Personal computing discussed

Moderators: emkubed, Captain Ned

Graphmaster Gerbil
Topic Author
Posts: 1116
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Sat Mar 09, 2002 9:27 pm

I followed a link to this page and its totally maxing out one of my cpus just displaying it. The other cpu just sits there all lonely like.
Does this happen to others? One would think that Microsoft could implement SMP optimizations in IE since its such an "integral" part of windows.
Gerbil XP
Posts: 399
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Middle of nowhere AB Canada

Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:15 pm

It isn't the fastest page I have ever been on, but it doesn't max out my one poor lonely CPU. :grin:
There is no Spune!
Gerbil First Class
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm

Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:24 pm

It doesn't use any CPU time for me. Not on either one of my CPU's.

Of course, I get a page which whines that my browser is incompatible, and I don't get to see the link at all... but that's a minor point, isn't it? ;P
Gerbil Jedi
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:16 am

i got this page to load in 3 seconds, and no cpu useage really.....
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Global Moderator
Posts: 2329
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm

Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:56 am

There does seem to be an excessive amount of Flash on that page. Certain Flash animations can be real CPU hungry.
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Sun Mar 10, 2002 2:34 am

I know, I have a customer that has a Flash-heavy web page, and didn't put in a skip intro button. Bad customer :smile:. I've advised him to change that.
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests