Post your Highest OC'

Speed addicts anonymous.

Moderator: Starfalcon

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:31 pm

Then: Pentium 4 631 3.0@4.5!! (15x300) on an asrock 775i65g
Perfectly stabe @ 4.4 so never really bothered to test for stability.

Now: Intel E4500 2.2@3.3 (11X300) on an asrock 775i65g with 1.4v Pin Mod
only stable with one stick of ram...Need more voltage to Northbridge and also might Up the Vmem
a bit. Unfortunately these options are not in the bios so more mods on the way 8)
home_slice
Gerbil
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:10 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:06 pm

Posts have been split off to this thread in the R&P forum. It's become a morality debate that's lost all relation to the rest of the thread. Please continue to use this thread to discuss your highest overclocks. To continue to debate clone's issue, use the thread in R&P. If you aren't in the R&P Usergroup, please read this post.

Kevin
Kevin
Administrator
 
Posts: 6592
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:03 pm

.
Last edited by clone on Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
neg
clone
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:40 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:02 pm

My highest OC is my Xeon 3110 3Ghz running now at 4.2Ghz on water.
NoOther
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 10:04 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:42 am

.
Last edited by clone on Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
neg
clone
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:40 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:41 pm

clone wrote:did you have to up the voltage to hit 4.2 and if yes how high did you get it before you needed to add voltage?

before I needed to up my voltage I got the CPU to 3.6Ghz. It was running 3.85Ghz at that voltage but I got occasional crashes so it wasn't stable. I then upped the voltage. After that, each significant FSB increase caused me to have to increase the voltage. In this case significant being 50 since I was adjusting from 1800 to 1850 to 1900 etc. The inbetween settings (1875, 1925) seemed to bother my memory for some reason.
NoOther
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 10:04 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:09 pm

.
Last edited by clone on Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
neg
clone
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:40 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:59 pm

Well my highest OC is also my first... AM2 4200+ from 2.2GHz to 2.8Ghz with 255MHz FSB (yeah, I know FSB is an Intel thing but the name for the AMD version has slipped my mind) with 1.325 volts on the Vcore with a Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer 4 HS on a 750a SLI mobo. Temps never go beyond 43C. I still think I can go farther with a bit more voltage :wink:

Man this OCing thing is addicting!
If common sense is so common, why don't more people have it?
henfactor
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:14 am
Location: The Great White North

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:09 pm

My highest OC was probably on my radeon 9800. I took it from stock which scowering the web appears to be around 325/310 (gpu/mem) and messed with it. I flashed the bios so it became a 9800 xt (which had some minor speed improvements beyond just a higher clock). I then took it to around 450/420 I believe was as high as it would really go for any length of time. I was pretty happy with that. That card made oblivion playable in most cases on high at 1024x768 (I'm using my loose definition of playable).
ApockofFork
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:34 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:39 am

Image
karz
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Above the Equator

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:42 am

Jigar2speed5095 wrote:1) 3200+ Athlon 64 @ 3.0 GHZ (Max went till 3.2GHZ stable, was a bit unstable @ 3.3GHZ) with Water cooling and AC cooling.

2) 4400+ X2 Atlon 64 @ 3.4 GHZ (Max went till 3.8 GHZ but unstable above 3.4GHZ) with LN2. (Home made)

3) Q6600 @ 3.2 GHZ (Max went till 3.9 GHZ unstable, stable till 3.65 GHZ but temperature goes very high without extra cooling and now i don't have LN2 any more :cry: )

4) XDA O2 Atom @ 624MHZ (actual speed 416MHZ) this PDA is rock solid for daily task and phoning but becomes a power hog, once overclocked.


Q6600 B3 stepping (hot version) now stable at 3.8 GHZ and keeps under 55 C (cooled using Thermalright 120 Ultra) :wink:
Intel i5 4670K @ 4.8GHZ|ATI Radeon HD 7970 (Stock)| 12 GB RAM (Stock)| Xtreme Music with G500 5.1 | Panasonic "TH-L42E60" @ 120 HZ.
Jigar
Maximum Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:00 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:11 am

I just got the ol' Q9300 to 3.23GHz.

Got a Q6600 (G0) at 3.0...which is nothing big...but it's not really doing anything big.
MaxTheLimit
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1809
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:09 pm

Recent overlocks:
1. Athlon X2 4400+ 2.2Ghz @ 2.8Ghz (only could do 2.6Ghz for 24/7 use, 2.8 ran very high temps)

2. Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.6Ghz (400x9)

3. Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.8Ghz (3.6Ghz is the 24/7 speed, but 3.8Ghz is totally stable with high temps)

4. Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5Ghz @ 3.2Ghz (totally disappointed in this one)

5. Core i7 920 2.66Ghz @ 3.8Ghz (once again, like the Q6600, it runs 3.6Ghz 24/7, but can run 3.8 totally stable but high temps)

Older overclocks:
K6-2 300mhz @ 400mhz
K6-2 400mhz @ 500mhz
K6-3 450mhz @ 500mhz (this one didn't like to OC much)
Athlon K7 500mhz @ 700mhz (Gold Finger Device used, Outsideloop Afterburner)
Athlon K7 700mhz @ 900mhz (same GFD as above)
Athlon 900mhz @ 1.2Ghz (pencil trick)
Athlon XP 1800+ 1.53Ghz @ 1.8Ghz
Athlon XP 2400+ 2.0Ghz @ 2.33Ghz
Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0Ghz @ 2.4Ghz
Athlon 64 3400+ 2.2Ghz @ 2.6Ghz (most of the time very stable, occasionally would get flaky)

None of the above are spectacular overclocks, but are nice enough considering the extra speed is all free except for the effort to get it there.
Ci7 2600K@5Ghz/8Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/Asus P67 Sabertooth/EVGA GTX680/2x 128Gb Patriot Torqx SSD, 2x 2Tb WD Black
moshpit
Gerbil
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:24 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:23 pm

My highest overclock has been 4.7ghz on my E8400 using a Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme. It was a day to be remembered, by me at least :D

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=449069
jackbrennan
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:54 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:23 pm

mine was on a e4300 pushed it from 1.8 to 3.2ghz still had it running cool at 32c with a cheap ocz vanquisher heats sink i picked up on sell for $15. the e4300 ws an oem i got for $49.
Amd Phenom 2 560(unlocked to 4 cores at 3.8ghz),xfx Radeon 6870 (ty again tr ^^ ),Cooler master haf case, 4gb of drr3 1600 ram, win7 ultimate 64bit
MrBojangles
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 5:04 pm
Location: columbus ohio

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:41 am

The box I am on now is running a E1200 (1.6 ghz) @ 3104mhz for the life of me I can not get another single mhz stable so so so close to the fabled 100%
greeny
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:51 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon May 04, 2009 12:04 pm

New to the forums (only site available at work that i don't have to use proxy to get around) have not been on the OC scene in a few years but old achievements
1.1 celeron at 1.78 still running now my grandparents pc
2.4c P4 with ic7g Mb and geil golden dragon ram was stable at 3.6 on air prime95 and 3d mark tested :)
jiuhb xp1700+ cant remember the mb i used but same geil golden dragon went from 1.4 to 2.65 on air prime and 3d mark tested

currently im running a gateway fx lappy with a 9800gts mobile the vid card is oced from 600/700/1500 (if i remember) to 800/850/1750 all stock cooling just sitting on a colling stand and never gets about 62*c

other notable OCs

via jumpers 33 mhz OC on a p1 166
xp2200+ (1.7 i think been a LONG time) to 2.2
barton core mobile xp2500+ from 2 to 2.7
p4 3.2c to 3.6
planning on building a new OC rig SOON gonna try one of the phenom II black edition 955's with the gigabit board and some corsiar xms but only time will tell the lappy is still doing me good and runs everything out fine
mestra
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 11:55 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed May 13, 2009 8:48 pm

celeron 420 from 1.6 to 3.2 ghz. couldnt get past this coz of the architectural limitation.
cybot_x1024
Gerbil
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 7:52 am

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Fri May 15, 2009 11:52 am

Q9450 2.66 to 3.2(max) with a poor P5KPl-AM without pump up any Vcore...(because there is no that option in this MB :o ), by the way it's rock and run stably 24/7!!
just worry about its temperature while heavy 3d-rendering around 68C - 72C :oops: max! also planning to replace with TT IFX-14, any idea with this coooler?
Image
CM real power Pro 550w, ATI 4870 512MB,Dell SE1978WFP
honoradept
Gerbil
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:37 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:38 pm

Whats the highest anyone has gotten their 950? Someone in the newegg reviews said 4.1 GHz fairly easily and 5.0 on a LH cooled system.
FF on DDR3 with a Q9550
Flying Fox wrote:Can we have some of what he was smoking? X48? 2x16 SLI? Want some more e-penis with that? How about just get the Nvidia triple SLI board with a water block on the 3xGPUs+chipset+CPU?
swiecki
Gerbil
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:15 pm
Location: Dining in the Reagan room at the restaurant at the end of the universe.

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:11 pm

I finally decided to overclock my Q9300 today. I picked up a Xigmatek HDT-1283 and overclocked it to 3.3GHz. Load temps only went up from 60 to 63 degrees at load from 2.5GHz to 3.3GHz and even at 100% the fan is still quieter than my Antec Nine Hundred fans at medium.
Intel Q9300@3.3Ghz w/ Xigmatek HDT-S1283|Sapphire HD 4850 512MB|G.Skill Pi Black 4GB DDR2 800|Gigabyte EP45-DS3L|WD SE16 640GB|Antec Neo Power 500|Antec Nine Hundred|Dell S2209W|Logitech G9|Sidewinder X6|Razer Exactmat|Klipsch ProMedia 2.1|Windows 7 64
Obsidian
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 835
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:37 am
Location: Michigan

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:28 am

I have my Q9450 at 3.52 GHz. I know that it can do more, but I'm using the stock HSF and running into heat troubles.
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:10 am

I'll try and get up a screenshot of CPU-Z tonight, but I have a 133% overclock of my Phenom II X2 550 going on right now. Instead of 2x3.1GHz, it's 4x3.6. :p

It was pretty easy on the motherboard in the sig. Just hit Ctrl+F1 to get your ACC options, and set it to "hybrid" mode with everything else to Auto. I had to bump my voltage up to 1.45 to get it stable, but temps stay around 54-55C under load. The weird thing is now Win7 and my BIOS both think it's a "Phenom II X4 X50" whatever that is, and I have to rely on the motherboard temps as the cores all show 0*C in Hardware Monitor.. :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21562
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:15 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:I'll try and get up a screenshot of CPU-Z tonight, but I have a 133% overclock of my Phenom II X2 550 going on right now. Instead of 2x3.1GHz, it's 4x3.6. :p

It was pretty easy on the motherboard in the sig. Just hit Ctrl+F1 to get your ACC options, and set it to "hybrid" mode with everything else to Auto. I had to bump my voltage up to 1.45 to get it stable, but temps stay around 54-55C under load. The weird thing is now Win7 and my BIOS both think it's a "Phenom II X4 X50" whatever that is, and I have to rely on the motherboard temps as the cores all show 0*C in Hardware Monitor.. :lol:


i have the same motherboard and cpu...what bios version are you using?
declan
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:19 am

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21562
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:04 pm

i guess im one of the unlucky ones...my cpu will not run with 4 cores unlocked. :(

keep getting EES error or it shuts off. :-?
Last edited by declan on Wed Aug 05, 2009 6:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
declan
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:25 pm

Sorry to hear it declan. :(

Here's mine. The mobo detects it as an "X4 B50" and CPU-z is totaly confused - Phenom II X4 generic.

Image
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21562
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:46 am

i am such a moron...forgot to reset CMOS before unlocking the 2 cores. :-?

reset then BAMB!! X4 baby!! :D
declan
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:25 am

congrats man, that's awesome. :D
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21562
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Post your Highest OC'

Postposted on Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:49 pm

I've been playing it safe with my OCs, I typically don't go anything above anything that require voltage tweaks on stuff I can't afford to lose (atm my current rig as I sold my old rig) and I haven't messed with Watercooling, so all my OCs are on air with custom Coolers (I typically like stuff from Cooler Master, although I've been known to change things based on rave reviews I've read in shortbreads).

Currently have my OC on my i7 920 at 3.36 GHz, it runs stable at around 41C idle 55C load. After I do some airflow changes I'll be taking it up a few notches.

My old E2180 ran at 3.4 GHz, with idles at 32C and load temps at 50C. I could of pushed it more but I was selling it so I didn't wanna risk it. I did take it up to 3.8 GHz and it ran stable for a while, didn't run it 24/7 though. Not bad for a chip made to run at 2.0 GHz.

I don't have any links to my old E2180 left on this rig, although I might be able to get it next time I'm over at the friend whom I sold it to's house. I'll edit this post if that happens in the near future.

Here's a link to my current OC on the i7 920 via CPUZ:

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/T9 ... directlink
Hyperneko
Gerbil
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona

PreviousNext

Return to Overclocking, Tweaking, & Cooling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests