Post your Highest OC'

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:58 am

Post your Highest oc' of all your system/systems

my highest oc was 3.6 due to crappy ram
Last edited by Hance on Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edit to make topic a sticky
Intel P4 3.0 Northwood @ 3.6-Gigabyte GA 8PENXP(beast mobo)-1 gig OCZ gold ram-9800Pro
takeflight21121
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:54 am

I had an Athlon64 go from 1.8 to 2.8...It was a bit unstable but as long as I didnt game for more than 2 hours it was fine. Right now my new CPU is only 600Mhz higher than stock.
Fastfreak39: I feel like they should change the phrase "jumping on the band wagon" to "sailing on the pirate ship"
Philldoe
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2806
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Turn around...

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:12 am

I had:

AMD Athlon 64 3400+ Clawhammer CG going from 2.2Ghz to 2.5Ghz.
X800Pro ViVo @ 550/580 with 16 pipelines enabled


Now Ive:

AMD Opteron 146 going from 2Ghz to 2.92Ghz, but if the CPU would be a bit cooler it could easily go 3Ghz+. So watercooling is coming soon 8).
X1800XT @ 720/820, will be watercooled too 8).
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:35 am

My best overclock is shown in my signature.
P4 Northwood 3.4ghz to its current 3.9ghz.
It seems very fast.Current idle temp is 32C.
Max is about 52C after 30 mins of BF2 with 6xAA and 16xAF.
ps. thats a mean video card O/C Bob.
Fighterpilot
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:29 am
Location: your girlfriend's bedroom...

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:08 am

Fighterpilot wrote:My best overclock is shown in my signature.
P4 Northwood 3.4ghz to its current 3.9ghz.
It seems very fast.Current idle temp is 32C.
Max is about 52C after 30 mins of BF2 with 6xAA and 16xAF.
ps. thats a mean video card O/C Bob.

Thx, its even higher (testing atm, will post later). Temps of your CPU are very good, Northwood is a very good core :wink:. My Opty is max 50 degrees or so, I seriously want some watercooling soon :D. Only thing whats limiting ALL of my OC's are the temps :evil:.
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:31 am

s939 3000+
Post at 2.7
Stable but too much boost to vcore at 2.6
Running for months now at 2.4

OC'ing is a good way to fight off the upgrade bug.
Coran Fixx
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1494
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Hazzard County, MO

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:03 am

My 1998 vintage ATI Xpert@play 8MB RagePro graphics card from 75MHz to 103MHz

and it was still crap :lol:
Fernando!
Your mother ate my dog!
cheesyking
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:52 am
Location: That London (or so I'm told)

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:28 am

winchester 3000+ @ 2.6ghz
mobo couldn't run it stable. I run it at 2.4ghz now so I can lower the voltage from stock.
SpotTheCat
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 12262
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 12:47 am
Location: a regular hole

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:30 am

Celeron 600 to Celeron 675MHz... I had it running at 747MHz but I backed it down because hard drive seemed to have some problems with the 83MHz bus.
Mothership: Thuban 1055T@3.7GHz, 12GB DDR3, M5A99X EVO, GTX470+Icy Vision Rev.2@840/3800, Vertex 2E 60GB
Supply ship: Sargas@2.8GHz, 12GB DDR3, M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Corsair: Macbook Air Ivy Bridge
Crayon Shin Chan
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2250
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Malaysia

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:50 am

Hmm, my current S754 Athlon64 3000 dtr is currently running 2.5ghz, up from 1.8. It'd probably go higher, but I don't want to boost the vcore any more.

My 6800nu is unlocked to 16/6, and oc's to 420/910 (up from 325/700), though I have to dial back to 380/900 in DX games due to throttling.

I had a K6-2+500 @616, and a Voodoo3 2000 at 190 (up from 143)... :)
FlippedGazelle
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 10:02 am
Location: Juuuust a little bit outside

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:00 am

2.66 on a 3400 clawhammer with stock cooling. It would post at 2.72 but more than a bit "loose" :lol:
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:47 am

My X2 4200+ will post at 2.9 but runs so hat that its scary . 2.8 is stable but pretty hot . i just run it at 2.6
Hance
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7641
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 1:58 pm
Location: Grace Idaho

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:10 am

My best overclock is in my sig: an Athlon XP Mobile 35 watt chip that came stock at 1.8 GHz that I overclocked to 2.4 GHz. That's a 2400+ chip running between 3400+ and 3800+. There are no overheating issues, though my cooler is very capable.
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7357
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:16 am

Using my sister's P4P800E deluxe (from newegg) I got a 2.4C P4 to go up to 3.12 on stock cooling.
The world is indeed full of peril. But there is much that is fair. And though in all lands love is mingled with grief, it grows the greater. J. R. R. Tolkien
tesmar
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:18 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:38 am

AXPM 2500 , stock 1.8, overclocked to 2.5 a lil hot but would run fine
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:43 pm

hahaha, I want to put you guys to shame with some meaningless numbers.
Last weekend I set my 3.2e E0 revision to 4.2ghz. with crazy temps of about 80 under load. Needless to say, ive backed down to my normal 3.65.
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:55 pm

P4M 1.8ghz to 3ghz (12X250) it took me 6 processors to find one that would go that high, most will only do 2.4 (12X200) comfortably.
Voltage @1.6V, "things" get out of hand @1.7V (extremely fast temperature rise to the point of meltdown if you aren't fast)
mrfixitx100
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 4:15 am
Location: Canada

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:03 pm

mrfixitx100 wrote:P4M 1.8ghz to 3ghz (12X250) it took me 6 processors to find one that would go that high, most will only do 2.4 (12X200) comfortably.
Voltage @1.6V, "things" get out of hand @1.7V (extremely fast temperature rise to the point of meltdown if you aren't fast)


How did you get ur hand on 6 different cpu's ?
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:33 pm

mph_Ragnarok wrote:
mrfixitx100 wrote:P4M 1.8ghz to 3ghz (12X250) it took me 6 processors to find one that would go that high, most will only do 2.4 (12X200) comfortably.
Voltage @1.6V, "things" get out of hand @1.7V (extremely fast temperature rise to the point of meltdown if you aren't fast)


How did you get ur hand on 6 different cpu's ?

Ehm, by buying? :roll:
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 4:59 pm

S754 Newcastle 3200
Stock: 2.2GHz
OC: 2.5GHz

XP2400
Stock: 2GHz
OC: 2.1GHz.

2x 256MB PC2100 (Crucial and PNY)
Stock: 133MHz - 2.5,3,3,8 - 2.6v
OC: 200MHz - 2.5,3,3,8 - 2.5v

Sapphire 9800 Pro flashed to XT
Stock: 380/340
OC: 470/387

Gainward MX440
Stock: 270/200
OC: 364/278
supraman
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 6:59 am
Location: UK

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:19 pm

Bob Maenhout wrote:
mph_Ragnarok wrote:
mrfixitx100 wrote:P4M 1.8ghz to 3ghz (12X250) it took me 6 processors to find one that would go that high, most will only do 2.4 (12X200) comfortably.
Voltage @1.6V, "things" get out of hand @1.7V (extremely fast temperature rise to the point of meltdown if you aren't fast)


How did you get ur hand on 6 different cpu's ?

Ehm, by buying? :roll:


No **** sherlock. I was thinking he would buy 6 cpu's just to try them out.
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:38 pm

mmhm have you guys ever had a problem where your xp goes to a blue screen when u oc'? because i can't seem to pass the 3.7 barrier? i mean i probably can, but when it's have way to loading 3.7 it just goes to a blue screen, something to do with xp?
Intel P4 3.0 Northwood @ 3.6-Gigabyte GA 8PENXP(beast mobo)-1 gig OCZ gold ram-9800Pro
takeflight21121
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:50 pm

If it crashes at the same point each time then you are probably pushing the memory too far.
supraman
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 6:59 am
Location: UK

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:25 pm

takeflight21121 wrote:mmhm have you guys ever had a problem where your xp goes to a blue screen when u oc'? because i can't seem to pass the 3.7 barrier? i mean i probably can, but when it's have way to loading 3.7 it just goes to a blue screen, something to do with xp?


But with that motherboard, you can do ANYTHING !!!!!
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:01 pm

How did you get ur hand on 6 different cpu's ?

I bought them cheap on EBay, actually I bought 2 and they went well, so I bought 4 more (the most expensive one being $30)

The next challenge was a fan and heatsink, one from a "E" works WELL (the one with the radial design and copper insert), though a conventional P4 heatsink and fan will do the trick @2.4

Mainboards were not a "problem" either, well other than a mis-step with a Gigabyte board that sucked.

Ram, it was the ram that was expensive, getting ram that would go to 250mhz.
mrfixitx100
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2002 4:15 am
Location: Canada

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 7:23 pm

my highest with my A64 3700 is 2.92Ghz 272x11, 1.7Vcore booted into windows not prime stable though, not willing to give anymore Vcore neither

have had it post and try to load windows @ 300x10 3ghz. i think it would make it with more vcore but im on air cooling
DynoRig: Antec 900, Crosshair IV Formula, Phenom II X4 B60, 2gb KVR 1333Mhz, Radeon HD 5770 Vapor-X
64Gb Kingston SSD Now V, 400Gb Hitatchi Deskstar, Hauppage HVR1100 DVBT TV tuner, Broadcom Wireless, OCZ StealthXtreme 600w, Win7 x64
Dyn0mutt
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:23 pm

mrfixitx100 wrote:How did you get ur hand on 6 different cpu's ?

I bought them cheap on EBay, actually I bought 2 and they went well, so I bought 4 more (the most expensive one being $30)

The next challenge was a fan and heatsink, one from a "E" works WELL (the one with the radial design and copper insert), though a conventional P4 heatsink and fan will do the trick @2.4

Mainboards were not a "problem" either, well other than a mis-step with a Gigabyte board that sucked.

Ram, it was the ram that was expensive, getting ram that would go to 250mhz.


Well, if you were going for pure cpu speed, you could have turned down the memory divider. Saved some money on ram that way ;)

What did you do with the other 5 cpu's ? seems like good deal . 6 cpu's for 160 bux ? about ?
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:26 pm

Intel P4 2.4 to 3.4. All on air, still going strong @ that speed two+ years later.

Everything else, I tend to be happy with 20% and leave it at that. I have a few 2500 (1833) Bartons running @ 3200 (2200). I'm PUI so my mathematics might be off, but that is 1/5th or 20%, right?
Last edited by Looking for Knowledge on Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Probably PUI. Definitely an كافر
Looking for Knowledge
Emperor Gerbilius I
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 6947
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 11:31 am
Location: AM's underground complex

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:29 pm

Looking for Knowledge wrote:Intel P4 2.4 to 3.4. All on air, still going strong @ that speed two+ years later.

Everything else, I tend to be happy with 20% and leave it at that. For example, I have a few 2.5 Bartons running @ 3.0. I'm PUI so my mathematics might be off, but that is 1/5th or 20%, right?



Your math is A-OK
GACKT ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Dual nehalem Xeon e5520 / 16 GB DDR3 / GTX 280
mph_Ragnarok
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Jan 06, 2006 8:55 pm

I've got my Athlon X2 4400+ running at 2.64GHz. She'll run at 2.75, but she's not too stable at that speed when gaming.
My 7800GTX's run stable with core@495MHz/mem@1.28GHz.
Defend your right to arm bears!
OsakaJ
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2002 9:39 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Next

Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests