Budget SFF

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

Budget SFF

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:28 pm

ok, basically, i need to get a system for cheap (under $350) that's small (SFF preferably). i have a vid card (9600), and a harddrive i can use. but i need the SFF, processor, and ram. what would be the best choice?
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:32 pm

How small are you looking for?

You can always go mATX and save quite a bit of money. Newegg also has a mATX case with a handle on the top.

like this one
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:37 pm

SFF: Shuttle SN41G2 refurb $215

http://www.excaliberpc.com/product_info.php?cPath=213_602&products_id=2843

Processor: Barton 2500 OEM $75.00

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-378&depa=1

RAM: 512 PC3200 $89

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-150-333&depa=1

Total 380, a bit high but you're not going to get a better combo of parts for a SFF box ;)

Edited thanks to Yahoolian who pointed out with a cube you only need an OEM processor ;)
Last edited by HowardDrake on Sun May 09, 2004 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:48 pm

Now take the processor and Ram HowardDrake recommended and put it onto this board and into the case linked earlier and you just saved yourself $100
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:49 pm

Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:50 pm

Nice call on the cube Yahoolian but I'd still prefer the Barton to a 1700 ;)
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 7:56 pm

DivX what will you be using it for? Are you willing to overclock?
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:00 pm

thanks for the quick replys. what about the SK43G? how good is that compared to the 45G2? is it a big enough difference so that the risk with buying a refurb is worth it? (apart from the price diff between the refurb and the 43)
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:03 pm

DivX wrote:thanks for the quick replys. what about the SK43G? how good is that compared to the 45G2? is it a big enough difference so that the risk with buying a refurb is worth it? (apart from the price diff between the refurb and the 43)


The Nforce2 400Ultra chipset is far superior to the KM400 chipset, in terms of performance and overclocking, so I'd say get the refurb SN45G( differences between SN45G and G2 are minor, G version has 400FSB support, G2 only up to 333, but G2 has onboard GF4MX).
Last edited by Yahoolian on Sun May 09, 2004 8:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:03 pm

i do a lot of gaming, and some 3d animation. i'll overclock, but if it can't i don't really care.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:08 pm

typo in my post: i meant the difference between the 45g and 43g. not the 45g and the 45g2
Last edited by DivX on Sun May 09, 2004 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:09 pm

i do a lot of gaming, and some 3d animation.


I'm pretty sure those aren't affected much by cache size, so I'd say save the $15 bucks and go with the Athlon XP 1700+ and overclock it.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:16 pm

in the refurb it doesn't mention a psu, while in (all the cubes) retail versions it lists them. what's with that?
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun May 09, 2004 8:22 pm

I'm sure it does have the PSU, but it might not have the cables. I think the improved performance of the Barton more than makes up for the 16 bucks you pay for it.
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Fri May 14, 2004 5:02 am

I'm pretty sure those aren't affected much by cache size, so I'd say save the $15 bucks and go with the Athlon XP 1700+ and overclock it.


Im pretty sure the gaming performance increase for getting a 2500+ Barton over a 1700+ is significant (+ a faster fsb??!)

[Edit: Bugger, didnt see HowardDrakes reply ]
MorgZ
<a href="http://www.spindogs.co.uk" title="Web Design in Wales">SpinDogs.co.uk</a>
<img src="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=159349&bg=1" />
MorgZ
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:19 am
Location: Cardiff, Wales (near ENGLAND)

Postposted on Fri May 14, 2004 1:57 pm

Im pretty sure the gaming performance increase for getting a 2500+ Barton over a 1700+ is significant (+ a faster fsb??!)


Additional cache has a small impact on gaming, once you have enough of it.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1783&p=12
AXP 2700+ (256KB cache) vs Athlon XP Barton 3000+( 512KB cache, same clock speed )

UT2003 flyby: Barton 8% faster 215fps vs 199fps
botmatch: 8% faster 75fps vs 70fps

Jedi Knight 2: Barton 4.5% faster 168fps vs 161 fps

Comanche 4: Barton 3.7% faster

I doubt anyone could notice any of the above differences while gaming.

The faster FSB can easily be neutralized by overclocking, and that's probably why the Barton scores higher than the TBred, because of the FSB, not the cache.
Last edited by Yahoolian on Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Fri May 21, 2004 4:40 am

dunno how much stuff costs in US (thought it was usually cheaper :/ )

But i found

Biostar IDEQ 200V Barebones System ~ £100
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Biostar.html

AMD Athlon "Barton" XP2500+ 333FSB ~ £55
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/amd_athlon_xp_barton.html

and 512mb Corsair Value 2700 ~ £73
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Corsair_Value_Select.html

which comes to ~~ £240, which i consider as a bargain
MorgZ
<a href="http://www.spindogs.co.uk" title="Web Design in Wales">SpinDogs.co.uk</a>
<img src="http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/sigs/sigimage.php?u=159349&bg=1" />
MorgZ
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:19 am
Location: Cardiff, Wales (near ENGLAND)

Postposted on Thu Jun 17, 2004 12:42 pm

Yahoolian wrote:Additional cache has a small impact on gaming, once you have enough of it.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1783&p=12
AXP 2700+ (256MB cache) vs Athlon XP Barton 3000+( 512MB cache, same clock speed )


Wow, where can I get one of those 256MB and 512MB cache processors?

:wink:
manilapoo_92
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 12:36 pm

Postposted on Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:02 pm

Yeah, I meant KB.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests