How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

The network is the forum.

Moderators: Steel, notfred

How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 5:35 pm

I have to do a cable run where I can't go inside the walls, so I'm wanting to wiremold/raceway the cables. I will need to run 8 cables, and I really don't want to have to do two separate sets of wiremold. I see where most places max out at 1.75" wide wiremold, will this fit 8 cat6 cables? This stuff's expensive, I don't want to order 100 feet of it just to find out I need another 100 because it won't fit.
YOU CAN RUPTURE SOMEONE'S SPLEEN WITH A WATER BALLOON!!!!
idchafee
His Holy Gerbilness
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 13832
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 7:39 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:06 pm

Depends on the depth mate. I just tried this for you in 1.75" across raceway, an inch deep. Five cables across, three cables deep for fifteen total. If you squeeze, sixteen:

Image

I hope this is what you meant mate. At least in 1.75" across, you have room for five runs. If you can squeeze another one in height-wise, you're golden :)
i7 3770, H220, 16GB, Max. V Formula, GTX 690, 512GB 840 Pro, 4x 1TB, GT1050-SW, Phantom 530, Aivia Osmium, Aivia Krypton, Z-906, HP LP3065
juzz86
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:37 am
Location: Australia

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:07 pm

According to this horribly-long link, PVC Wiremold 2300 is rated for 6 CAT-6 cables @ 40% fill. You should have no problems with 8.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q= ... 2I&cad=rja
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:11 pm

The only thing I would want to know is if you need to push the cables through the pipe. if you do and the cables already have plugs crimped then you may have a space issue. If you are going to make your own cables etc. then you should be fine at that size. I typically use 2" pvc for this kind of thing (pipe is hidden) and while assembling the pipe I put it together with some smooth rope installed to help run cables through it. (rope needs to be twice the length of the pipe.)
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:20 pm

No, I'll be punching down into a patch panel on one end and a wall jack on the other. So it looks like I can use the 1.75" as long as its deep enough. That stuff that Ned linked to is insane
YOU CAN RUPTURE SOMEONE'S SPLEEN WITH A WATER BALLOON!!!!
idchafee
His Holy Gerbilness
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 13832
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 7:39 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:25 pm

idchafee wrote:That stuff that Ned linked to is insane

That's what you get when you Google "Wiremold Ethernet Capacity".
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:32 pm

Captain Ned wrote:
idchafee wrote:That stuff that Ned linked to is insane

That's what you get when you Google "Wiremold Ethernet Capacity".


Our IT guys could do with a few lessons on spacing Ned, that's for sure. We're in an old building that's had a recent extension built on as a laboratory, with at least ten new cat6 runs for instruments. They're just in the old raceway, straight over the top of the exiting cat5 ones, packed in ridiculously tight. There's actually eighteen runs, so I was being kinda generous with OP.

We've got two new instruments going in before EoY, so I'm very interested to see what they do.
i7 3770, H220, 16GB, Max. V Formula, GTX 690, 512GB 840 Pro, 4x 1TB, GT1050-SW, Phantom 530, Aivia Osmium, Aivia Krypton, Z-906, HP LP3065
juzz86
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:37 am
Location: Australia

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:59 pm

I use the 2300 series all the time but I always run an assortment of cables through it, never tried 8 cat6 but I'm pretty sure it will work fine. I have some at work and I can verify it for you tomorrow.

If you think you'll ever, ever, ever take it off the wall then don't use the sticky backing. Just screw it to the wall if there's a chance you'll be removing it.
Tachyonic Karma: Future decisions traveling backwards in time to smite you now.
Convert
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:47 am

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:28 pm

juzz86 wrote:We've got two new instruments going in before EoY, so I'm very interested to see what they do.

If it's like anywhere else I've ever been they'll avoid the raceway and just string it through the suspended ceiling with a hook here and there, or just let it lay on the ceiling tiles. Teflon-coated plenum-rated CAT 6 is pure evil.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:08 am

Captain Ned wrote:
juzz86 wrote:We've got two new instruments going in before EoY, so I'm very interested to see what they do.

If it's like anywhere else I've ever been they'll avoid the raceway and just string it through the suspended ceiling with a hook here and there, or just let it lay on the ceiling tiles. Teflon-coated plenum-rated CAT 6 is pure evil.


Aye. The old analog signal cables (two-core telephone cable) all lay up there, dormant now except for one pair running an old Liquid Chromatograph. It's a mess, but it could be fixed pretty easily with, as you say, a few hooks and some cable ties. I get the feeling I may be looking after these ones, so I'll keep that plan in mind - thankyou :)
i7 3770, H220, 16GB, Max. V Formula, GTX 690, 512GB 840 Pro, 4x 1TB, GT1050-SW, Phantom 530, Aivia Osmium, Aivia Krypton, Z-906, HP LP3065
juzz86
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:37 am
Location: Australia

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:24 am

juzz86 wrote:Aye. The old analog signal cables (two-core telephone cable) all lay up there, dormant now except for one pair running an old Liquid Chromatograph.

I started in the biz running RG-59 coax from an IBM mainframe room to old-style 3270 terminals (FFS, those things are heavy). The suspended ceiling in the computer room (complete with raised floor and all of the other accoutrements) wasn't so suspended given the hundreds of RG-59 links pouring out of the ceiling to the I/O box.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:44 am

Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Here!

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:25 am

Just verified with some 2300 I had at work. 8 cat6 cables will fit perfectly; you can then lay in 7 more on top (nestled between the cracks) for a pretty tight fit.
Tachyonic Karma: Future decisions traveling backwards in time to smite you now.
Convert
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:47 am

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:40 am

Convert wrote:Just verified with some 2300 I had at work. 8 cat6 cables will fit perfectly; you can then lay in 7 more on top (nestled between the cracks) for a pretty tight fit.

Reading the specs they're worried about a temperature rise in CAT 6, thus the 40% fill standard. Must be PoE is more prevalent than I surmised.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:10 pm

Captain Ned wrote:Must be PoE is more prevalent than I surmised.
An IP phone on every desk in a business setting.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3647
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:30 pm

notfred wrote:
Captain Ned wrote:Must be PoE is more prevalent than I surmised.
An IP phone on every desk in a business setting.

That would do it. IP phones are still slow on the uptake here in VT.
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:01 pm

Captain Ned wrote:
notfred wrote:
Captain Ned wrote:Must be PoE is more prevalent than I surmised.
An IP phone on every desk in a business setting.

That would do it. IP phones are still slow on the uptake here in VT.

Isn't VT high tech bits of string rather than cat6 :D
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3647
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:29 pm

notfred wrote:Isn't VT high tech bits of string rather than cat6 :D

More like suction tube maple sap tech. There's miles of that stuff out in the woods (and it is networking, in a fashion).
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19739
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:38 pm

drsauced wrote:I'm just so full of useless information:

http://www.cabling-design.com/interaction/tips/19Apr20041.shtml


rofl at the models in the banner picture in that link.
MadManOriginal
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1364
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: In my head...

Re: How many cat6 cables can I jam in a 1.75" wiremold?

Postposted on Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:05 pm

MadManOriginal wrote:
drsauced wrote:I'm just so full of useless information:

http://www.cabling-design.com/interaction/tips/19Apr20041.shtml


rofl at the models in the banner picture in that link.


Ha! I know, I was hoping somebody would spot that... there must be a meme somewhere
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner.
drsauced
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Here!


Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests