No sound out rear speakers

The place to sound off on all things related to audio, from sound cards to speakers.

Moderator: Captain Ned

No sound out rear speakers

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:24 am

This started after i updated my onboard sound drivers. I'm using a MSI NForce4 motherboard with Realtek AC97 audio. It is 8 channel surround sound. The speakers I have are Logitech X-530. It is a 5.1 setup. I have hooked the tv up to the speaker to test and make sure that they are not broken and they work fine. I also have updated all the newest drivers from realtek but it is still the same. Should I wait until there are new drivers from realtek? Thanks again!
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:29 am

I'm not familiar with Realtek's drivers, but go through all the software and settings and make sure that all the speakers are turned on, the volume for everything is turned up and nothing is muted. Also make sure the balance is even between front and rear speakers. Make sure any jacks with a dual use are set to speakers, not microphone, or whatever. Check this stuff in the Realtek drivers and in Windows' sound settings.
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7282
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:37 am

its prolly the windows
i had it one time where i updated the creative drivers, the speakers would only output 2 channels and even tho 5 speakers wuz selected in creative speaker settings, the windows wasnt enabled for 5.1 once i did that it was all gravy
it scared me too cuz a few min before that happen i heard a loud boom, but that was outside but i didnt notice till i got it fixed
2_tyma
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:25 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:40 am

Well MSI has some wierd sound mixer that was the problem. It would keep setting my speakers in 2 speaker configuration, even if I put it in 5.1 in Vista sound panel. If i do a test all speakers work, but if I listen to music it only comes out the front 3. Maybe that is just Windows Media Player :-?
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:47 am

Are you sure sound is coming out of the center channel? Have you enabled the surround option in the media player? And why would you purposely ruin good stereo music by turning it to 5.1? :lol:
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:54 am

I can't find the surround sound option in WMP. :evil: Heck I can't even find the sound option.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 12:16 pm

its not in media player its in control panel
2_tyma
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:25 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:17 pm

I was thinking SRS. I thought there was a surround option in there.

Anyway, are you sure there's audio coming out of the center speaker? It could be the phantom speaker.

Have you tried other media players?
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:48 pm

No, what other media players would you suggest?
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:23 pm

winamp :D
2_tyma
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:25 pm

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:28 pm

foobar 2000
There are people that embrace the Oxford comma and people who don't. Never get between these people when drink has been taken. I use the Oxford comma and always will. The rest can sod off.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 19734
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Postposted on Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:28 pm

titan wrote:Are you sure sound is coming out of the center channel? Have you enabled the surround option in the media player? And why would you purposely ruin good stereo music by turning it to 5.1? :lol:

Copying front-to-back speakers (not to full 5.1) sounds just fine.
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9859
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 7:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Postposted on Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:20 am

While gaming i now have 5.1 surrond, only in some games and WMP is only have 2 speakers.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Postposted on Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:08 am

:lol:

It's working as it's supposed to man... you only get 5.1 sound when playing 5.1 content, which many games and most music don't have.

What you probably can do to help is see if your sound card control panel has something that lets you copy 2-channel sound to 4 speakers.
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9859
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 7:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Postposted on Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:24 am

Or see if your speakers will do Stereo x2. Mine do, but they're a bit different from your setup. I know the X-540 do 5.1 Matrix, do the X-530's have something similar?
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Postposted on Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:37 am

CMSS ftw! :wink:
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21240
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 3:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

realtek on vista, 5.1

Postposted on Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:58 pm

Yes same problem exactly and i'm watiing for drivers...
ubalay
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:56 pm

Postposted on Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:17 pm

Me too, been configuring, one of my problems was some MSi sound pael messing around. I just have tro make dure i enable 5.1 in all my games.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm

Solution i got from realtek

Postposted on Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:33 am

download the latest realtek audio manager, plug in your rear speakers, say that their side speakers, enable dts.
ubalay
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:56 pm

Postposted on Wed Oct 24, 2007 5:18 pm

Sorry kind of forgot thread. Realtek released a new driver not long ago. So it stays set as 5.1 in Vista Sound Control and I have to make sure I set it 5.1 in games that support it. Other than that they have been working great.
AMD Phenom II X4 840|Foxconn 780V|EVGA GTX660|4GB DDR 800|WD SE-16|NZXT 210|Corsair CX400|M-Audio BX8a Deluxe
GeForce6200
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 4:08 pm


Return to Echo Vale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests