SGI computer case

Enclosures, modding, blowholes, and the power needed to run it all.

Moderators: Nemesis, SpotTheCat

SGI computer case

Postposted on Sun Jun 02, 2002 9:42 pm

I was thinking about modding an SGI case and wanted to know if it is possible to use a standard motherboard or power supply in them? There are two that I have seen that I like a lot which are the O2 and Octane computers. Does anyone know a good place to get just the case itself?
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:02 pm

Being the "proud" owner of a pair of SGI machines, I can say that you would have a good bit of work in front of you. You would probably have the best luck with an Octane since they are pretty big. To do anything with a O2, you'd have to use a mATX board.
SecretSquirrel
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Colony, TX (Dallas suburb)

Postposted on Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:37 pm

Ok so the Octane sounds good. What about the power supply and drives? Would those be a problem?
dolemitecomputers
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2605
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Utah

Postposted on Mon Jun 03, 2002 8:23 pm

A while back, a guy was modding a old Next cube, had to do everything from scratch. Think in that realm. I doubt you will be able to use a standard ATX PS without cutting and hacking. As for drive, the Octane used SCSI drives on a special SGI carrier. If you don't mind SCSI and get a case with the carrier, you should be able to use that just fine.
SecretSquirrel
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Colony, TX (Dallas suburb)


Return to Cases and Power Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests