Personal computing discussed

Moderators: askfranklin, renee, emkubed, Captain Ned

computron9000
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Topic Author

fixing outdoor furinture aluminum bent chair leg?

Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:38 am

Ok. I know this is weird. But there is a big pool of smart on TR.

I have an ourdoor chair (part of a set) and one of the legs has bent nearly to breaking point. It is decorative hollow, relatively thin and ductile aluminum cylinder (like super-thin-walled pipe). A 10 year-old could bend the legs using only their arms and a little leverage.

I was thinking there might be something like a 2-part (each part a "half pipe x inches long") that could go around the weakened area and then screwed together.

I have no experience with things like this. Many of the legs have bent slightly, and I've just put a large cardboard packing tube (or irrigation PVC pipe) a few feet long on the leg, and gently (using the lever) bended them back to straight. Instead of being like 15 degrees askew, this one bent like 50 or 60 degrees from vertical.

The set of furniture is matched (about 25 pieces, including tables, chairs, "3-chair couch thingie", etc. etc. and it is not made anymore.

So I can't get a replacement. Assuming I don't want to throw it out, it was somewhat expensive, I won't be bothered if it doesn't look perfect or anything, and I'd like to salvage it, anyone know my options?

I can bend the leg/pipe back into the right shape, but say the leg is 2" in diameter, even if I bend it back to straight, it will have a sharp "dent" (where the bend occured) about 1.5" deep. Meaning it would be severely weakened (like someone that cut a horizontal "V" into a tree, to cut the tree down). For the sake of argument, let's also assume the leg is a consistent diameter from top to bottom, and is cylindrical.

Thoughts?

Heiwashin
Maximum Gerbil

Re: fixing outdoor furinture aluminum bent chair leg?

Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:51 am

A pic or two would be much more enlightening.