Users complain of data-wiping bug in OS X Snow Leopard

— 10:42 AM on October 12, 2009

Apple's new Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard operating system adds a nice layer of polish over the previous release. However, it may also introduce a new, potentially catastrophic bug. As iTWire reports, logging into the "Guest" account then back into a regular user account can wipe one's profile and the data it contains.

The site points to two threads on the Apple forums where different users complain of the problem: one thread dated September 3 and another from September 12. The users claim the Snow Leopard bug doesn't just reset their preferences, it also wipes data stored in their user profiles, including documents and music.

iTWire says the issue may only crop up when someone upgrades from an OS X 10.5 Leopard installation where the "Guest" account was already enabled. One way to prevent the problem might be to disable the account then re-enable it "so that it's a native Snow Leopard account." Or, you know, just disable the Guest account and stay well away for now.

If you haven't already, setting up and using Apple's Time Machine automated backup utility could be a good idea. (Thanks to Neowin for the link.)

Like what we're doing? Pay what you want to support TR and get nifty extra features.
Top contributors
1. BIF - $340 2. Ryu Connor - $250 3. mbutrovich - $250
4. YetAnotherGeek2 - $200 5. End User - $150 6. Captain Ned - $100
7. Anonymous Gerbil - $100 8. Bill Door - $100 9. ericfulmer - $100
10. dkanter - $100
Tip: You can use the A/Z keys to walk threads.
View options

This discussion is now closed.