SMP client issues

Come join the... uh... er... fold.

Moderators: just brew it!, farmpuma

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:51 pm

I have ubuntu working in VMPlayer now, but I am not sure how to edit that .vmx file so that it has 2 vcpus. Do I used notepad, or some kind of code editor? I don't write code so not sure what to do here.
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:39 pm

Edit: Nevermind, looks like you have it running. :P
Last edited by flybywire on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:40 pm

david00214 wrote:I have ubuntu working in VMPlayer now, but I am not sure how to edit that .vmx file so that it has 2 vcpus. Do I used notepad, or some kind of code editor? I don't write code so not sure what to do here.


You can use Wordpad to edit the file.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:43 pm

This is where I am right now. I have VMPlayer running ubuntu

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-16


I am not sure how to edit the.vmx file Flying Fox wanted me to edit so it would use 2 vcpus...
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:46 pm

Right click on the file, select 'Open with' and then select Wordpad application.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:58 pm

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-16

In the directory I edited the files vmware and vmware-0... When I restarted vmware-1 and vmware-2 were created for some reason. From the picture it looks like it's still only using one cpu? Did I edit the right file?
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:00 pm

Thanks for your help flybywire. :D I'm heading off to sleep. I will work on this some more in the morning before I go to work.
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:05 pm

Okie doke, world domination can wait until tomorrow. :P
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:33 pm

Couldn't sleep... Now I'm trying to figure out how to get to the command line so I can do this:

9. Install the SMP folding client by typing the following:
mkdir -p ~/folding/FAH
cd ~/folding/FAH
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... -Linux.tgz
tar xzvf FAH6.00beta2-Linux.tgz

10. Configure it. Note that this client works fairly similar to the console client.
cd ~/folding/FAH
./fah6 -configonly
This is similar to the standard console configuration (the team is 2630)
http://www.techreport.com/etc/folding/. However answer big for "Acceptable size of work units". I don't suggest to accept advanced work units unless monitoring it carefully. And if run into timing problems with an AMD CPU, can set ignore deadline information.

11. Run it by typing
cd ~/folding/FAH
./fah6 -forceasm -smp -verbosity 9 (and any other parameters desired)
It should download the SMP Gromacs core and then a work unit (WU).
Note to stop it, just hit Ctrl-C. It will take up to a minute before all 4 threads are shut down, so don't restart the client before then!
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:34 pm

I have a feeling I'm going to have to pat myself on the back if I ever get this figured out, in the meantime, I'm having fun :D
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:41 pm

Click on 'Applications' then 'Terminal' and that should bring up the console. To save you time, right click on 'Terminal' and select 'Add this launcher to panel' and that should create a shortcut to the top panel.

Were you able to edit the .vmx file correctly?
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:44 pm

flybywire wrote:Click on 'Applications' then 'Terminal' and that should bring up the console. To save you time, right click on 'Terminal' and select 'Add this launcher to panel' and that should create a shortcut to the top panel.



Cool I am at the terminal screen now and will begin the steps 9 and on
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:54 pm

The commands didn't seem to work so I DL'd the linux files. Here is what I have now...

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-16

When I click it it doesn't run, I wonder if its because I only have one cpu?
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:03 pm

What kind error are you getting?
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:09 pm

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-16

Here's the latest. I'm really just shooting blind here Iknow... If you could point me in a good direction that'd be great. For now I am going to sleep and will do whatever you recommend in the morning. Thanks a lot for your help
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:14 pm

Don't type the < and >. It should be just:
sudo mkdir folding
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37950
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:36 am

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-17

I tried typing in the commands, and the system seems to accept them, but nothing really happens.

For example, I type in "wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... -Linux.tgz" and it just returns another command line.

The files you see on the desktop got there by download through firefox, but they won't run. :(
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:43 am

This is what I get if I double click the FAH6 file:

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-17
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:24 am

Learn to use the Terminal more, why are you double-clicking like Windows? The steps did not say double click. ;)
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24517
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:42 am

Flying Fox wrote:Learn to use the Terminal more, why are you double-clicking like Windows? The steps did not say double click. ;)


Double clicking wasn't the only thing I tried. I entered the commands below, they just didn't seem to do anything.

9. Install the SMP folding client by typing the following:
mkdir -p ~/folding/FAH
cd ~/folding/FAH
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... -Linux.tgz
tar xzvf FAH6.00beta2-Linux.tgz

Eh, hopefully will have some more time to fiddle with this in the evening.
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:09 am

david00214 wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:Learn to use the Terminal more, why are you double-clicking like Windows? The steps did not say double click. ;)


Double clicking wasn't the only thing I tried. I entered the commands below, they just didn't seem to do anything.

9. Install the SMP folding client by typing the following:
mkdir -p ~/folding/FAH
cd ~/folding/FAH
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... -Linux.tgz
tar xzvf FAH6.00beta2-Linux.tgz

Eh, hopefully will have some more time to fiddle with this in the evening.

When you say "they didn't seem to do anything", did you get any output at all? Or at least an error message? You're not giving us much to go on here.

If it listed some files after you issued the "tar" command, then it worked.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37950
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:18 pm

Here is the latest. I could not get the "Wget" command to work, however I used Firefox to download the SMP client and then placed it in folder ubuntu/folding/fah. I then used the "tar" command and it didn't work. Here is where I am now.

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-17
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:21 pm

I just tried an Ubuntu install on a VM with 2 CPUs, but I see 4 instances of Core_A1.exe. Is that normal? I would expect to see 2.

@david: Typical Linux newbie mistake. File names are case sensitive. I would type F and then hit tab to let tab completion get you the right file name. And yes, your screen showed only 1 CPU. Shutdown the VM, go back out to Windows. Use notepad to edit the .vmx file and insert that line I quoted a while back. Restart the VM, see if Linux picks up the 2 CPUs. If not, well, I guess it's just a reinstall. :P
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24517
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:23 pm

Flying Fox wrote:I just tried an Ubuntu install on a VM with 2 CPUs, but I see 4 instances of Core_A1.exe. Is that normal? I would expect to see 2.


FF, 4 instances is correct.
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:29 pm

flybywire wrote:
Flying Fox wrote:I just tried an Ubuntu install on a VM with 2 CPUs, but I see 4 instances of Core_A1.exe. Is that normal? I would expect to see 2.


FF, 4 instances is correct.

But there are only 2 cores? :o Can someone make some sense for me please?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24517
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:49 pm

I believe the SMP client's intended hardware environment is in a quad-core setup, but Stanford can't stop people from running the client on dual-core setups. Here's a note from the SMP FAQ:

We strongly suggest people run this client on 4-core boxes. While it will run on 2-core boxes, we have noticed some potential problems (we are looking into these issues now).

http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegrou ... Q-SMP.html

We're just a bunch of mavericks. 8)
Fold! And I don't mean your clothes!

Do you have a favorite gerbil recipe? Please share with the TR community!
flybywire
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Springfield, VA - USA

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:28 pm

Flying Fox wrote:
flybywire wrote:FF, 4 instances is correct.

But there are only 2 cores? :o Can someone make some sense for me please?

The SMP client is designed to run on quad-core systems, but will work on dual-core as well. It is normal to see 4 instances of the core running. All of my SMP systems (none of which are actually quad core) show 4 running instances of the folding core.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37950
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:05 pm

Stupid question time. Which one of these is the vmx file?

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-17
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:37 pm

david00214 wrote:Stupid question time. Which one of these is the vmx file?

Image
By david00214 at 2008-03-17

VMware Configuration File with the nice icon. Turn off "hide extensions" man, it's for noobs. ;)

If the numvcpus line is not there, add it. If it is there, it should be "1" so change it to "2".
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24517
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: SMP client issues

Postposted on Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:04 pm

Noob settings adjusted as suggested. I now show 2 CPUs. Thanks!

I think I just about have this figured out :wink:
Image
If you're not folding with your idle computer time you're not part of the solution.
Gerbil Jedidiah
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: The Smoky Back Room

PreviousNext

Return to TR Distributed Computing Effort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests