HELP! EMM386 message during boot

Monopoly money comes in many flavors: 7, Vista, XP, 2K, ME, 98, etc.

Moderators: Flying Fox, Ryu Connor

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 5:53 am

I Need Help.

Today I put another 256 MB of RAM in my PC making it up to 512MB
I also installed a new AGP card (nVIDIA Gforce 400MX 64MB), replacing the old 400MX 32MB AGP card.
These two are now in my sig.

I did everything by the book and it all went smoothly but there is a message during boot that I cannot get rid of or correct, please can you help?
When it gets to Starting Windows 98 it then says:

EMM386 not installed - unable to set page frame base address.
Press any key to continue.

If I press a key, or if I leave it, it will then continue with some writing including the lines

Largest upper memory block address 42KB
Upper memory starting address D400 H
EMM386 ACTIVE

and then the PC boots normally.

Everything is fine otherwise, graphics, memory, all visible and working. I have tried reinstalling an image made with Drive Image but it does exactly the same.
Please con someone tell me what this is? How it got there? What I can do to correct it? I really need your help on this one as I can find none in my books or manuals.

I have got rid of the message by entering the Config Utility, in System.ini I unchecked the box that loads C:WindowsEMM386.exe, it is now remmed out in the cofig.sys file but the PC is booting in Tshoot mode.
SiSoft Sandra told me that I did not need this on my PC - is this true? If so would there be a problem with deleting this line from my config.sys in order that I can boot in NORMAL mode?

Do I need this EMM386 running anyway, or can I stop it as SiSoft Sandra 2001 suggested?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.


_________________
Athlon 1700XP on ABIT KR7A-RAID Mainboard
512MB PC1200 DDR RAM
GeForce MX400 64MB RAM
2 Maxtor D740X 20GB ATA133 HDD's
Loads of fans
Win 98

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Fejinwales on 2002-03-30 04:54 ]</font>

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Fejinwales on 2002-03-30 05:04 ]</font>

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Fejinwales on 2002-03-30 06:34 ]</font>
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 8:32 am

No, you don't need EMM386 running for Win98 to work. In fact, it shouldn't be loading any memory managers at all. Ideally the CONFIG.SYS should be empty and the AUTOEXEC.BAT should only be setting environment variables (like PATH). If you have device drivers trying to load in the CONFIG.SYS try REMing them out and see what that does.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 8:35 am

If it turns out that for some reason EMM386 needs to run you can add "NOEMS" on the line that loads it:
Code: Select all
DEVICE=C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE NOEMS

That should get rid of your error.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 8:44 am

Thank you very much, I did what you said and it all works fine now, I was worried there for a bit.

Thanks again
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 8:52 am

No problem.
Steel
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2327
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests