I broke GNOME, I think...

Where Penguins and Daemons chill together in the warmth of the Sun.

Moderators: SecretSquirrel, notfred

I broke GNOME, I think...

Postposted on Sat May 09, 2009 6:24 pm

At school this morning, I killed the top bar of every program (the title, minimize, maximize, and exit bar). Everything else is completely fine. I was messing around in CompizConfig Settings Manager, but I don't think I did anything that could have done that. What do I need to do to fix it, or where should I start looking?
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: I broke GNOME, I think...

Postposted on Sat May 09, 2009 7:03 pm

Install Windows.

;)
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9993
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: I broke GNOME, I think...

Postposted on Mon May 11, 2009 9:03 pm

Lol! Don't worry, that's just a personal setting. All you have to do is remove your Gnome directory within your home directory. It will be generated on it's own again, and everything will be restored to its default settings.
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Re: I broke GNOME, I think...

Postposted on Mon May 11, 2009 9:17 pm

If he's messing around in Compiz, it's also possible that he's stumbled on some combination of visual effects which broke the compositing window manager. Try going into System -> Preferences -> Appearance -> Visual Effects, and select None. If you get your title bars back, then try turning visual effects back on and see if it resets things to a sane state.

Compiz still has some rough edges. I generally leave the visual effects disabled on machines I use for real work, since it tends to break the VNC client (among other annoyances).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37843
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: I broke GNOME, I think...

Postposted on Tue May 12, 2009 11:44 am

It works now, thanks JBI!!
Krogoth wrote:Care to enlightenment me?
grantmeaname
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: Columbus, OH


Return to Linux, Unix, and Assorted Madness

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests