Personal computing discussed

Moderators: askfranklin, renee, emkubed, Captain Ned

whm1974
Emperor Gerbilius I
Topic Author

Roasted peanut oil. Anyone cook with/or use it?

Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:18 pm

I was thinking of buying some unrefined peanut oil for frying earlier today around noon or so, but soon learned that the stuff with the most flavor is Roasted. Which I use it to make my own Salad Dressing or just straight up put it on the Salad.

I have zero experience with any kind of peanut oil. But I'm wondering if the Roasted kind the flavor will be overwhelming if I fry something in it?

just brew it!
Administrator

Re: Roasted peanut oil. Anyone cook with/or use it?

Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:23 pm

I'm not familiar with roasted peanut oil, but if it is anything like roasted sesame oil you don't want to fry with it. Roasted sesame oil is used more like a condiment, in small amounts. It would be overpowering (not to mention expensive) if used for frying.

Regular (not roasted) peanut oil is excellent for cooking. I probably use it as much as I use olive oil. (My rule of thumb is peanut oil for cooking Asian dishes, olive oil for European.)
Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

whm1974
Emperor Gerbilius I
Topic Author

Sat Sep 12, 2020 6:42 pm

just brew it! wrote:
I'm not familiar with roasted peanut oil, but if it is anything like roasted sesame oil you don't want to fry with it. Roasted sesame oil is used more like a condiment, in small amounts. It would be overpowering (not to mention expensive) if used for frying.

Regular (not roasted) peanut oil is excellent for cooking. I probably use it as much as I use olive oil. (My rule of thumb is peanut oil for cooking Asian dishes, olive oil for European.)