Tualatin Celeron Overclock

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Postposted on Wed Jan 23, 2002 2:51 pm

O.K., I was bored, nothing much new on the AMD Scene, so I thought I would try out one of the new Tualatin Celerons. Intel stealth launched a 1.0A and a 1.1A that looked like a good choice for overclocking. I found a 1.0A for under 80 bucks online, whatta bargain. It was an Intel retail chip, but I didn't use the marginal looking heat sink that was in the box, instead using a tried and true Alpha 6035 with a nice quiet Sunon 23 cfm fan. I stuck the chip in an Asus TUSI-M and set the fsb to 133 mhz. Zango bango, 1333 Mhz. Very stable, great scores on SISoft Sandra CPU - equal to a 1.3 Ghz T-bird. This is a wonderful combo for hard core Intel fans - the version of this chip that Intel labels as a Pentium III 1.26 Ghz sells for 250 bucks. I've yet to see the temperature go above 36C. Lovely overclock!
-The Mad Duke
The Mad Duke
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Hotlanta, GA

Postposted on Wed Jan 23, 2002 3:03 pm

If only my old Asus P2b could handle the 133mhz fsb I would have gotten one of these. Oh well.

Can you take it any higher?
Coldfirex
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Wed Jan 23, 2002 3:27 pm

It was unstable at 140 fsb/1400 mhz. I suspect a little more voltage would help, but that's not an option on this mobo. The 1.0A runs at 1.475 volts, but the 1.3 Celeron runs at 1.5 volts, so a little voltage tweak might be just the ticket.
If you are pressed for funds, the ECS P6S5AT is Tualatin ready for under 50 bucks.
-The Mad Duke
The Mad Duke
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Hotlanta, GA

Postposted on Thu Jan 24, 2002 12:12 am

http://www.overclockers.com/

I see the 1.2 overclocks to 1672 watercooled...very nice. I have a Pentium III 1.2 overclocked to 1467. Sisoft benchmarks beat nonclocked P4 2.0. Locked multiplier is a problem and there is a fix to get the voltage higher at the above site. Some have written that they have both the Celeron and Pentium 1.2. Even though the Celeron could clock higher (12x multi.), it was not as fast as the Pentium III in benchmarks.
x5dr
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Sat Feb 16, 2002 6:38 pm

Sweet.

I just noticed the 1.0A Celery myself and was wondering about this. Thanks much for the info.

-Howard
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Sun Feb 17, 2002 5:05 am

I have a 1,2@1500 on a ST6, it runs resonably stable at 1550(like 6 hours uptime). Cooling is a regular taisol.. it rusn like 49C at full load but i think my taisol might have bad contact or something becouse it feels a lot cooler that it did with my old duron at the same temp, or maybe the heat spreader just sucks. im shure if i could get some more voltage i could run 1600 stable, its at 1.6V now, does anyone know af a bios hack or something? dont feel like soldering on the board...
tarball
Gerbil
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: göteborg, sweden

Postposted on Sun Feb 17, 2002 2:46 pm

Celeron 1.2 Retail will get 1.6Gb w/ABIT ST6.
Short n sweet... Use fine copper wire to cross vid1 and vid2 pins on Tualatin.
Set voltage @ 1.675.
133*12~1600Mhz.
4:4:1
Crucial PC133 still gets CAS2!

BTW, this setup layz waste to my AMD 1.4.
Big fun.
dakar
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Mon Feb 18, 2002 4:06 am

cool, do you have a guide or something?
tarball
Gerbil
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: göteborg, sweden

Postposted on Fri Feb 22, 2002 7:47 pm

Try look at the Celeron 1.0A GHz @ 1.5 GHz Guide @ the xbitlabs.com ~~!
EnDlEsS
Gerbil
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 6:00 pm

Postposted on Sun Feb 24, 2002 9:35 am

I did the vid mod today.. alows me to get 1,8V but i still cant do 1600... i dont think my taisol can cut it any more...
tarball
Gerbil
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: göteborg, sweden

Postposted on Sun Feb 24, 2002 2:44 pm

dakar - at a 200MHz lead I'd damn well hope it does. :smile: Bet my 1533 Pally would put the mighty smack down, still.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7865
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Sun Feb 24, 2002 4:39 pm

but the celly is cheaper, atlest over here
tarball
Gerbil
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: göteborg, sweden

Postposted on Sun Feb 24, 2002 5:04 pm

Athlon XP 1700+ - 109$
Celeron 1.0A - 67$

My 1700+(1466) are running dual at 1800+ (1533), and one will do 2000+(1666) by itself. The Celery will maybe run 1.4 to 1.5.

For 40$, I'll take the 1.5-1.7 range contender over the 1.3-1.5 one, Intel Inside sticker be damned.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7865
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Tue Feb 26, 2002 3:20 pm

oh well.. i paid like twice what you pay for a 1.0A for my 1,2... and for me $40 is like half my montly income... so thats quite alot;) and even at stock speed this thing is damned fast...
tarball
Gerbil
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: göteborg, sweden


Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests