, reliable bandwidth around a large house

I find that 5GHz n and even 802.11ac to really struggle at range where 2.4GHz was reliable (albeit slow)
One way I've worked wonders in a larger house was to use powerline to link a wireless access point at the other end of the house to the main router.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 5:10 pm

Thanks. Staples has it on sale for 140. I reboot my 655 once or twice a year just to reset things, not cause it really needs it. Also even on low transmit power I still get 3 bars on wireless on the 2nd story, while the router is in the basement, and 4-5(max) on the main floor. I see the rev B dlink supports ipv6, also quite a bit cheaper at about $70.

decisions, decisions.......
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:39 pm

What does the current one not do that you want it to?
Z68XP-UD4 | 2700K @ 4.7 GHz | 16 GB | GTX 780 | PCP&C Silencer 950 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 / X3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | HAF 932 | 480 GB Extreme Pro
Waco
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 767
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: Home Network

Postposted on Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:11 pm

Waco wrote:What does the current one not do that you want it to?


IPv6 and can't run open source firmware both of which I guess don't matter since it does it's job well.
Life doesn't change after marriage, it changes after children!
anotherengineer
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Timmins, ON Canada, Yes I know, Up in the sticks


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests