Server maintenance this weekend

Notices, forum rules, FAQs, and other things of a critical nature.

Moderator: Kevin

Server maintenance this weekend

Postposted on Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:55 am

We're working on the servers this weekend, and you can probably expect some down time as a result. Shouldn't last too terribly long, but it's unavoidable.
Scott Wasson - "Damage"
Editor - The Tech Report
Damage
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

Postposted on Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:00 pm

I noticed , hopefully the opties are doing fine
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:11 pm

OMG!!!! No TR!!!!

*gouges out eyes*

*huddles in the corner*

The end of the world is coming.

LOL!
"I used to think the brain was the most amazing organ in the entire body. Then I realized who was telling me this."
If ignorance were painful, half the posters here would be on morphine drips.
zgirl
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3928
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The dark side of the moon

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:15 pm

well that was disorienting. :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:20 pm

What happened to the theme? It's switched over to some sucky fixed-width thing that wastes most of my screen real estate.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:26 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:What happened to the theme? It's switched over to some sucky fixed-width thing that wastes most of my screen real estate.

seems intentional (not Damage himself, but the first post I could find...:lol:)
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:33 pm

When they fubar'ed subSky to use a fixed width, they also re-introduced the bug where hyper-links are invisible (like this).

WS Darkblue still doesn't work properly. Quoted text is white on white, for example.

subSilver shows hyperlinks, but it's also been wrecked to use only a fixed narrow portion of my screen. :(

I was okay with changes to the main site web page. I didn't know that there were plans to mess up my ability to read the forums.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:40 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:What happened to the theme? It's switched over to some sucky fixed-width thing that wastes most of my screen real estate.

Yeah, it's terrible... squeezed down to like 1/3rd of the horizontal width of my browser. Bleh. I can choose between a theme that hurts my eyes or one that is squished.
bitvector
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:39 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:45 pm

It looks like the crappy fixed width is about 960 pixels. My monitor is 2560 pixels wide. I have not owned a 1024x768 display since 1993. :(
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:49 pm

Scott, could you widen the width to where you had it before?
heruur
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: City 17

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:49 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:It looks like the crappy fixed width is about 960 pixels. My monitor is 2560 pixels wide.

Yep, same here. :(
bitvector
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:39 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:04 pm

OMG , this sucks
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2929
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:06 pm

Ummm....something needs to be done regarding the size of the left column with usernames and such in it and the length of allowed "location" text. idchafee's (first one I noticed) posts are all now fairly gigantic to give it enough space.
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:07 pm

SNM wrote:Ummm....something needs to be done regarding the size of the left column with usernames and such in it and the length of allowed "location" text. idchafee's (first one I noticed) posts are all now fairly gigantic to give it enough space.

Like what I posted in The other thread
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21274
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:08 pm

SNM wrote:Ummm....something needs to be done regarding the size of the left column with usernames and such in it and the length of allowed "location" text. idchafee's (first one I noticed) posts are all now fairly gigantic to give it enough space.

I think his posts in particular are going to be relatively "tall" due to the sig graphic...but even then, a post of more than 2 or 3 lines looks pretty normal to me.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:09 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:I think his posts in particular are going to be relatively "tall" due to the sig graphic...but even then, a post of more than 2 or 3 lines looks pretty normal to me.

From where I'm sitting he's got a gigantic blank space four times as long as his sig pic is in his recent Bargain Basement posts. :wink:
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:11 pm

Image

I think this screenshot explains it. On the left is IE7. On the right is Firefox 2.0.0.6

The spacing is different, borderline broken in Firefox (or broken in IE and changed for compatibility's sake in Firefox)

Also explains why the lines that read:

Forum rules Home FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups
Profile You have no new messages Log out [ derFunkenstein ]

Are spaced so closely together in IE...
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:22 pm

And it's actually much worse than that on my 1024*768 FF2.0.0.6.
idchafee's location wrote:Location:
In the
bushes
outside
your
window -
hand me
those
infrared
goggles,
will ya??
Core i7 920, 3x2GB Corsair DDR3 1600, 80GB X25-M, 1TB WD Caviar Black, MSI X58 Pro-E, Radeon 4890, Cooler Master iGreen 600, Antec P183, opticals
SNM
Emperor Gerbilius I
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:37 am

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:24 pm

It also depends on the thread, not just on the browser.

In any case, wider forums are coming. In fact, a wider site is coming. Check out the front page article Damage put up. Here's the money quote:

Damage wrote:We intend to add a wider version of our CSS templates, complete with a button like the blue switch, fairly soon.


Also, I should add that we will be moving to phpBB3 fairly soon. So this limits the amount of work that we want to do on old phpBB2 forum themes. Hopefully we can address major concerns with subSky and subSilver (the other theme is not supported).
Being right doesn't matter if no one listens.
Kevin
Administrator
 
Posts: 6592
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:26 pm

Sorry about that. I'll remove it.

edit: done
Last edited by idchafee on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
YOU CAN RUPTURE SOMEONE'S SPLEEN WITH A WATER BALLOON!!!!
idchafee
His Holy Gerbilness
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 13855
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 8:39 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:26 pm

For those using the fubar'ed subSky theme with the invisible hyper-links, Kevin posted this in his message:
http://techreport.com/discussions.x/13087
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:26 pm

Well, my screenshots are from the exact same thread, so I tried to eliminate other factors. The fixed-width forums were a big help in that case.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:28 pm

That's the link that Kevin put in his message. Because hyper-links are now invisible in subSky, you have to wave your mouse pointer around to find the hidden links.

For phpBB 3.0, I've been satisfied with the AquaGlass theme that we're using at http://www.trgw.com , except that the quote line is a low-contrast dark font on dark background that makes it hard to read who's being quoted.
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:29 pm

yeah, i re-read what you wrote, that's why i deleted the post...sorry
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21244
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:33 pm

Thanks for finding these issues. They'll be addressed and hopefully fixed very soon... just not tonight.

The team is still watching everything carefully and fixing several small problems. Continue to post anything else you notice that isn't working.
Nations, cultures, arts, civilisations-these are mortal, and their life is to ours as the life of a gnat. But it is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub and exploit - immortal horrors or everlasting splendours. -C.S. Lewis
Inkling
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:01 pm
Location: Gladstone.MO.USA

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:48 pm

Last edited by gratuitous on Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
gratuitous
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:05 pm

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 9:51 pm

gratuitous wrote:And I asked, correct me if I'm mistaken, but the front page font has gotten smaller, too. My old tired eyes are having a hell of a time reading it. Don't suppose this can be re-sized?
Yes, the site is using smaller fonts. This is probably related to the attempt to cram three columns of text into a fixed width less than 1000 pixels wide. You can compensate for the problem in FireFox by holding down the ctrl key and rolling your center mouse wheel. In Internet Explorer, font size is a menu option.

At least you can still re-size fonts on TR. When ESPN went to their skinny fixed width format several years ago, they also set the font sizes so that they could not be increased by your browser. I quit visiting that site because of it.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15304
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:06 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:It looks like the crappy fixed width is about 960 pixels.

Here is a greasemonkey script I hacked up to "fix" the forum layout back to the width I like...

Code: Select all
// ==UserScript==
// @name            TRThemeModify
// @namespace       http://www.techreport.com/forums/greasy
// @description     Messes with the TR theme
// @include         http://www.techreport.com/forums/*
// @include         http://techreport.com/forums/*
// ==/UserScript==

(function() {
   function pageRestructure()
   {
          var head, next;
          head = document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0];
          if (!head) { return; }
          var last = head.lastChild;
          for (;; last = next) {
            next = last.previousSibling;
            if(last.type == "text/css" && last.href.match("style.css")) {
              head.removeChild(last);
            }
          }
        };

   var restructure = new pageRestructure();
})();
// END FILE

A more precise one would replace the child with another copy of style.css that has the fixed width removed. :)

Edit: fixed include header
Last edited by bitvector on Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bitvector
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3234
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:39 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:09 pm

bitvector wrote:Here is a greasemonkey script I hacked up to "fix" the forum layout back to the width I like...

And pray, how can one make use of such a script?

<-- -never messed with such stuff in Firefox.
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9929
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Postposted on Sun Aug 26, 2007 10:11 pm

morphine wrote:And pray, how can one make use of such a script?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/748
It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them. Ralph Waldo Emerson.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20069
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Next

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests