HTPC, HDMI and Win7

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Wed May 06, 2009 10:19 pm

I decided that this was the only PC I was willing to mess up and not lose anything important. . . . . so I did it.

This is the only problem I have com across so far . . . I CAN'T GET VIDEO OR SOUND OVER HDMI!!! As a matter of fact, I can't get into the log-in screen. All displays up until this point has never given me trouble.

Is anyone else having HDMI display troubles with Win7?

The Aetheros network adaptor option still works great for an older network adaptor.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Wed May 06, 2009 10:34 pm

I'm running my video out (ATI HD 4650) through HDMI since I installed, so no problems there. Also, I run my sound through optical, but the HDMI sound was setup by default, so at least the drivers were setup. Not sure what problem you are having.
gophers13
Gerbil
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 1:53 pm
Location: Chanhassen, MN

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Thu May 07, 2009 7:47 am

I'm not sure either. I have it connected by VGA right now and that's working fine. I need to find a way to get my HDMI video working properly. I am wondering if its the current resolution the system is at . . .I think its 1368 * 760 - I THINK. Maybe I should drop the resolution to 1280 * 1024 and see what happens.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Thu May 07, 2009 7:54 am

I have heard that for HDMI you need those "standard"-ish resolutions like 1280x720, 1920x1080, etc?
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24440
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Thu May 07, 2009 10:57 am

Well I'll try the standard-ish resolutions when I get home and report back - cause that just got under my skin last night. XP, Vista, and Linux adjusts the resolutions automatically . . . .why not 7?
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Thu May 07, 2009 5:32 pm

Weird . . . . . . . VGA can't display certain resolutions and HDMI refuses to display the login screen at 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x960 and 1360x768. VGA isn't working with 1280x1024 . . . .which I wouldn't be surprised if HDMI decides to show that one - and this is after I installed the WHQL catalyst drivers for 7.

One good thing is that my TV tuner is now automatically recognized and WMC shows me TV with no problems. Vista wouldn't do it. I have a Hauppauge 1250.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Fri May 08, 2009 6:29 pm

The setup that I use is funny. I have a projector and I used to connect to it via a VGA cable. The correct resolution was something like 1280x800 instead of a straight 1280x720, although it would take 720p with some cutoff on the bottom/top. I redid the setup and got a DVI->HDMI adapter to connect to a HDMI Hub which then connects to the projector. Now the only resolution it accepts is 1280x720.
Image
Nitrodist
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3280
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Fri May 08, 2009 8:07 pm

I had something similar to that happen to me on my cheaper LCD television.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Sat May 09, 2009 9:28 pm

Nitrodist wrote:The setup that I use is funny. I have a projector and I used to connect to it via a VGA cable. The correct resolution was something like 1280x800 instead of a straight 1280x720, although it would take 720p with some cutoff on the bottom/top. I redid the setup and got a DVI->HDMI adapter to connect to a HDMI Hub which then connects to the projector. Now the only resolution it accepts is 1280x720.


From what I've seen that seems to be a driver bug both ATI and Nvidia have. If you use an HDMI connection, it just assumes you're using a television and won't allow resolutions outside those used by HDTVs. 1080p, 720p, etc.
FuturePastNow
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:28 am

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Fri May 29, 2009 7:15 pm

If not mistaken , please try to download your ATI driver from ATI side and also sound drive from your sound manufacture... it seen to work for other :D
mghong
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 9:50 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:21 am

Well . . . I got this thing working about a month ago. It turns out that I have to have the VGA AND HDMI cables connected at the same time. I can't understand the reasonig for this since Windows is picking a weird resolution anyways . . . . . . The "recommended" setting is 1368x720 - which is what my TV is - but windows insists on 1700x1000 and won't display a picture at any other resolution. No matter what version of Catalyst I put on there, its the same lame story. I really hope this is not an issue when the final product is released.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:01 pm

I don't know when they did it, but MS fixed the double connection problem . . .what a glorious surprise that was. AC3 along with PowerDVD9 fixed all of the sound and playback issues as well.

Does anyone know how to get WMP and WMC to play .avi files? Someone told me that ffdshow would fix that, but it didn't.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: HTPC, HDMI and Win7

Postposted on Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:05 am

lex-ington wrote:Does anyone know how to get WMP and WMC to play .avi files? Someone told me that ffdshow would fix that, but it didn't.

By default WMP and WMP recognize AVI files. However, AVI files are actually containers where the audio and video streams can be encoded+compressed with different codecs. Your problem seems to be missing codecs. If you download ffdshow you may not have some of the more exotic codecs. Some people like to use a codec pack such ask K-Lite or CCCP, and some prefer to install their own codecs for individual formats.

Download GSpot or MediaInfo to find out what codecs are used in those problematic AVI files, and then we can talk. ;)
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24440
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests