Diablo III beta opens to the public today


— 9:39 AM on April 20, 2012

If you weren't planning to start your weekend early, well, now you might be. Blizzard Entertainment says that, in order to help "stress test" its servers ahead of Diablo III's May 15 launch, the game's beta will be open to the public from 12:01 PM PDT (3:01 PM EDT) today until 10 AM PDT (1 PM EDT) Monday.

In other words, just about anyone with a Battle.net account should be able to spend all weekend playing Diablo III. The only exception Blizzard mentions is players located in Korea; they won't be able to participate in this stress test, but they'll be eligible for an invite-only beta test next week along with players from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau.

Anyway, all you have to do is head to this page here and grab the 44MB beta client. Folks without a Battle.net account can create one here. Blizzard says the open beta will let you "log in, team up with friends, and play each of the five heroic classes to level 13 as you fight to save the world from the impending demonic invasion."

Only a little over four hours to go! You can pass the time by obsessively watching the latest Diablo III trailer above.

Like what we're doing? Pay what you want to support TR and get nifty extra features.
Top contributors
1. GKey13 - $650 2. JohnC - $600 3. davidbowser - $501
4. cmpxchg - $500 5. DeadOfKnight - $400 6. danny e. - $375
7. the - $360 8. Ryszard - $351 9. rbattle - $350
10. Ryu Connor - $350
   
Register
Tip: You can use the A/Z keys to walk threads.
View options

This discussion is now closed.